We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay with young kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Save Saved
You added Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A lovely stay with young kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The loveliness of our visit to Prince Henry began well before we arrived.

Upon completion of our reservation we received a personal email asking about any dietary needs our young daughters might have and whether they would prefer to share a single duvet or have their own blankets on the pull out couch they would be sharing. Throughout the exchange our host made clear to us that our stay with them was important and that our needs would be catered to. And upon arrival they were.

We enjoyed a ground level suite with access to the back garden. It was perfect for our needs and we enjoyed our breakfast each day under the lovely weather and among the hydrangeas. It could not have been nicer.

Our room was spacious, clean and nicely if simply detailed. We enjoyed the art displayed and were pleased by the grandeur of the bathroom. We enjoyed using the in room coffee machine and all enjoyed very restful sleep.

Prince Henry is just around the corner from Vondel Park, which made morning runs and playground visits easy to accommodate. The neighborhood is quiet and residential but everything is close as the tram system is only a few blocks away.

If Prince Henry has room for you I would highly recommend a stay during your next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
68
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed only for a night this past weekend but it was perfect for our wedding anniversary. The Superior Suite is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Joop welcomed us warmly and we were able to check-in 2 hours earlier which was great as we had all the afternoon to explore the city. The Prince Henry is on a quiet street in a classy neighborhood with beautiful mansions and it's right next to Vondel park and 30 minutes walk from the city center.

Breakfast was delicious and our host was most accommodating taking the time to chat and get to know us despite our very short stay.

I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed her for two nights as we did a quick trip to Amsterdam, Barcelona and Milan. We stayed in the first floor unit overlooking a small garden with grand big windows and high ceilings. The neighborhood is quiet and coming in feels like home rather than a hotel. The breakfast was quite good. The bath had a nice tub to soak in after a long day of walking with a separate shower as well. A couple of blocks from a bakery and pub along with a grand park with walking and biking paths. When we departed, my sister forgot her purse in the unit. We looked for someone on site to no avail. I pushed her up to the window ledge and she climbed in to get her purse which added to our adventure. Unfortunately my camera was in her bag. Not a place for needy visitors but a fantastic location and comfortable. Very pleasant stay. Thank you,
Kate and Chris

Room Tip: Make sure you have what you need when you check in given you may not be able to find anyone during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendriklaan, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
First we want to thank these guests for their kind review. We also would like to react to their comments, since we continuously try to improve. As a B&B owner it is not always easy to be present, having to do shopping as well. If at all possible we try to say goodbye to our guests and this succeeds nine times out of ten. We also store luggage for our guests which limits our time frame for not being on the premises. However, for some time now, we also have a courtesy telephone so that guests can order a cab, book a restaurant, but also press a button with our names on it so that we can assist them where needed. On the other hand, if you have locked yourself out, this is not going to help but we do have visiting cards with our mobile number on it which is also on our website. And there are codes so that we do not have to be physically present to make access possible.
With regard to the opened window I would like to congratulate our guests on their athletic prowess. Of course we always warn guests not to leave the window open when they leave the house, that is their responsibility, but in this case it turned out a blessing in disguise for them. There is also a window that opens from the top and which can be left open permanently to take in fresh air.
At noon we will do the rooms and after the guest has left with his/her luggage the risk of this possible 'window of opportunity' for a criminal, should the window not have been closed by the guest, rests with us. So far we have not experienced any problems, ours is a very safe neighborhood, but in a busy city it pays to be careful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We just finished staying at this place and for the Money it was a pretty good deal. I would e mail Petra before arrival for tram instructions. It is quite easy if you have them and difficult if you don't. Most folks will not have heard of the street or the Hotel.

This is about 12 stops from the central station on the tram bit only about a two minute walk. This place has no lift so get the ground floor if you don't want to climb stairs. The walls are a little thin but the rooms are very large and the bathrooms are updated.

The breakfast was extraordinary! OJ, Egg, Ham, Cheese, croissant and fruit with yoghurt! The neighborhood is generally quiet but of course you could get the occasional rowdy group going down the street.

Nice place, not the Waldorf, but at this price very nice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a GEM! My wife and I needed an extra night stay in Amsterdam after I forget to book the 5th night and luckily found this villa.
The suite was BREATHTAKING! Wonderful floor to ceiling windows that fully open up to a courtyard allowing the breeze into your MASSIVE bedroom. The kitchen is fully stocked and the best breakfast served to your door in the morning is worth staying in for!
Wonderful bathroom with double sinks and imaculate housekeeping.
The price might scare you but honestly this hotel/inn is worth every penny after staying in other hotels in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Pick any room..they are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I kind of hate to write this because it will make the Prince Henry even more popular and I'll have trouble booking it on my next trip. That said, I must say that it is a wonderful place in a great location and I will always try to stay there whenever I am in Amsterdam. Jope and Petra were out of town when I was there, so everything was handled by Thomas and Marie. They were great substitutes and I appreciated all they did. You cannot miss if you book your stay here.

Room Tip: I was in the 1st floor room. A small patio is located outside where anyone who smokes could go to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendriklaan, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Needless to say we are very, very happy with this very kind review. It made us realize, however, that we should tell our guests they can have a cd player or i-pod station on demand. The reason why we removed them and the description of them on the internet, is that some guests played music so loud that our neighbors, with whom we are good friends, complained about the noise. So you only have to ask but also to use these machines with discretion, thinking about the other guests as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.