We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens to your Saves list
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very helpful for us n guiding us for the whole journey in Amsterdam!
And also the breakfast is so delicious esp for this Easter decoration little chick !

Feel so warm to stay there!
Will be there again if we plan our next trip in Amsterdam!

Many thanks!

Room Tip: Very helpful n warm to stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
77
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Prince Henry for a week last August while she was getting settled in to a graduate program at UvA. The experience was all we could have asked for -- and more. From the gracious and helpful welcome from Joop, the spacious and comfortable accommodations (we stayed on the 1st floor and had a lovely private fenced in garden), the delicious breakfasts (made to order and delivered to our room at the time we prescribed), the convenient, peaceful location and the evening snacks (declicious) - it was all lovely. Petra and Joop were very helpful in giving us advice on where to dine, shop, call a taxi and catch public transportation (a short walk from the B&B). Petra even packed me a delicious "take-away" breakfast for my very early morning plane back to the U.S.. I would recommend them highly to anyone -- especially if this is your first stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We loved the first floor room with the private garden -- it gave us extra space and a "green&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cph
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I write this review on the iPad that I forgot in the hotel last week.

My family had a very nice stay at the Prince Henry hotel.

We were welcomed by the hostess who introduced us to an nice apartment fully equipped with kitchen, dining room, bedroom, bathroom etc.

The standard was very high. Breakfast was served right on time and was delicious.

The hotel is located just 10 minutes from the city.

There is no reception in this hotel, but simply a number of nice apartments.

There is a fully equipped minibar.

And they returned my iPad :)

I believe this hotel qualifies as one of my best experiences regarding hotels.

I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a great stay in Prince Henry Suites in the Vondelspark area of Amsterdam which offered a fabulous environment moments from the city centre's hustle and bustle.

The location, hospitality and quality of accommodation were excellent and offered so much more than a chain hotel possibly could.

We had to cut our stay a by one night at short notice and were even consoled with a delicious breakfast courtesy of Joop & Petra. This was much appreciated and well received!

We hope to return in the near future and will stay here again & shall definitely recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Petra and Joop will contribute to making your stay in Amsterdam unforgetable.
I have been a few times; The level of service and the quality of the rooms are outsdanding.
The breakfast is really one of the best I had.
I am sure you will love the Private suites an Gardens!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband surprised me with a two night stay at Prince Henry on the occasion of my birthday. We stayed in the executive suite. The room was spacious, cosy and comfortable. Since we were staying in december the fire place was a nice extra. The bathroom was well equiped, clean and well maintained.
The location is convenient for visiting the Rijksmuseum and Het Stedelijk. The tram stop is close by for further destinations. At night we chose from one of the restaurant recommendations by our hosts and were pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast is an excellent choice of small rolls, pastry, cheese, meat, jams, boiled eggs and more. There is no breakfast room, breakfast is placed outside your door at the requested time. This is convenient, the only disadvantage is that one must make their own coffee and tea.

We had a great time at Prince Henry and would reccomend this place to anyone looking for luxury and quiet in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendriklaan, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
We are, of course, very happy with the review of Carla S. and would like to thank her for her contribution. It is very much appreciated. There are two points, however, where I would like to clarify in order to prevent misunderstandings:
The suite that has the open fireplace is called the Superior Suite.
(The executive Suite has its own Garden). The reason why we let people make their own coffee has to do with the quality. If guests decide to lie in a little bit (it happens) the coffee will not be as good. However, if a guest would like us to make the coffee together with the breakfast that would be perfectly fine with us.
Joop Klinkhamer, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

As mature travelers, comfort and convenience are key. This property is perfectly located just minutes by Tram from the city, but far enough away for complete tranquility. The room was spacious and quite comfortable; such a loving and peaceful evironment, that by our second day, we felt a spiritual connection with this beautiful home. The owners, Petra and Joop, are very personable and available when needed. They provide fresh fruits, assorted beverages and fresh baked goods daily. There are wonderful shops and restaurants within walking distance. We experienced an excellent shop that made instore chocolates (the chocolates are incredibly delicious) and next door a wine store, where we were able to purchase, from both, gifts for family. When we return to Amsterdam we definitely will have Prince Henry Private Suites and Gardens listed as our number one choice for lodging.
Veronica and Leonard

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.