We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

For our first visit to Amsterdam, we picked this little hotel because it was close to the major art museums. Not knowing much about the neighborhood, we were delighted to find that it was on a nice quiet residential block and in a comfortable walking distance to local restaurants, upscale shopping (think Rodeo Drive) and tram stop. The room was clean and comfortable, bathroom had a spa tub and separate shower and we had a nice street view. Although we know European rooms can be small, we had booked a Standard Room, but opted for a larger Deluxe (with a supplement) when we were told our room wasn't ready. I'm glad we did, because I can't imagine 2 people in a smaller room for 4 days. Although breakfast is available in the hotel, we walked to a neighborhood restaurant each morning and ate with locals. If you are looking for less of a "tourist" experience, this is a great location.

Room Tip: If you're claustrophobic, consider upgrading to a Deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    172
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
47
295
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is a boutique hotel, a small number are associated with no view and spaciousness. But the location is great, the center, which is everywhere. Near the main shopping street Hoofstrat all good shops on it. The hotel is very clean, new, in-room Nespresso coffee machine, coffee lover, and so that shoppers will love this place)
PS parking is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As our trip to Amsterdam was booked as a birthday gift to us I can't comment on the price of this hotel. Our room was on the ground floor with french windows out on to a courtyard, it was lovely, spacious, smartly decorated and nicely furnished, the bathroom had a spa bath with a tv to watch had we so wished and a "rain" shower. We had a minibar, coffee maker and supplies for coffee and tea. The bed had prisine white cotton sheets and was large and extremely comfortable.
JLNo76 is situated very close to Vondel Park, the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh exhibition and is in a lovely ,leafy quiet road a short walk from a tram stop, ideal for exploring. The only downside was the shortage of nearby restaurants for an evening meal. Breakfast at the hotel was expensive at 19 euros each so we decided to wait and eat out and about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortisei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came to Amsterdam and this was the last hotel available.
It cost 100 Euros per person in a room located beneath the ground floor (!!). The room itself were nice, but pretty small. The only 'good' thing was the bath which has a whirlpool.
For breakfast they would have asked us extra 25 Euros (!!!!!). Additionally you would have to pay for the internet!
Not a place to recommend if you visit Amsterdam, except you have too much money.
The staff however was nice, at least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited Amsterdam in the first week of May 2013 and booked this hotel based on the TA reviews and recommendation from a local Dutch colleague. The hotel is located near museum square and given Amsterdam is not that big it was easy to walk to everything we wanted to see and do. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was funky and comfortable and the rooms clean. Being in Europe we did not have high expectations on the size of the room and although the rooms are smaller than what we are used to in Australia by European standards it was reasonable and comfortable. The decor is modern and warm. The bathroom is different with the bath (spa), shower and toilet in a separate room but the vanity is in the main room near the door. A little awkward. Wifi worked in the rooms and in the downstairs lounge. We had breakfast twice at the hotel (19 Euros each) and it offered a variety of cereals, eggs bacon and sausages, breads and pastries. The hotel also has a small bar/cafe which guests can help themselves too at any time - it is an honour system so you just have to fill in the order form for what you had and give it to reception to put on your bill. We really enjoyed going to the lounge and having a drink or cup of coffee after a long day out. Overall a lovely little hotel, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

It's the second time that I have booked this hotel. It's a great find. Small and comfortable with great beds, jacuzzi style baths and air con in a quiet street
The staff are friendly. Thomas Is particularly caring.
It's not a big hotel with fancy service but a small quality fun
Place with a self service bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A stone's throw from the museums on a quiet street, one block from the tram line. What more could you want? Modern rooms with great shower and tubs, extremely comfortable beds and wonderfully cheery, helpful staff. The 'honesty bar' in the lobby is a handy feature. We didn't take the breakfast for obvious reasons (17.50€), but did have a light supper there after our late arrival in town. It was very good. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.