We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is it !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens to your Saves list
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

For our eighth visit to Amsterdam we finally found a perfect place. A delicious breakfast dragged us out the very comfortable bed. The bathroom has the air of a Roman bath house.
Our day was already perfect.
To get to the city centre, you can choose to walk in the Vondelpark or take the tram nearby.
There are also excellent restaurants in the neighbourhood.
The host Joop and Petra showed the house and invited us for an appetizer in their apartment.
They are very friendly and helpful.
We parked our car in the park and ride "Olympisch Stadion". It's in walking distance.
The only bad thing to say is that we had to leave after 2 nights to go back home.
It's an excellent b&b.
Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
77
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middelburg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

It was truly a delightful experience, staying at Prince Henry. We have stayed in many good B&B's, but this is one of our top recommendations. A quiet, good and strategic location, near the famous Vondelpark. The Executive Garden Suite was very elegant in a comfortable, classic style. Anything you would desire, was offered by its generous owners! Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Me and my wife stayed here in Dec 2011 for 2 nights. We wanted something that would give us a feel of Amsterdam, yet clean and comfortable. Every detail of Prince Henry was well thought of. Breakfast was generous. The place has a touch of class with culture.

The host Joop, Petra and their dog were very friendly and helpful.

We loved Prince Henry very much and would stay here if we were to returned to Amsterdam.

The trade off for this lovely place is the distance from the city Central. Its a good 15 minutes walk to museums. Nonetheless, there is a #2 tram nearby and Taxi is not too expensive from the Airport.

Overall, a wonderful and lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We (parents and two teenagers) stayed at Prince Henry two days in december. Prince Henry Suites and Gardens is located in the most prestigious area of Amsterdam next to the Vondelpark with all kinds of trendy shops and excellent restaurants at close distance. The important musea are also within walking distance as is the old city centre. It is also very easy to take a street car. In front of the beautifull building of Prince Henry it is easy to find a safe parking space for your car. Reception was very friendly and we rented both suites on the ground floor. The suites are nicely furnished with excellent beds and everything you need, privacy and quiet. The bathrooms are gorgeous and in spring, summer and fall it must be great to enjoy the gardens of the two suites.
Breakfast was delicious and atractively presented. You have the feeling of having your own apartment in Amsterdam. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is a very good place to stay in Amsterdam, good location, comfortable, clean, tasty breakfast and very helpfull host. We highly recommend Preince Henry Private Suites and the Loft

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Fellow North Americans, forget your preconceived ideas about B&B's.
My partner and I spent 6 days in Amsterdam in September. I could not esily find a hotel online as there was a major conference in the city. Those available had very small rooms and many rated poorly in terms of street noise.
On a whim, I looked at B&B's and booked Prince Henry for the 6 nights. We were prepared for the gap between online photos and reality. But photos could not capture the serene, spacious, high-ceilinged rooms with the light filtering through the sheers. Our space in this early 1900's building had all the comforts yet was so cosmopolitan.
The breakfasts, which were placed on a shelf outside our door at a prearranged time, were scrumptious and prepared by our hostess, Petra, who has earned a name for herself in culinary circles. Also, we had the use of a kitchen down a short hall.
Joop, our inimitable host, was so willing to entertain all our questions. Form our location we could walk or tram to the attractions, or shop and stroll in the charming neighbourhood.

Thanks Petra and Joop!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The location? The atmosphere? The wonderful couple that run it and that show real warmth when you allow them to, yet keep their distance if needed? Located in one of the real upmarket neighbourhoods in the city, it is very close to both tram and park (ideal for a stroll or a morning run!), but also well located for exploration by bike or scooter. The room I had at ground floor was spacious, very well designed and had real character. The breakfast was fantastic, as was the espresso machine in the room. With better weather, the private terrace in front of the room would have been a real benefit. Petra and Joop, it has been a great pleasure and, hopefully, you'll see me back soon!

Room Tip: Ground floor, although still requiring you to negotiate a few steps, is ideal if you have lots of lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.