We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern luxury at B&B prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern luxury at B&B prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked a romantic getaway in this small boutique hotel and it proved to be wonderful. The location is great, in a quiet street right next to Museumplein, Paradiso and the posh P.C. Hooft shopping street.

Our room was very cosy. It had a very large comfortable double bed, and some nice extras like a flat screen tv in the bathroom, a jacuzzi and walk-in shower and a nespresso machine. (Note: the hotel also has a free of charge dvd rental service. There's not much of a choice though)
The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We didn't try any food.

I can't really think of any bad things to say, but if I had to name a few things that could be improved: a little light in the closet with the espresso machine would have come in handy, especially on a winter morning when it's still dark.
And also: if you're shorter than 1m60, the peeping hole, mirror, airco... might be a bit high for you.

I'm not complaining. For us this hotel has been nothing but good. (Especially since we only paid around 60-70 euros a night, thanks to a promotion.)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    128
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
205
15
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The good points first:
- Location, location, location. Quiet, yet close to all the museums, shops, and restaurants (10-15 minute walk)
- Good in-room facilities (eg nespresso machine, flat screen telly, and best of all, three-pin socket so no adaptors required)

The negatives:
- Some problems with the housekeeping / levels of cleanliness. Room not ready when we arrived at 3pm. Housekeeper called but the room left quite dusty in places. Worst of all was finding staining (old, dried blood) on the pillow when I went to bed that evening. Although it was sorted out, problems like this could be avoided by using pillow protectors that can be laundered.
- Comfort room small. Lack of hanging space was irritating - not place to hang towels or anything longer than shirts. Bathroom contained toilet and shower only. The washbasin was outside in main room. This was inconvenient and not clear from room description.
- Despite being new hotel, tired in places eg very stained carpets.
- Designer shower which unfortunately flooded floor every time we used it

In summary
- Good hotel for short trip
- Not four star in terms of service or facilities. Good three star more appropriate desciption.
- We paid €220 per night for two of the nights which was overpriced. Third night was €110 which was about right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean nice decorated rooms, good location near the fashion distr. Sure will stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I reached the hotel by way of the hotel shuttle bus at about 11am, hoping to check in early for a rest after a long flight. Wouter at the desk was very nice and helped arrange for an early check in to my room on the 3rd floor. He also provided me with information about the room and the surrounding areas of the hotel. The room was very comfortable for a solo traveller like me and came with nice soft pillows, amenities like the Nespresso machine and a jacuzzi bath. Used amenities were replenished, towels were replaced and room was cleaned every day. It was nice coming back to the room after a long day out. The only thing about the hotel is that there are some acoustics when people walked a little heavily around their rooms but nothing too disturbing and for the 5 nights that I was there, I had restful and peaceful sleep. Oh, another thing that I liked about the hotel is that the management listens to its customers - some earlier reviews I read mentioned how cramped it made the room with the placement of 2 armchairs. The rooms now have only 1 armchair and it made for more space in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel JL is on a very quiet street in a prime location of Amsterdam. I arrived at noon, three hours before check-in and exhausted. The hotel had been full the night before, but Andre at the front desk called housekeeping to make sure my room was the next one cleaned, and he let me check in after first offering me a complimentary cup of tea. I had room 206, which was sunny with an incredible bath. I booked on Tablet.com and got a great deal (145 Euros). Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very good location, but rooms are small, the type of windows do not have any, to recommend a short stop in the city. In room TV, coffee machine Nespresso, the staff is very courteous pleasant.
Everything is brand new and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for our last night of a long weekend in the Netherlands. This hotel is lovely, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room we had was on the 3rd floor, the bed was very comfy and the best pillows i have ever slept on!! Tea and coffee making facilities were excellent.

Location is in Museum square, we walked from central station to get our bearings which probably took us about 45mins, but it is easily accessible by numerous trams from right outside the station. Taxi service was also not overly expensive, cost us £16 euros from hotel to station.

To anyone who is searching reviews endlessly to find a nice hotel at a nice price (as i was before i booked it) this hotel is the one you want, luxury hotel at a bargain price!!

Room Tip: From reading previous reviews about this hotel i did ask not to be placed in basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.