We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Save Saved
You added Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights recently with my girlfriend, having never been to Amsterdam, neither of us had any expectations and we were a little bit apprehensive about the journey into the centre of town, but after a day we realised we didn't need to be. The walk into town was pleasant and helps you get to grips with Amsterdam's grid system and negotiate the canals. You can also get a number 2 tram which stops very close to the house and takes you right to Central Station.

Finding the house was easy due to Petra's extensive instructions via email, and when we arrived we were allowed to leave our luggage in the room even though we were early for check in. Greeted by Marta, the sleeping arrangements were handled very well. Upon seeing that we were indeed both women, she asked if the bed was okay as it was, because she could make it up to a twin, but we said it was fine as it was, and she then showed us what we would expect from breakfast etc. So this guest house is gay friendly! The room itself is beautiful. We stayed in the Superior Suite, with the large painting. Bed is really comfortable, and there's a coffee maker and kettle in the cupboard. The only thing I'd say about this was that there was no English breakfast tea in the selection of teas, so I only had to go and ask for some and was given them.

Bathroom is modern and clean, just be careful not the flood the bathroom when you shower as there's no curtain or door. Breakfast is great, a good selections of little bits and pieces to set you up for the day. And happy hour with drinks and snacks is available in the evening and cold canned drinks and bottled water on supply is really handy.

If in doubt when looking to book this hotel, I don't know why you would. The only thing for us was the distance out of the centre, but to be honest, I think I'd prefer to stay out of central because it's so much quieter, and you get to see another side of Amsterdam. Would definitely come back as we didn't see nearly as much as we wanted to! And would love to be able to stay at The Prince Henry again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKlinkhamer_08, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks very much for this wonderful review! There is now a shower curtain, so that problem has been taken care of. We always have milk available for guests who drink their tea with milk and we have instructed our chamber lady to to take care of the English tea.
Best regards,

Joop & Petra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
70
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Most of the visits I've made to amsterdam have been on business, and I have typically stayed in the traditional 'commercial hotels' of which Amsterdam has many.....On out most recent visit to see a family member, we discovered the Prince Henry Suites, brilliantly located next to the beautiful Vondel Park.

The individual suites have lots of room, with excellent modern bath and shower rooms, and our room had a nice view of the tree-lined gardens below. Our suite also had a fully-equipped kitchen, which we would have gladly used on a longer stay. In our case, the breakfast provided by our hosts was terrific, with a good selection of croissants, vienoiserie, fresh orange juice, etc.


One key feature of the Prince Henry's location is the proximity to a number of truly first-class restaurants no more than a five-minute walk away. These include an Italian, where the owner is often in the kitchen himself and one of the best Indonesian restaurants in all of Amsterdam, and ourvhosts were great at giving us ideal recommendations.

On a business or pleasure visit to Amsterdam, you won't do better than trying the Prince Henry Suites!!!

Room Tip: Our room Number Three on the back of the building was terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendriklaan, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are very grateful to our guest for this review, obviously, and that he has taken the time to write it.
It is fortunate that, since a number of years, we have a 'restaurant road' nearby (Amstelveense weg) which also lines up with the beginning of the famous 'Vondelpark'. Not only are there many excellent restaurants (one with a former two starred chef, Ron Blauw and an excellent Oriental restaurant, (Oriental 128) but prices are reasonable since that part of town is residential rather than touristic. However, we are also within walking distance of the museums and the 'Concertgebouw'.

Joop Klinkhamer Petra van Niftrik
owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There is so much attention to detail and love in everything about Prince Henry. Rooms are unique in character, lots of space and full of all necessities and comfort. The house is charming as is the neighborhood. Petra, Joop and Magda are remarkable and they made my stay absolute joy. I look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I think you get the picture by now, but it really is a lovely retreat. Beautiful large room, comfortable bed, large bathroom, tea, coffee maker and a biscuit barrel which went down a treat! A table in the window to enjoy the varied breakfast, delivered to the door when requested. Located in a quiet residential area right next to vondelpark but close enough to all the action should you require. Petra and Joop were away for the weekend we were there, but made a point of giving us the low down on the accommodation before they left. There were also hand written tips in the room on nearby attractions, we tried one of the restaurants, the Indonesian, which was delicious. There are plenty to try within walking distance and a tram stop at the top of the road. You won't go wrong giving this a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I needed a quite and comfortable place to sit down and get some work down, but I didnt want to stay in a typical hotel room so the Prince Henry was the perfect choice! I stayed for two days in the Loft, which has a friendly and welcoming ambient with plenty of day light coming in. The 'Hotel' is in close proximity to a park so after a couple of hours on the laptop thats the right place to go to take in some fresh air.

Next time I am in Amsterdam the Pronce Henry will be my choice again regardless if on Business or on a privat trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 2 small children aged 8 and 2 years old. The room was large than expected, and nicely decorated . Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was large with separate shower and bath areas. The room was quiet with double glazed windows. The coffee bar, biscuits and refreshments fridge were nice touches. Soft drinks and beer replenished daily! Close to good restaurants and cafes. Nearest tram stop to city is very close by. Petra and Joop were excellent hosts, polite and helpful. Breakfast very nice with nice touches for the children. We are most likely coming back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was a guest for one week. The room was larger than expected, very high ceilings and very clean, with large windows that let in plenty of light. Quality of furnishings was very good & mixed nicely with the period of the building . Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was of a very high standard, the heated towel racks were a nice touch. Fireplace that worked, complete with cut wood, kindling and fire starters. Fire was not needed, it was an unseasonably cold week in May, but the room was not cold, with double glazed windows, and internal heating. The coffee bar, biscuits and refreshments fridge was another unexpected extra. 5 -10 minutes walk to a range of good restaurants and cafes, also bakeries and take away shops, wine store and small but well stocked supermarket. Nearest tram stop to city 5 minutes walk away. Petra and Joop were excellent hosts, being well organised and efficient as well as being very friendly and obliging. Breakfast very nourishing and very filling and always ready at the requested time. The street and building were very quiet, no traffic or other intrusive noises. This is somewhere I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.