We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Hotel JL No76 for 4 nights. We liked the hotel's location in the museum district. From Schiphol airport you can take the number 197 bus which stops just 2 blocks from the hotel. We found this easier than taking the train to Amsterdam Centraal and changing to tram from there. Getting from the hotel to the centre is a nice 10 minute walk or just a few minutes tram ride. In the neighbourhood there are some nice restaurants and shops so everything you need is basically within walking distance.

Our executive room was on the 4th (top floor). There were some quirky things about the room that were more boutique design than practical. For example, the bathroom didn't have sinks. Instead, the sinks were located in the room right next to the bathroom and room door. Although slightly inpractical, this didn't bother us too much. The bathroom was otherwise excellent with a luxurious jacuzzi bathtub with a TV and a spacious shower.

The hotel being practically brand new, everything was sparkling clean and fresh. The room had a Nespresso machine and we enjoyed the chance to have a nice cup of coffee in the room. A nice touch was also the honesty bar in the downstairs lobby where you could help yourself to some drinks.

The breakfast was fantastic, the buffet catered for every basic need and there was also à la carte list for extras, such as delicious pancakes. We also ate one evening at the hotel, the food was quite basic but worth the price.

One nice thing was also that tickets to the museums could be bought from the hotel, which saved us a quite a lot of time that would have been otherwise spent queuing outside the museums.

The service was excellent and staff were always cheerful and happy to answer any questions we had. Overall, Hotel JL no76 is a nice luxury boutique hotel with great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    128
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
205
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I am currently staying in this hotel and yes... I have had some issues with my room but I have had my room swapped and I will take these issues up with the manager. However this was a matter of bad luck (sort of) and I don't want to take away from what a lovely hotel this is.

First of all the area - well it is saying something when you walk out of the hotel and you can see the Louis Vuitton sign sparkling on the street adjacent. This is Amsterdam and its most upmarket with the most expensive shopping street in the city at your door. The street which is home to the hotel is on a small tree lined road parallel to the fashion district and is peaceful and pretty.

When you arrive at the hotel it has that "boutique" feel you expect. Classy, kitsch and dressed with persian rugs and quirky contemporary art. In the reception is also the "honesty bar" - a not so mini mini bar for all guests to use, take what you want and write it down on a card which you then leave at reception to be billed for later.

Now - the rooms. I stayed in the executive room. I walked in and my initially though was "wow." Now I am a 25 year old solo traveller but I have stayed in some nice hotels across europe but I think this is my favourite. Clean, cool grey on the walls, simple and functional storage with plenty of room and a grand double bed with coco-matt mattress which really has that "jump in" allure. And then what every boy loves - GADGETS. A jacuzzi bath, build in high definition TV at the foot of the tub so you can catch up on CNN while the bubbles ease your tired legs. A nespresso machine to begin your day with a shot of caffeine and the best bit is everything works. I have stayed in endless hotels with gadgets galore but you turn the TV on and are met with a snowstorm. There are several english channels to choose from and the picture is crystal clear both in the bathroom and the widescreen in the main bedroom.

To finish this review I would like to commend the hotel staff. The service is no doubt excellent and this is always best tested when you have a complaint. The issues with my room were dealt with superbly - there is a lesson to be learnt from many hotels by the way I was death with today. It makes such a difference when someone shows some understanding when you explain you have had a rough night.

This hotel is perfectly placed and perfectly appointed. It makes your trip feel special and I would thoroughly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: avoid basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

nespresso coffee maker in room very good , jacuzzi bath great for relax tv in bathroom , and big comfy bed , room was a little on small side but luxury makes up for that ,would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights recently, very friendly staff, top location, nice building, tastefully decorated rooms and loved all te art in the hotel. Hotel is brand new and feels like home with the honesty bar concept. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

It was my first trip to Amsterdam and stayed 5 nights in hotel as a leisure traveller. As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is ideally positioned to access the museums ( Rijks and Vincent Van Gogh), Vongel park, fashion street and restaurants. So there are heaps of activities to do around the area.

Room is spaciously designed with contemporary art deco and great amenities. Among the list of likes, what stood out the most was the bed . Having slept in different hotel beds during business and leisure, it is one of the most comfortable beds that is hard to jump out each morning. Free high speed wireless internet was another perk.

Breakfast spread is a standard American breakfast spread + hot items like eggs and pancakes. I recommend having the flour-less banana pancakes as they were a real perk to my mornings. The lounge/breakfast area that shares the honesty bar is a great concept for guests to access to coffee/tea services and other beverages throughout the day.

Staffs are really friendly, down to earth and personalized without over the top formalities which is always a deal-breaker for me. Big shoutout to Cindy and Susan(ne?) who helped us out on a lot on our itineraries and always readily to engage in a personalized conversation.

Tip: Ask for the free bikes from the hotel, quite an interesting experience to see the city.
Will definitely stay with them when I'm back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Living in Atlanta, USA and originally from Amsterdam; I decided to celebrate my birthday back in Amsterdam. With many of my fiends from US, Asia and Europe we all stayed in Hotel JL. First and foremost, the hotel is located in just a perfect spot, close to the Vondelpark (love my morning run), Amsterdam's version of Rodeo Drive is literally around the corner and the museums are around the other corner. Some of my friends being first timers to Amsterdam were absolutely falling in love with this neighborhood, also because it's less than 10 min walk to the Leidseplein and canal area. The hotel itself has a cool, contemporary elegance and feels very welcoming and relaxed. Some of my guests being frequent travelers said they would on their next visit to Amsterdam skip the big brand hotels and stay in Hotel JL. I personally think that the staff is really making all the difference in the world and one small example is: when we returned from a biking tour (on the hotel bikes) showing windmills, canals and all that: when we were parking all the bikes on our return at the hotel. The receptionist, her name was Cindy, came out with a tray of glasses with ice water for everyone. I was gobsmacked. A small gesture with a great impact. A throughout our stay the staff was making all guests feel at home. A great example of a boutique hotel with that sincere personal touch often difficult to find at the big brand hotels. Can't wait to come back to Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The hotel is located in a sleepy part of the city near all the museums but close enough to the action if you want to see the city nightlife. The staff was amazing and the hotel was very clean and modern. The rooms were standard for Europe (small) but very well decorated. The bathroom was very cool and spacious. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.