We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Peaceful Treetop Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens to your Saves list
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming and Peaceful Treetop Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

As I understand it, I was the first guest to be welcomed into the Loft, Prince Henry's newest offering. After four days, I did not want to leave! The space is airy and high-ceilinged, with a gorgeous antique armoire, tall windows overlooking the trees and elegant, surrounding neighborhood, large skylight, private shower/sink, and separate kitchenette (with fridge and Dolce Gusto machine)--especially appreciated, since I did not want to be eating out every day of my sojourn. (Also, since it was raining almost the whole time, I did not miss the pleasures of the gardens attached to the more expensive suites below!) As others have noted, the Vondelpark is a stone's throw away, and great for strolling in no matter the weather. Breakfasts were invariably delicious. And let me second (or twenty-second!) what others have also written about Petra and Joop, Prince Henry's owners: they are delightful people--as present as you could wish, generous-hearted and helpful but never intrusive. Come and see for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
73
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

A friend had recommended the Prince Henry as a wonderful place to stay and she was absolutely right! I was in Amsterdam (wih my six year old son) for a family reunion and we spent two busy days in town, finding peace and quiet at the end of the day in our suite. The weather was surprisingly good so we could use the garden to have a simple meal at the end of the day. The adjacent kitchen allowed me to heat up a pasta dish that I had bought in a nearby shop (and I had a glass of cold white wine with it, delicious!). The bathroom was amazing ... spacious and luxurious, and the tub was practically a swimmingpool for my son (who - after dinner and bath - slept like a log on a comfortable sofa bed).
Breakfast was a treat in itself, with fresh fruits, rolls, eggs, homemade pastries, fresh juice and some extra's for my son.
Definitely a place I would recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam (oh and I almost forgot to mention the Vondelpark, which is at walking distance and a great place for kids, it also allows you to take a walk into town in a relaxed way)!

Room Tip: The room at the back of the house has access to a lovely garden, and the bathroom is top of the bill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was one of the best boutique hotels I've stayed in. The owners are welcoming and hospitable. The room with its terrace garden provides privacy and peacefulness. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent two days in mid-August and had a fabulous time. After spending hours on the internet trying to find a quiet hotel in Amsterdam I found the Prince Henry. It is located next to Vondelpark in a quiet residential neighborhood. If you walk in to town it is a nice short walk through the park. If you want to take the street car or bus it is only a block or two away.

The suite is beyond large when it comes to European hotel rooms. The bathroom is well oversized with the deepest soaking tub I have seen and a walk-in shower. There is a large garden with seating outside the room through French doors. The breakfast is ready at whatever time you request and was always fresh and delicious with homemade pastries, fresh eggs, yogurt, juice and much more. And you can help yourself to anything in kitchen during your stay.

The hosts were wonderful with helpful suggestions of sights to see and how to get around town.

If you are planning a vacation in Amsterdam this is the best place to stay if you are looking for some peace and quiet in a great neighborhood with good restaurants, beautiful park, easy access to everything and nice hosts. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

It's quite nice but you are only allowed to smoke cigarettes in the garden... Which seems pointless in amsterdam. The breakfast is a bit rubbish, the coffee machine is nescafe and the iPod dock doesn't fit an iPhone 4.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendriklaan, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Our first bad review, quite a blow! (No pun intended). Let me refute opinion with fact. We are, as far as I know, the only establishment in Amsterdam that gives guests a private garden/patio where they may smoke. However, it turns out that these guests wanted to smoke marihuana in our garden (on rereading their review with Amsterdam....in the text this becomes clear. We do not allow that and told them so, having received a complaint from the neighbours the first time this happened. As for the 'rubbish' breakfast: it is included and consists of freshly baked off croissants and rolls, home made jams and top quality ham and cheese. Apart from that, fresh fruits and yoghurt. As for the the 'Nescafé'. This is not coffee in a tin, but a dolce gusto Espresso machine with free espresso and capucino. However: if this review serves as a detriment to those who want to come and smoke pot or weed or whatever illegal substance in our garden, we are quite happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a great accomodation in a superb area.The host was kind ennough to indicate us great restaurants around and we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam very much despite poor weather.
The accomodation is very spacious and very modern .The bathroom is superb.All the accomodation looks to have been refurbished recentlyThere is also a large terrace garden, in a a very nice leafy environment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Prince henry apartments were exactly how they were described. They are situated in a beautiful part of the city and we enjoyed the close proximity to Vondelpark. The trip was very relaxing, this was helped by Petra being available to help us with useful information about transportation around the city, telling us the best places to eat and booking us the excursions we wanted to do. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room Tip: It was Lovely having the garden apartment and having the ability to relax and eat outside if we want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;