We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

we stayed here for my husbands birthday last weekend and it was wonderful. its a mid range boutique but for the price was incredibly good value. We upgraded to an exec deluxe for an extra 20E a night and our room was a very good size. It was on the main road above reception so i worried slightly about the noise but we heard nothing - total peace at night! plus the beds are INCREDIBLE. we travel a lot in very expensive hotels and these beds were the best i think ive ever slept in. The hotel staff were very friendly and breakfast in bed was served at speed and was tasty. The location was perfect for visiting the 9 strasses which was our favourite area by far with great shops and cafes. Only advice for visiting is to book restaurants and galleries in advance! museum queues were huge, we pre-booked from london thankfully and avoided the hour long waits. lastly, hire the bikes! our best day was taking out the hotel bikes and cycling all over the city, they do charge 17E which i did feel was a little steep however we had a great day so no complaints. Would absolutely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    128
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
205
15
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is well positioned in the Museum quarter and right behind the Van Gough Museum. Problem was the Van Gough was being renovated (until about June 2013) and the exhibition had temporarily moved to the Hermitage. Nevertheless, the hotel is a quick walk to a tram station that service the city well.

The problem we had was as nice as this place seemed, it just didn't feel like 4 star. At reception. We were offered an upgrade for $20 more a night, a romantic spa deluxe suite sounded great so we took it. Turns out the room was tiny and the spa was small too, no way 2 people could fit in fact my toes stuck out the end when I was in the by myself. On top of that they charge heavily for wifi. Needless to say we did not get what we were expecting. Buyers remorse for us.

We will skip this place next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this boutique hotel ideal in many ways. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there. It could not have been more conveniently located for us - the Rijksmuseum at the end of the road. The bed was very comfortable and the amenities good and ample. Our only complaint, and not a huge one, was that the room was pretty cramped, and we were in an Executive Room.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a brilliant weekend here thanks to Voyage Prive. Just a stones throw from the museums. Beautiful room with jacuzzi. It was really cold in Amsterdam but the hotel was a lovely welcoming dose of heat after walking out in the cold and snow. Vondel Park is stunning in the snow. The staff couldn't do enough to be helpful. Breakfast was easy and relaxed with plenty of choice. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top for views and the only reason I didn't score excellent for sleep qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

What a great location. Chanel, Louis Vuitton, etc are all opposite the next turning from this hotel, so if you also live in cities elsewhere around the world, you know these boutiques are only located in well-heeled areas, not to mention Rembrandt’s infamous ‘The Night Watchman’ is in the museum at the end of this road!

I have to say the staff were fantastic, we arrived to a wonderful man, named Wouter, asking us if we wished to upgrade our room for £20 a night extra, to one with a Jacuzzi and higher ceilings which we agreed to. Before heading out we relaxed in the compact room, let’s not forget – this is a Boutique Hotel, as those in New York or London, the rooms are small, but they are beautifully thought out, as is the Jacuzzi bathroom suite and THE most comfortable beds we’ve ever slept in! The Honesty bar on site is a great idea and stocked with everything you need, as was the excellent breakfast.

But the real difference is, even when you return from your stay, the Customer Service is still excellent. I was silly enough to leave a full draw of clothing behind. When I called the hotel, Wouter had already emailed me and for a small charge to my card he said they would post the box to me. The next morning the medium size box was on my doorstep being signed for. The Honesty Bar obviously rubs off, the cleaner, reception, etc, could have removed any of the items, including high valued items, but everything was there. We will definitely return for another Valentines Weekend and I am sure when the weather is warm it is even better. "Wouter-ful!!!"

Room Tip: Upgrade to the jacuzzi suite, it's still small, but higher ceilings give a feeling of more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days with my daughter over half term. Great location on a quiet street near the museums. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Honesty bar, nice touch. Within walking distance of most of Amsterdam amenities. Rooms comfortable and our room was a good size, not always the case in Amsterdam hotel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. The bed was undoubtedly the most comfortable bed I've ever had the pleasure to sleep in and the jacuzzi bath was an absolute delight after a busy day touring Amsterdam. The staff were friendly and helpful, and very well presented. Superb!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.