We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a surprise for my boyfriend following alot of research and we weren't dissapointed.
The hotel has a shuttle which picks up outside the airport arrivals, it's approx €26 return pp but is well worth it as it drops you off outside the hotel, just make sure you book the shuttle for return journey the day before its needed, the reception staff are very helpful and can do this for you.
Would advise booking a room on higher floor as on ground level there are two rooms right next to lift and honesty bar.
We had an executive room which included a jacuzzi bath and tv in bathroom, unfortunately couldn't get volume working but wasn't a big issue for us so didn't contact reception.
Room is very spacious which isnt the norm with european city hotels. Very large king size bed which is great as my boyfriend is over 6foot. Housekeeping were excellent providing new towels and toiletries daily.
Hotel is great location, right next to museum square with da vinci museum and rijksmuseum which is right at bottom of street, this is where the tram line stop is which takes you into centre in a matter of minutes. You can purchase a 24hr ticket for €7 which is valid for tram and bus, we found this very useful and got team and walked everywhere as location of hotel and Amsterdam itself feels very safe.
Be aware that on check out you will be charged €15 city tax which we weren't aware of.
Great stay in a fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    124
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
193
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is the first time I've ever written a review because I have one important point to pass on. We were very excited about staying here considering the reviews and I'm sure it is a lovely hotel but when we arrived, we were told "there is good news", oh wonderful you think. No, even though we had booked last year with e-mail confirmation of our booking at JLNo76 two days before check in, when we arrived we were told the hotel was fully booked and had no room for us - what a lovely Birthday treat! We waited for a taxi and were sent to another Vondel hotel (Roemer), which although lovely rooms, lacked the same finish in the reception area, bags were not carried to the room and seemed a little unwelcoming. In the end things worked out ok but this is not acceptable when spending this amount of money. What made us chuckle was as we were leaving, we heard the same line from a receptionist at Roemer "we have some bad news and some good news"... of course they were off to a "sister hotel". So, the actual stay was pleasant with lovely rooms and bathrooms but be aware that when you book, either directly or through a booking agency, you may not be staying where you think.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Comfort: I stayed at a 4th floor room, which was extremely comfortable and quiet. The use of space is amazing, the bed was excellent. Nespresso machine in rooom with courtesy coffee and tea. Free wi-fi internet. Staff was very kind and eager to help discoveingr Amsterdam. Breakfast was very good although a bit expensive. A small hotel with not much of common space, but with everything we needed for a nice stay.

Location: It is at 5 min walking distance from Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and Concertgebouw. The city center is just at 20 min walking distance. Bus 197 goes directly from Schiphol airport to the hotel (35min ride, bus stop at Hobbemastraat near the Rijksmuseum is perfect). Good restaurants in the nearby were "L'entrecôte et les dames" and Pantry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with the interesting name ..JL No 76, and was thrilled to have found it more interesting than I had thought. The hotel close to several important tourist places and also the nearby markets. The tram service to city centre is at a walking distance. The hotel does not have big rooms but it is cosy and clean with nice beds and descent bathroom with lcd TV and Jacuzzi. Complimentary Wi-Fi has good speed and stability. Reception staff is very nice and helpful. One of the best business hotels in budget category in Amsterdam. Certainly I will still again whenever in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel is situated in an upmarket residential area, within easy walking distance of several areas of interest, many of the museums, a multitude of restaurants and the 'designer' shopping area. Transport is within easy reach with tram stops for different lines at either end of the street.

We arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon to be told we had been allocated an executive room in the basement. We asked if there was any chance of a move to an upper floor but unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked. Having read some of the other reviews, we were somewhat concerned that it would be noisy in the basement, however, the only thing we actually found to be a slight downside was the subterranean style windows which, being the middle of a particularly grey winter spell, did not allow a huge amount of natural light into the room.

On our way back out of the hotel later that afternoon, we asked if there was any chance of a move to another room the following night and the extremely helpful young chap behind the desk quickly obliged in allocating us a room on the top floor for the following evening. The move went without hitch and the new room had a huge panoramic window spanning the whole width affording us great views across the rooftops of the city.

Both rooms were tastefully decorated and as some reviews have mentioned, the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathrooms (exec rooms) were modern with jacuzzi baths, rain shower, and television!

We did not make use of the honesty bar facilities nor did we take breakfast as we preferred to try out some of the many eateries and bars around the nearby canals.

This hotel provided a great base for our short stay and will be our definite choice when we return in the summer!

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid basement rooms (little natural light) and ground floor rooms as these are right by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We decided to spend a bit more on our night in Amsterdam - and it was totally worth it. The rooms were a little small but had every luxury, and the location of the hotel is fantastic - just on the edge of the city centre (so not too noisy at night) and right next to a beautiful park. The staff were very considerate and helpful - they were very happy to stock soya milk for my visit as am vegan. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel JL no76 was awesome it had 3 televisions one was in the bathroom so you can watch the tv in the bath.my mum and dad say the bed they slept in was the most comfortable bed they've ever slept in and the service was great. But our taxi driver was confused by the name. Overall it was awesome we loved it .From Joske a (12 yr old reviewer)!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Venere, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.