We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still tasty! Glad I came back for more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xinh - CLOSED

Xinh
Elandsgracht 2, 1016 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 (0)20 62 403 08
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $44
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Still tasty! Glad I came back for more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I visited Xinh shortly after its opening and it was great.
This time I was in Amsterdam with my mother. She likes to try new things but she isn't super adventuous when it comes to food.
But she loved Xinh. I'm so glad we went everything was yummy!
We had the lumpia I had the veggie and she had the chicken and shrimp. Then we shared the crepe... SO GOOD!
We left feeling satisfied and not stuffed. Everything tasted so fresh and flavorful.
The wine was good too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidihoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Loved this place! My husband convinced me to go here, and boy, was I glad he did. I'm from Vietnam and grew up in California. I've spent a LOT of time in New York, London and Paris, and I have to say that Xinh may be the best, most authentic Vietnamese restaurant outside of California (and Vietnam, of course). The pho is excellent. Actually, we went twice and ordered quite a few things from the menu. Everything was excellent and fresh. The menu is rather limited, but I'd rather have that than a lengthy menu with mediocre dishes. The service is also very good, as is the decor. It is a bit pricey, unfortunately. But otherwise, it's fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our dinner was perfect
Very delicious meals
Very friendly service

Don't wanna miss the restaurant next time in Amsterdam

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yul96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great place right in the center (next to Prinsengracht) with a chilled out atmosphere and delicious food. We had fresh spring rolls and a big pot of soup with beef, noodles and lots of coriander and spice. My friend had the 'dancing beef' which was delicious too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Immsti80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Despite reading many positive reviews, our visit to Xinh was disappointing. Dishes were thrown together with sloppy noodles... service was just "ok" (a common thing in Amsterdam) and prices were high for the quality of the food. Decor is too much. Was hoping for solid pho but this was just ok..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pookas_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xinh also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing