We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Save Saved
You added Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ridiculously Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am writing this review over a year after our trip. I promised the owners that I would write a review when we got home and, though I've meant to... let's just say that I usually follow through with my promises EVENTUALLY... so for that let me apologize to the owners. My sister and I had not been on a trip together since we are kids (we are upper middle aged lol) and we planned what you might call a 60's retro-trip to Amsterdam.

After reading reviews online I selected the Prince Henry. Most people were raving about their stay there and I decided to book it. I don't know what the suite was called (like I said, upper middle age) but we stayed in the suite downstairs back suite which had a private patio, which was a beautiful setting to have breakfast in each morning... and what a great breakfast they serve!

All I can say is this B&B is fantastic... for the price... ridiculously fantastic! Highly recommended and hope that if you're planning a trip to Amsterdam you consider the Prince Henry.

Lee R... New York

Room Tip: As I said, the back room with the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
68
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the smallest room, which was actually very spacious. We arrived on an early morning flight, but checking in was no problem. Great bed and pillows and a superb bathroom. Unfortunately we were too busy to join the owners for their daily cocktails, and neither did we have time for the home made breakfast, which we heard is fantastic.

We shall be back !

Barbara & Alex

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the superior suite for two nights. The room is spacious, very we'll decorated, nice view and very cozy. Really good bathroom. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is calm and quiet but close to public transportation and famous museums. Breakfast is excellent! The owners are very nice and provide an overall excellent service. I will, for sure, stay again in this hotel next time in Amsterdam. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very cute and romantic hotel. Located in a quiet area of ​​the old city. Near tram and urban taxi services. Very friendly staff and great service. I recommend. ********************************************************************

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Prince Henry scores highly on TA and it is wholly deserved. This is a fantastic B&B in a lovely part of Amsterdam. Easy walking distance to the centre and in a lovely local neighbourhood with fantastic restaurants and bars within a 5min walk.

We spent 2 nights in the lovely top floor studio. Breakfast was great and we loved the flexibility of having breakfast left so that you can eat in your room at leisure. The free drinks and snacks are a lovely addition. The welcome pack provided in the studio has lots of helpful recommendations for local restaurants.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a 1st class place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed in Prince Henry for a week and it's been wonderful. The room (Superior Apartment Suite) is beautifully decorated. Added bonus is it has a fully equipped kitchen. Prince Henry situated in a neighborhood where park and museums are within walking distance or just 10 minutes by tram. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and gave us practical travel tips. I'm traveling with my wife and 10-year-old and enjoyed a very comfortable trip in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Prince Henry was referred to me by two trusted friends, and it is easy to see why. The Prince Henry is an old brownstone in a refined part of Amsterdam (think: Upper East Side of Manhattan). The location is steps from the tram, and walking distance from good food, shops, and the major museums. The owners - Petra and Joop - are lovely people who live on the top floor of the property, and take great pride in building, as it is their home as well as their business. They are cordial, helpful but non-intrusive, and maintain and spotless environment. I would definitely stay here again.

Hint - travel off-season! Shorter lines, more peaceful experience. But bring a warm raincoat with a hood!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.