We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, Modern, Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Modern, Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you're headed to Amsterdam then you must stay here! It will not disappoint. Firstly, the location is perfect. You are literally down the road from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum - just a couple minutes walk. And you can purchase museum tickets at the hotel lobby which will save you from waiting in long lines. Also just a block away are the streets with the most expensive shops - Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Burberry, etc. - this may not be your thing, but who doesn't like to do a little bit of window shopping while acclimating to the area? It's a great way to stretch your legs and be mindless. And a few minutes walk a way is the popular area of Leidesplein - this is where you will find a lot of restaurant and nightlife options. It can be crowded, but I think that's part of the charm of Amsterdam - throwing yourself into a mix of locals and tourists and just enjoying being swept away by the crowds.

Secondly - the hotel itself is wonderful. Enjoyably modern, the atmosphere is clean and feels like you are on a fancy vacation. The rooms are large and comfortable, ours had a balcony so we could enjoy the night air and quiet mornings. The bathroom is large and features a deep jacuzzi with a tv built into the wall. We loved the jacuzzi! It was wonderful for our achey muscles. The staff were all friendly and helpful as well, and provided you with a map that showed all the popular areas for nightlife, shopping and sightseeing.

You really can't go wrong with this hotel and I would stay hear again on my next visit - without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    112
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
180
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

returned back to routine today, after our 5 day trip and vacation to the beautiful & unigue city of amsterdam we so much felt in love with it!!! the hotel is what we usually looking forward to all european city breaks. modern, great and friendly staff, spacious & beautiful design of rooms, with fantastic bathrooms having the relaxing jaccuzzi while u watch tv right opposite!!! the very famous designer road fron the left and the van gogh museum on the right!!! what else anyone could ask for when everything is covered in package of this jl 76 hotel... truly very happy adding this one again to our best modern city stays of our life!!! thanks to the special city at the best time of the year.... amsterdam the beautiful colourful touching city of all!!!!! fantastic modern design hotel!! we ll for sure return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have just arrived from Amsterdam where I stayed at hotel JL Nº76 and I would like to thank all the staff of this hotel for their kindness during our stay. They gave us reccomendations, booked restaurants for us and where as kind as it is possible to be in a very busy weekend in Amsterdam. The hotel is new (they were celebrating their first year since the opening) and very well located. If you want to visit the Van Gogh Museum, this is your hotel as it is located at two minutes walk. The Rikjsmusem is five minutes walk and one of the best indonesian restaurants to have Reijstaffel (Sama Sebo) is also very close to the hotel.
We shall be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here in Decmber 2011 for a christmas shopping trip. It is in a very good location for access all over the city. The rijksmuseum is a the end of the road so there are many buses and trams within a 2 min walk from the hotel. There is a bus that goes from the airport to the rijksmuseum which costs about 4 euro per person and takes 15 mins, you cant get better value or convenience than that. The room we had was on the first floor facing the street, large windows so was very light and airy. The beds are so comfortable it was hard to get out, I wanted to take the pillows home with me ( and you had a choice from the pillow menu!) The jacuzzi bath and shower were lovley, especially with a t.v at the end! The sink was in a strange place though outside the bathrooom? Not good if you want full privacy as you have to unlock the door and go out of the bathroom before you can wash your hands after using the bathroom. A small gripe could not have spoiled a perfect stay in a fabulous hotel. The staff gave 110% all the time. The room was spotless and tea and coffee facilities in the room were
the best ive had yet.
If you are trying to decide on a hotel, my advice is you cant go wrong here.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the street have large windows so are light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very nice experience. Small boutique Hotel with personal touch and cozy atmosphere. Special kudos to Susann and Andre for there great service!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We met friends from America and all stayed at this hotel, having read about it on Trip Advisor. We liked it very much, clean, quiet and friendly staff. The room was great and very comfortable, we were a little disappointed with the public area and cost of breakfast though. American freinds did not like it at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.