We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still tasty! Glad I came back for more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xinh - CLOSED

Xinh
Elandsgracht 2, 1016 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 62 403 08
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $44
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Still tasty! Glad I came back for more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited Xinh shortly after its opening and it was great.
This time I was in Amsterdam with my mother. She likes to try new things but she isn't super adventuous when it comes to food.
But she loved Xinh. I'm so glad we went everything was yummy!
We had the lumpia I had the veggie and she had the chicken and shrimp. Then we shared the crepe... SO GOOD!
We left feeling satisfied and not stuffed. Everything tasted so fresh and flavorful.
The wine was good too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Loved this place! My husband convinced me to go here, and boy, was I glad he did. I'm from Vietnam and grew up in California. I've spent a LOT of time in New York, London and Paris, and I have to say that Xinh may be the best, most authentic Vietnamese restaurant outside of California (and Vietnam, of course). The pho is excellent. Actually, we went twice and ordered quite a few things from the menu. Everything was excellent and fresh. The menu is rather limited, but I'd rather have that than a lengthy menu with mediocre dishes. The service is also very good, as is the decor. It is a bit pricey, unfortunately. But otherwise, it's fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner was perfect
Very delicious meals
Very friendly service

Don't wanna miss the restaurant next time in Amsterdam

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great place right in the center (next to Prinsengracht) with a chilled out atmosphere and delicious food. We had fresh spring rolls and a big pot of soup with beef, noodles and lots of coriander and spice. My friend had the 'dancing beef' which was delicious too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Despite reading many positive reviews, our visit to Xinh was disappointing. Dishes were thrown together with sloppy noodles... service was just "ok" (a common thing in Amsterdam) and prices were high for the quality of the food. Decor is too much. Was hoping for solid pho but this was just ok..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xinh also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xinh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.