We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xinh - CLOSED

Xinh
Elandsgracht 2, 1016 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 62 403 08
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $44
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I got infatuated with Vietnamese food when we visited Vietnam four months ago so when we visited Amsterdam we had high expectations from Xinh Restaurant. And these expectations were met to the point. The pho bo was excellent, the banh xeo crisp and tasteful, the spring rolls crispy and delicious wrapped in the fresh lettuce and the chilli sauce sublime. Another surprise was the quality of the fresh vegetables as european vegies are somewhat different from the vietnamese ones. From the main courses the lemongrass chicken was exquisite as well as the caramel sliced pork. And for dessert the banana coconut pudding was divine. Make sure you reserve ahead as it gets crowded from very early. The service is prompt and very friendly. Lynn, the ownder is a great host!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good Vietnamese, with the most outstanding pho bo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My friends in Amsterdam took me to this place for eating pho bo (2 months ago). Xinh is a small and trendy restaurant with amazing food. Im vietnamese myself, travel and eating lots of Vietnamese food around the world, but impressed with the rich flavours that its chef creates in this food. Normally just eating vietnamese food, not expecting that much. But this restaurant makes me want to eat everything! We started with a mix of appetizers and the carpaccio and shrimp salad stands out! The taste soo vietnamese and beautiful presented in cocktailglasses. Never seen this sort of presentation with vnfood. Then up to the famous crepe (banh xeo) and pho bo. Both, outstanding! Rich, cinnamon, ginger flavour in the soup, warm, dark and tender beef and fresh cilantro, exciting & the best I've eaten! (most expensive 2, but it was def worth) Service was nice and friendly.
I never write reviews, but as a vietnamese very proud of this restaurant presenting the real deal and must be shared with everybody who loves Vietnamese food! Really really well done!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We booked a table late on Friday night
The food is fantastic - we actually got the wrong order given to us by mistake so we ended up eating a dish I would proberly never had ordered for myself usually.
But we are pleased the mix up happened as the food was lovely - very fresh and the young guy who was serving us was very polite and helpful.
We would recommend this to anyone looking for great asian food in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Excelent experience at Xinh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My girlfriend and me went to xinh at our first night out in Amsterdam. After a beer at the bar on the other side of the street, which we do suggest, we reached xinh. The location is fine even if a bit tight. We had spring roll and shrimp salad as appetizers and pho bo and lemongrass chicken, really delicious, as main courses. Food was high quality and service very kind. We do recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals during our EU trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Wife and I were on a 2 week EU trip and visited Barcelona, Paris, Brussels and Amsterdam. Amsterdam was our last destination and after having some superb food in the places we had been before, we honestly weren't expecting much, and we were wrong! After an evening stroll in Central Amsterdam we went to Xinh on our first night, the place has great ambiance. We had a sampling appetizers and loved everything so much that we can back on the last day of our trip and had Pho Ga and a few Shrimp Entrees. Again, we were blown away by the delicacy, presentation and the taste of the food. We are from NYC and love food, and this was one of the best we had during our two week long EY trip. Highly recommend if you are looking for a wonderful meal in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xinh also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xinh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.