We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really is a Hidden Gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hap-Hmm

Hap-Hmm
Eerste Helmersstraat 33 | 1054CZ Amsterdam oud-west, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #364 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
Restaurant details
A TripAdvisor Member
“Really is a Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Drawn here by the TF reviews and so nearby to Leidesplein.
Had a lovely home-cooked meal. Staff friendly. Food was delicious and cheap.
Our bill for 2 Mains, 2 desserts and 2 beers was 27 Euros.
Felt like you were dining in someone's living room.
Loved it!
www.hap-hmm.nl
No reservation.Kitchen closes at 8.00 pm
Mixture of locals and Tourists, I'd advise to get there early.
Filled up very quickly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    54
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Have never used "Hidden Gem" until now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have no idea what the name of this restaurant means. But my wife and I were certainly glad we stopped in for dinner. Its a tiny place on a back street, so a bit hard to find. But when we arrived, we knew we were in the right place, because the tables were full of local folks and the food smelled great. They have a brief menu which apparently changes daily, but features Dutch food. This apparently means variations on meat and potatoes. But I have never had such good meat and potatoes. We had the "stewed beef" which was delicious and served with two kinds of potatoes and a red cabbage dish -- I don't usually like cabbage, but this was delicious. And very reasonably priced -- about $10 equivalent. Its really a, uh, uh, hidden gem!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All-Around Best Dutch Food Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hap-Hmm Restaurant is in a quiet residential area. It’s a diner in what appears to have once been a living room in a house. Everybody in the place seemed to be local except for us and the place was packed with tables turning over every half hour or so. The décor is unassuming. The food, on the other hand, is anything but!

Everything on the menu is priced more reasonably than any other sit-down restaurant in Amsterdam from what I can gather. The house red wine was good. The Stewed Beef was tender and Granny’s meatball had the taste and texture, but not color, of a vienna sausage. The Maggi sauce on the table as a condiment was so good that after we had dinner, we stopped by the local Albert Heijn supermarket and bought some to take home with us. Dessert was served with a small “shovel” shaped spoon, which was very apropos by that time!

Both members of dining room staff were nice and helpful and kept very busy the entire time we were there. We visited early on a Wednesday evening and were delighted when one of our fellow diners finished his meal, cleared the table, whipped out his accordion and began to play for about half an hour or so! Not sure how often that happens, but what a treat for us!

The kitchen is only open from 4:30 pm to 8:00 pm and only Monday through Friday, so if you snooze, you lose. For us, this was a not-to-be-missed dining experience while in Amsterdam. When next we visit Amsterdam, we’ll definitely eat at Hap-Hmm as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Real dutch restaurant in city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

One of the extremely rare original dutch restaurant in the city center of Amsterdam (close to Heineken Brewery) and surely the cheapest.
Very good dishes (I took stewed beef, really teasty!), cozy local, very kind staff and excellent prices!
The only bad matter is that they close the kitcken at 8 p.m. and they are closed on saturdays and sundays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Typical dutch neighbourhood restaurant, a must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having found this place via TA, we must say it was really worth the visit. Be aware you cannot make a reservation and you may have to wait for a table if you come around 6:30 pm. The kitchen closes at 8:00 pm so you will have to go early.
There is a variety of dutch-style home cooked meals on the menu. Prices are very moderate (starter+main+dessert ca 15 euro, need we say more). You choose your meat or fish and then can choose your vegetables/patatoes.
This place is visited by locals but tourists who want to step aside the main roads know to find this place too.
The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is 'gemütlich' as the Germans say.
We were very pleased having found this place via TA.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hap-Hmm also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hap-Hmm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hap-Hmm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.