We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of de Struisvogel

de Struisvogel
Keizergracht 312, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
00310204233817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 2,497 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tiny restaurant full of great food. The ambiance is warm and inviting and the food is great. A mix of locals and visitors in a communal setting. A definite must try. Make a reservation!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    82
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“i love this place. it's so cozy, friendly and has really nice lamb stew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we were hungry and this place was just there so we went in without knowing anything about it. it was 10pm and we were the only table. the waitress was super friendly and recommended our dinner. the food was really really nice, esp the lamb stew.
the decor was simple, but there's sthg warm, cozy and charming about this place, even if it's underground and all. i would definitely go back again and again, if only i can find it again. love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dine like a Dutch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We walked by and nearly missed this cozy underground restaurant on prinsengracht. It was intriguing enough to walk down the steep staircase and check it out. They offer a 3 course menu for €25 which I found to be creative and well worth the price. The server checked on us after each course and had a cheerful personality even after Alice spilled her drink on the poor lady. This is great service in my book. I don't often return to the same restaurant twice but I think we'll be back here

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful restaurant !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

You have no choice but to take the three courses menu (25€), but it is REALLY worth it !! The menu changes every 6 months, more or less

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A party of 4 of us ate here from the 25 euro 3 course menu. Starters of soup, carpaccio beef and a potato salad served with mackerel were all excellent. Mains - lamb stew and saffron and white wine risotto were also good. Creamed Caramel desserts were a disppointment - too sweet and an odd texture but would not stop us going back. Staff were courteous and the. Atmosphere was pleasant - a good evening out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Struisvogel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to de Struisvogel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Struisvogel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.