We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, Amsterdam 1071 CT, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice hotel with an individual style. Close to the city center. Rooms got a warm atmosphere and the bed is good. Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Stayed for business reasons and got an executive room for 180€ per night. In this category / price class one of the best hotels I know in Europe.

Room Tip: If you like to have a Jacuzzi in your bath, you got to take an executive room. It’s just 20€ more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    93
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
150
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "family room" and the kids were thrilled to have their own bunk beds! Great location, felt safe walking around and easy to get to everything. Lovely outdoor patio. Relaxed with a bottle of wine out there at the end of the day. All of the staff were very helpful and had great recommendations. My parents stayed here as well and realized they had forgotten their train tickets in the hotel room 30 minutes before we were to leave to Paris. The hotel got them their tickets by taxi just in time to board the train! We were so appreciative!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is very well located: even though is right next to the very touristic areas ( close to the main Museums, the Vondelpark, the fashion street, etc), it's super silent during the night. The rooms are not big, but they are very comfortable, the bed is also good. Staff was friendly. They have a very cozy outdoor area with tables and chairs, so you can have your breakfast or read a book there in a sunny day.
But, the negative points were:
1. There weren't any bath towels in my room, so I had to call the reception to get them. They quickly attended me, but in the next day, I didn't have any towels again, only the bath robe.
2. Although there's a good tub/jacuzzi in the bathrooms, it was dusty so I had to clean it up a bit with some water. And then, when I turned the jacuzzi on, more dust/dirt appeared with it. Very disgusting.
3. Breakfast wasn't good enough: the fruits tasted like they were sitting there for ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here on 12th July for 3 days. A big thanks to Maarten, Woutter, Andre and all the lovely staff for looking after us so wonderfully. They were very helpful with places to go, things to see and arranging tickets and giving accurate directions. The hotel is in the best location: designer shops to the back and the Rijksmuseum around the corner. Stayed in Room 304 and its modern, well apportioned and the breakfasts are well worth the cost, especially the crepes! Stay in an Executive Room overlooking the Courtyard and you get a Jacuzzi with a TV in the bathroom. Will definitely return there soon and can't recommend it highly enough:-).

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter near the Courtyard (Room 304)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed ath JL No 76 for 10 nights in late June. It was an excellent choice and we were mostly satisfied with our stay.

Pros:

location, Location, LOCATION: Jan Luijkenstraat is an amazing street. It is tree lined, residential in feel and has little traffic (which is one way). On the other hand, it is one short block from the van Gogh Museum and a tram stop for the #2 and #5 trams which run to downtown Station Centraal in about 15 minutes. It is two blocks from the Rijksmuseum, and three blocks from the boat tours. The Concertgebouw is also about 3 blocks away-all easy and short walks. Consequently, you have a quiet street with a residential feel but are within a very short distance of many major attractions. There is even a grade school across the street. Vondel Park is also about 3 blocks away. Unfortunately, we were unable to make too much use of it because of the weather. If you are into big time shopping (like Michigan Avenue in Chicago), PC Hoopstraat-the major upscale shopping street in Amsterdam-is just around the corner. There are several other hotels within a block of this one. So if you want a little island of tranquility in a city that can be quite hectic, this area is for you.

The hotel itself is quite new, having opened in 2009. It was converted from already existing buildings, but has a very new feel. We stayed in room 200. It was a relatively large (by European standards) corner room. It was in the back and very quiet, though I can't imagine there would be much noise even on the street side. The decor was simple and modern with clean lines. It was very comfortable and immaculately clean. Lighting was very good, and the air conditioning, on the one day we needed it, was excellent. The sink was separated from the tub and sanitary facilities, which was a convenience. The bathroom had a large tub with a Jacuzzi. The room was next to the elevator, but this was a non-issue. I don't recall any noise from either from the elevator or people using it. The lobby is not large and is quite simple. There is an eating area for breakfast, as well as a small outdoor patio, which we could not use, again because of the weather.

The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. With a 10 day first stay in Amsterdam, we had many questions, all of which were handled with helpful information. When we checked in there were some minor problems with the room. These included a rather dark sink area, the high tub which was rather hard for old folks like us to get in and out, and the duvets on the bed. These are very elegant, but were really too warm. These were immediately corrected with a torch lamp for the sink area, a stepstool for the bathroom and duvet covers without the feather comforters which served very well as topsheets.

Some reviews complained about the lack of restaurants in the area. I did not find this to be true. Though restaurants were not as abundant or varied as in the Leidseplane (only 4 blocks away), we found several in the area which were more than acceptable. Several are near the the Concertgebouw. i often felt that I was the only tourist and that most customers were local-a nice touch.

Cons:

It is a bit pricey, but in line with other hotels in the area. Intererstingly, room prices vary depending on the night you are there with weekends, as expected, the most expensive.

The breakfast is also expensive, but again consistent with other hotels in the area. You can probably find cheaper places for breakfast, but we used it on most days for convenience. The selection is varied and large, and they do prepare hot dishes, including excellent omlets. Except for the cooked items, it is self serve. The hotel also serves salads and sandwiches in the evening, though we never tried them. I believe there are also packages that include breakfast, but we did not investigate them.

Wi-fi was 8 euros per day. In a hotel of this class, I think wi-fi should be free, but 8 euros is less than many other hotels in Amsterdam charge. (Why do I get free wi-fi at Motel 6 but have to pay for it at the Hyatt or Marriott?)

All in all, however, my opinion of this hotel is strongly positive. We were happy with our room, the service and the location. We would stay there again if visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel JL is perhaps one of the better boutique hotels I've been to. My friends and I only stayed one night but the service was exception. The receptionist in particular was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Location-wise it's only 5minutes away from the Rijk Museum and the Van Gogh Museum. It's also very close to an upscale designer shopping street (your Burberry stores, Mulberry stores and Armani etc etc) for your shopping needs. The only downside is that there's no supermarket nearby but there is a small convenience store for drinks and snacks.

For food you can always head to the museum area where there will be hot dog, burger and waffle stalls before 6pm.

The rooms themselves are wonderfully creative. As a design student I can really appreciate the spatial design of the room. We got a hot tub in our bathroom which was a plus!

The hotel also had a honest bar in the lobby in the sense that there's no one to serve you but you're expected to fill in a form with your room number and details to leave at reception. They will then charge the room.

All in all, it was a great stay! Great location, service and room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

For our first visit to Amsterdam, we picked this little hotel because it was close to the major art museums. Not knowing much about the neighborhood, we were delighted to find that it was on a nice quiet residential block and in a comfortable walking distance to local restaurants, upscale shopping (think Rodeo Drive) and tram stop. The room was clean and comfortable, bathroom had a spa tub and separate shower and we had a nice street view. Although we know European rooms can be small, we had booked a Standard Room, but opted for a larger Deluxe (with a supplement) when we were told our room wasn't ready. I'm glad we did, because I can't imagine 2 people in a smaller room for 4 days. Although breakfast is available in the hotel, we walked to a neighborhood restaurant each morning and ate with locals. If you are looking for less of a "tourist" experience, this is a great location.

Room Tip: If you're claustrophobic, consider upgrading to a Deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, Amsterdam 1071 CT, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.