We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vietnamese restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xinh - CLOSED

Xinh
Elandsgracht 2, 1016 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 62 403 08
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $44
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Borough London
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited Xinh with cilleagues and enjoyed some very fresh and tasty Vietnamese cuisine. The highlights were the summer rolls and the beef pho. The service was a bit slow as they only had one waitress with about 30 covers.
The big negative was the restaurant only accepted Maestro and not Visa which is a big issue for most business diners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    13
    15
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I enjoyed my dinner at Xinh. I thought it was a bit expensive for the flavors, however good portion side and great service. I got the beef broken noodles (i think) and thought it just didn't have much flavor. I typically think Thai is a better choice for me compared to Vietnamese, but I think this place is worth going

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The food was fresh, flavourful and fantastic. The atmosphere is modern and comfortable. The staff are super friendly and efficient. There numerous choices on the menu for our family. The taster menu was a super way to enjoy the complexity and variety of the subtle flavours used. Loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very cozy place in the nicest area of dam. Very good service. Very expensive, but as to be expected from bit more upscale Viet restaurant.
But the food simply didn't cut it. I've had Vietnamese food in Gothenburg, Berlin, KL, CPH, Shanghai, Melbourne and lots of other places and I think that this place is taste wise at the bottom end. The "Pho" had cheap cuts of meat and the noodle salad didn't have enough ingredients in them (no carrots etc), it was just too basic for the price asked. We spent about 120 EUR for 2 adults (Pho and meat on skewers with noodles) and 2 kids (shared one portion of curry), 2 vietnamese Mohitos (skip them, the viet booze tastes rubbish), 4 cokes and 2 kids Mohitos (no alcohol). We also had 2 portions of Nem (spring rolls) and a portion of a mango salad as starters. The food was ok, but still we were a bit disappointed, Vietnamese food being both me and my wife's favorite cousine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still tasty! Glad I came back for more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited Xinh shortly after its opening and it was great.
This time I was in Amsterdam with my mother. She likes to try new things but she isn't super adventuous when it comes to food.
But she loved Xinh. I'm so glad we went everything was yummy!
We had the lumpia I had the veggie and she had the chicken and shrimp. Then we shared the crepe... SO GOOD!
We left feeling satisfied and not stuffed. Everything tasted so fresh and flavorful.
The wine was good too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xinh also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xinh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.