We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We decided to spend a bit more on our night in Amsterdam - and it was totally worth it. The rooms were a little small but had every luxury, and the location of the hotel is fantastic - just on the edge of the city centre (so not too noisy at night) and right next to a beautiful park. The staff were very considerate and helpful - they were very happy to stock soya milk for my visit as am vegan. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    112
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
179
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel JL no76 was awesome it had 3 televisions one was in the bathroom so you can watch the tv in the bath.my mum and dad say the bed they slept in was the most comfortable bed they've ever slept in and the service was great. But our taxi driver was confused by the name. Overall it was awesome we loved it .From Joske a (12 yr old reviewer)!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights the week before Christmas, in room 100. Our room was beautiful, light and roomy, quiet. Extremely comfortable bed, IMHO. The staff couldn't have been nicer/more helpful. We had breakfast every day, yum. Good coffee too. Fantastic location, we walked everywhere all week.

Love Amsterdam, love this hotel, and we WILL be back! Thanks for an awesome stay.

Room Tip: I liked room 100 for the huge windows; I have a feeling the rooms in the back of the hotel all had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
280 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Good location - right by the Van Gogh and Rijsmuseum. Trams and buses to city centre and airport are similarly close. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Bed was very nice. Coffee facilities were great, there was a nespresso machine in the room! TV in bathroom was a nice touch. Free wifi is reasonably fast.
No parking available. Bit noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Smooth and fast check-in, friendly and polite staff.

We got a room in the basement, which was extremely noisy. It was right next to a staircase, a toilet and in the same hallway as the houskeeping staff had their equipment and washing machines. As a result, there was noise at all hours of the day. Impossible to sleep. Complained about the room and got a new one at the second floor which was great (including complimentary bottle of red wine).

In a nice neighborhood surrounded by luxury store. Within walking distance to city centre.

Recommended if you get a room above street level.

Room Tip: Anything but basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I were in Amsterdam for one night in December, this is a great hotel. It's boutique and in a nice quiet street. The staff are really nice and it's a great modern, clean hotel. The rooms are on the small size but then this is Europe. The breakfast was great at the hotel too, plenty of choice and a nice relaxed atmosphere, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Lovely location. 5min walk to Rijk and concertgebow. Room was very small (I thought that I'd booked the 30 sqm room, it was too late when I checked in and didn't want to bother an argument with the front desk at 1am) and stupidly designed considering the size. Two big arm chairs, anyone?Hello? And what's with the shiny curtains and brown color scheme? First of all I wanted to throw one of the chairs out of the window so there was some space for luggage.
Sink doesn't fit in the bathroom, so it is at the entrance. The bathroom has a spa bath and a tv, but the water resistant remote for tv doesn't work, I hope they've noticed it by now.
Bed is comfortable and there was an overall feeling of privacy, up in the top floor cramped with all the furniture. It's a shame because this hotel could really be very cosy and homey with few little updates.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.