We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of de Struisvogel

de Struisvogel
Keizergracht 312, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
00310204233817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 2,542 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Decent food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this restaurant looking for something to eat for dinner. The only meal option is the ?25 set 3 course meal.

As it was already pretty late, we decided to share a set. We ordered the veal tongue for entree, lamb stew for main and apple crumble for dessert.

We wanted tab water as we didn't felt like having any alcoholic beverages but the waitress said she cannot serve tab water without us ordering something else to drink so we had to order still water which cost ?6 per a 750ml bottle which I felt was quite pricey.

Food wise, all 3 course was pretty good although nothing really stood out that will want me to go back.

Ambience of the restaurant is pretty good and is a good place for a nice dinner. The waitress was also pretty friendly although we had to wait for almost 5 minutes after being seated to get our menu. The full menu was on a big board in the restaurant but its only in dutch so the waitress might have thought that we knew dutch and did not need an english menu.

Overall, this is a decent restaurant but not really one that will make a lasting impression on me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    87
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We found this place by chance. The service was extremely friendly and the food very good indeed. In terms of value for money, the three course menu at 25 euros was superb. Location is brilliant, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - Hants
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived on the Friday morning and ate here that evening. Great value and service. The menu is limited but all choices are good food and the service is very friendly and efficient. Atmosphere is cosy and the closeness of the tables makes it feel like you are all at a dinner party.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great canalside location by the 9 Streets. Intimate, authentic and cosy.
Great quality food, only 25 euro for 3 courses. Really relaxed and unpretentious.
Truly gezellig!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Memorable, non-touristy local meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Made reservations due to all the reviews that recommended doing so......when we arrived, the restaurant was almost empty so I thought maybe we hadn't needed them.....but the TINY space filled up within 10 minutes!!! Very glad I followed everyone's advice to make the reservations.

The menu offers only a 3 course price fixed meal, which is a good value for such a gourmet meal at 25 euros. Each course has 5 or 6 options, so there is something for every taste/preference. I recommend each person in your party order something different so you can try more flavors--everything our party of 3 ordered was simply delicious!!

Be prepared to spend at least 2 hours here and linger over each course.....service is very attentive, but slow.....there is only 1 waitress/server for the entire dining room of ~16 tables. I suspect she is an owner given her super friendly and patient attitude......she never appeared stressed or rushed despite her workload.

Would definitely eat here again on future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Struisvogel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to de Struisvogel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Struisvogel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.