We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Save Saved
You added Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Amman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There is so much attention to detail and love in everything about Prince Henry. Rooms are unique in character, lots of space and full of all necessities and comfort. The house is charming as is the neighborhood. Petra, Joop and Magda are remarkable and they made my stay absolute joy. I look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
71
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I think you get the picture by now, but it really is a lovely retreat. Beautiful large room, comfortable bed, large bathroom, tea, coffee maker and a biscuit barrel which went down a treat! A table in the window to enjoy the varied breakfast, delivered to the door when requested. Located in a quiet residential area right next to vondelpark but close enough to all the action should you require. Petra and Joop were away for the weekend we were there, but made a point of giving us the low down on the accommodation before they left. There were also hand written tips in the room on nearby attractions, we tried one of the restaurants, the Indonesian, which was delicious. There are plenty to try within walking distance and a tram stop at the top of the road. You won't go wrong giving this a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I needed a quite and comfortable place to sit down and get some work down, but I didnt want to stay in a typical hotel room so the Prince Henry was the perfect choice! I stayed for two days in the Loft, which has a friendly and welcoming ambient with plenty of day light coming in. The 'Hotel' is in close proximity to a park so after a couple of hours on the laptop thats the right place to go to take in some fresh air.

Next time I am in Amsterdam the Pronce Henry will be my choice again regardless if on Business or on a privat trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 2 small children aged 8 and 2 years old. The room was large than expected, and nicely decorated . Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was large with separate shower and bath areas. The room was quiet with double glazed windows. The coffee bar, biscuits and refreshments fridge were nice touches. Soft drinks and beer replenished daily! Close to good restaurants and cafes. Nearest tram stop to city is very close by. Petra and Joop were excellent hosts, polite and helpful. Breakfast very nice with nice touches for the children. We are most likely coming back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was a guest for one week. The room was larger than expected, very high ceilings and very clean, with large windows that let in plenty of light. Quality of furnishings was very good & mixed nicely with the period of the building . Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was of a very high standard, the heated towel racks were a nice touch. Fireplace that worked, complete with cut wood, kindling and fire starters. Fire was not needed, it was an unseasonably cold week in May, but the room was not cold, with double glazed windows, and internal heating. The coffee bar, biscuits and refreshments fridge was another unexpected extra. 5 -10 minutes walk to a range of good restaurants and cafes, also bakeries and take away shops, wine store and small but well stocked supermarket. Nearest tram stop to city 5 minutes walk away. Petra and Joop were excellent hosts, being well organised and efficient as well as being very friendly and obliging. Breakfast very nourishing and very filling and always ready at the requested time. The street and building were very quiet, no traffic or other intrusive noises. This is somewhere I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming innkeeper to a beautiful and spacious room. After two weeks of lukewarm showers in Europe, I was treated to a real HOT shower. Knowing we had an early flight, our innkeeper made sure we had a sumptuous and extra early breakfast, while arranging our cab for us. As an innkeeper myself, I have high standards and they were exceeded at the Prince Henry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKlinkhamer_08, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I have always wondered how those big hotels managed to have hot water for all their guests!
Now I know the answer: they don't! We have split up our hot water installation and heating system to ensure they can handle the demand, since a lot of people want a shower at the same time. Many, many thanks for the big compliments!
Joop & Petra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Upon choosing the place I was startled by the amount of "good" to "excellent" reviews it got on Tripadvisor. After experiencing it, I confirm they were all right: excellent location (nice street, close to the park, close to a tram station connecting the place to center in 5 min), beautiful and spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, and very very friendly owners.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.