We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with the interesting name ..JL No 76, and was thrilled to have found it more interesting than I had thought. The hotel close to several important tourist places and also the nearby markets. The tram service to city centre is at a walking distance. The hotel does not have big rooms but it is cosy and clean with nice beds and descent bathroom with lcd TV and Jacuzzi. Complimentary Wi-Fi has good speed and stability. Reception staff is very nice and helpful. One of the best business hotels in budget category in Amsterdam. Certainly I will still again whenever in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    155
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
38
271
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel is situated in an upmarket residential area, within easy walking distance of several areas of interest, many of the museums, a multitude of restaurants and the 'designer' shopping area. Transport is within easy reach with tram stops for different lines at either end of the street.

We arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon to be told we had been allocated an executive room in the basement. We asked if there was any chance of a move to an upper floor but unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked. Having read some of the other reviews, we were somewhat concerned that it would be noisy in the basement, however, the only thing we actually found to be a slight downside was the subterranean style windows which, being the middle of a particularly grey winter spell, did not allow a huge amount of natural light into the room.

On our way back out of the hotel later that afternoon, we asked if there was any chance of a move to another room the following night and the extremely helpful young chap behind the desk quickly obliged in allocating us a room on the top floor for the following evening. The move went without hitch and the new room had a huge panoramic window spanning the whole width affording us great views across the rooftops of the city.

Both rooms were tastefully decorated and as some reviews have mentioned, the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathrooms (exec rooms) were modern with jacuzzi baths, rain shower, and television!

We did not make use of the honesty bar facilities nor did we take breakfast as we preferred to try out some of the many eateries and bars around the nearby canals.

This hotel provided a great base for our short stay and will be our definite choice when we return in the summer!

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid basement rooms (little natural light) and ground floor rooms as these are right by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We decided to spend a bit more on our night in Amsterdam - and it was totally worth it. The rooms were a little small but had every luxury, and the location of the hotel is fantastic - just on the edge of the city centre (so not too noisy at night) and right next to a beautiful park. The staff were very considerate and helpful - they were very happy to stock soya milk for my visit as am vegan. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel JL no76 was awesome it had 3 televisions one was in the bathroom so you can watch the tv in the bath.my mum and dad say the bed they slept in was the most comfortable bed they've ever slept in and the service was great. But our taxi driver was confused by the name. Overall it was awesome we loved it .From Joske a (12 yr old reviewer)!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights the week before Christmas, in room 100. Our room was beautiful, light and roomy, quiet. Extremely comfortable bed, IMHO. The staff couldn't have been nicer/more helpful. We had breakfast every day, yum. Good coffee too. Fantastic location, we walked everywhere all week.

Love Amsterdam, love this hotel, and we WILL be back! Thanks for an awesome stay.

Room Tip: I liked room 100 for the huge windows; I have a feeling the rooms in the back of the hotel all had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
276 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Good location - right by the Van Gogh and Rijsmuseum. Trams and buses to city centre and airport are similarly close. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Bed was very nice. Coffee facilities were great, there was a nespresso machine in the room! TV in bathroom was a nice touch. Free wifi is reasonably fast.
No parking available. Bit noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Smooth and fast check-in, friendly and polite staff.

We got a room in the basement, which was extremely noisy. It was right next to a staircase, a toilet and in the same hallway as the houskeeping staff had their equipment and washing machines. As a result, there was noise at all hours of the day. Impossible to sleep. Complained about the room and got a new one at the second floor which was great (including complimentary bottle of red wine).

In a nice neighborhood surrounded by luxury store. Within walking distance to city centre.

Recommended if you get a room above street level.

Room Tip: Anything but basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.