We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel? Not quite. And too expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, Amsterdam 1071 CT, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel? Not quite. And too expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was the last hotel of our 3 week and some vacation in Europe. I wanted it to end on a high note, so I took the best room category available (room 201) in this ``Boutique Hotel``. Disappointment.

I am not sure when this hotel opened but it doesn't seem to be a fully oiled machine. For example, on check in, the front desk person seems more interested in getting us processed than anything else (and there was no line up). No info on hotel, what's included or not (I had to ask). No map. She gave us only one key, I had to ask for a second. One other time I asked the person at the reception what was the best way to get to the Airport he had no clue. Eventually another member of the staff helped but I would expect even a junior person to be able to help (or find) this basic info.

The room: was clearly made to look design hotel. But I had quite a few issues with it. First: it wasn't small as such but all the furniture was suffocating the room. We had one armchair too many. One would have been a lot better, instead of the second one blocking access to the balcony. The room didn't have any airy (let's not even talk minimalistic) feel. And speaking of balcony: quite uninviting. Wooden camping-like small chairs.

The bathroom was the perfect example of ```smells like a boutique hotel, but isn't one``. The shower looked neat, with an interesting only half door covering the shower. Interesting. Until you start taking the shower and the water gets in the bathroom. There is no slope so it just stays there until you wipe it. Worse: there was no tablet to put the soap and the shampoo. There was a metallic arm sticking out of the wall, so I thought they were supposed to have those two in one soap/shampoo bottles and just forgot to put one. But it wasn't put on day two wither. So you really had to put all the things you need either on the floor or on the bath, one meter away. It really made no sense! And next to this you had an awesome feature like TV on the wall of the bathtub. Neat but honestly I would have preferred that they make the room functional instead of adding features.
Bed? Real King size for once, rare in Europe. But only so so comfort. And the linens felt really cheap.
It was too expensive. I paid an average of 195 Euro per night (One night at 150 euro and the other at 24o euro!) , no including breakfast.

The area is quiet, but having stayed twice in the Museum neighborhood, I can tell you that it's a bit far off from most everything and a solid 40 min walk to the interesting areas, once you're done with the museums. Not a whole lot of interesting eateries or cafés around.

All in all: Not all bad, beautiful hotel, but I don't recommend the place, and certainly won't return.

Room Tip: Take a basic room, don't pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    93
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
150
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hotel is very modern, room was excellent - very spaciuous with huge bathroom and shower.. Very clean. Conceptually, a business hotel, in form and substance, a manifestation of the mavelous European sense of style and beauty.
It was a very good value for money and I would recommend it.
The Friendliness and Helpfulness of the staff is amazing and atention to detail is remarkable.
I work in hotel management and I really find what every Yeld manager have to do..
Good work guys!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Hotel JL No76 for 4 nights. We liked the hotel's location in the museum district. From Schiphol airport you can take the number 197 bus which stops just 2 blocks from the hotel. We found this easier than taking the train to Amsterdam Centraal and changing to tram from there. Getting from the hotel to the centre is a nice 10 minute walk or just a few minutes tram ride. In the neighbourhood there are some nice restaurants and shops so everything you need is basically within walking distance.

Our executive room was on the 4th (top floor). There were some quirky things about the room that were more boutique design than practical. For example, the bathroom didn't have sinks. Instead, the sinks were located in the room right next to the bathroom and room door. Although slightly inpractical, this didn't bother us too much. The bathroom was otherwise excellent with a luxurious jacuzzi bathtub with a TV and a spacious shower.

The hotel being practically brand new, everything was sparkling clean and fresh. The room had a Nespresso machine and we enjoyed the chance to have a nice cup of coffee in the room. A nice touch was also the honesty bar in the downstairs lobby where you could help yourself to some drinks.

The breakfast was fantastic, the buffet catered for every basic need and there was also à la carte list for extras, such as delicious pancakes. We also ate one evening at the hotel, the food was quite basic but worth the price.

One nice thing was also that tickets to the museums could be bought from the hotel, which saved us a quite a lot of time that would have been otherwise spent queuing outside the museums.

The service was excellent and staff were always cheerful and happy to answer any questions we had. Overall, Hotel JL no76 is a nice luxury boutique hotel with great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I am currently staying in this hotel and yes... I have had some issues with my room but I have had my room swapped and I will take these issues up with the manager. However this was a matter of bad luck (sort of) and I don't want to take away from what a lovely hotel this is.

First of all the area - well it is saying something when you walk out of the hotel and you can see the Louis Vuitton sign sparkling on the street adjacent. This is Amsterdam and its most upmarket with the most expensive shopping street in the city at your door. The street which is home to the hotel is on a small tree lined road parallel to the fashion district and is peaceful and pretty.

When you arrive at the hotel it has that "boutique" feel you expect. Classy, kitsch and dressed with persian rugs and quirky contemporary art. In the reception is also the "honesty bar" - a not so mini mini bar for all guests to use, take what you want and write it down on a card which you then leave at reception to be billed for later.

Now - the rooms. I stayed in the executive room. I walked in and my initially though was "wow." Now I am a 25 year old solo traveller but I have stayed in some nice hotels across europe but I think this is my favourite. Clean, cool grey on the walls, simple and functional storage with plenty of room and a grand double bed with coco-matt mattress which really has that "jump in" allure. And then what every boy loves - GADGETS. A jacuzzi bath, build in high definition TV at the foot of the tub so you can catch up on CNN while the bubbles ease your tired legs. A nespresso machine to begin your day with a shot of caffeine and the best bit is everything works. I have stayed in endless hotels with gadgets galore but you turn the TV on and are met with a snowstorm. There are several english channels to choose from and the picture is crystal clear both in the bathroom and the widescreen in the main bedroom.

To finish this review I would like to commend the hotel staff. The service is no doubt excellent and this is always best tested when you have a complaint. The issues with my room were dealt with superbly - there is a lesson to be learnt from many hotels by the way I was death with today. It makes such a difference when someone shows some understanding when you explain you have had a rough night.

This hotel is perfectly placed and perfectly appointed. It makes your trip feel special and I would thoroughly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: avoid basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

nespresso coffee maker in room very good , jacuzzi bath great for relax tv in bathroom , and big comfy bed , room was a little on small side but luxury makes up for that ,would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights recently, very friendly staff, top location, nice building, tastefully decorated rooms and loved all te art in the hotel. Hotel is brand new and feels like home with the honesty bar concept. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

It was my first trip to Amsterdam and stayed 5 nights in hotel as a leisure traveller. As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is ideally positioned to access the museums ( Rijks and Vincent Van Gogh), Vongel park, fashion street and restaurants. So there are heaps of activities to do around the area.

Room is spaciously designed with contemporary art deco and great amenities. Among the list of likes, what stood out the most was the bed . Having slept in different hotel beds during business and leisure, it is one of the most comfortable beds that is hard to jump out each morning. Free high speed wireless internet was another perk.

Breakfast spread is a standard American breakfast spread + hot items like eggs and pancakes. I recommend having the flour-less banana pancakes as they were a real perk to my mornings. The lounge/breakfast area that shares the honesty bar is a great concept for guests to access to coffee/tea services and other beverages throughout the day.

Staffs are really friendly, down to earth and personalized without over the top formalities which is always a deal-breaker for me. Big shoutout to Cindy and Susan(ne?) who helped us out on a lot on our itineraries and always readily to engage in a personalized conversation.

Tip: Ask for the free bikes from the hotel, quite an interesting experience to see the city.
Will definitely stay with them when I'm back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, Amsterdam 1071 CT, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.