We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi Tin

Hoi Tin
Zeedijk 122/124 | 1012 BB, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0031206256451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,629 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: tel. 020-6256451
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Me abd my friends went to this restaurant with faith in the following slogan on their door "chinese eat here". Trust me , im a chinese, and the place was awful. The food was barely average, but the waitress was an agony to experience, nothing came on time, not even chopsticks or rice. The food we ordered had to be changed several tines because they didnt have more of them. This was however informed 10-20 minutes after we had ordered. Then they give us wrong servings like deep fried chicken pinapple became sweet and sour wok with nothing to do with deep fried anything. The whole experience was awful. Its just a bunch of old and miserable people working and hating on the customers in their own language. Even the bill was frowned upon when we told the waitress to split it evenly. Pathetic excuse of a china restaurant. Worst experience ever.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chinese food in the ChinaTown of Amsterdam?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Few chinese restaurants in Amsterdam China Town, but Hoi Tin is one of my favorite. I was there last weekend with friends (group of 6).

Don't hesitate to ask advise from one of the waiters for their specialties, because not all of meals are stated in their menu card. Bear in mind, Chinese thee is not anymore for free, it cost you EUR1.75 per person now.

The service is reasonable considering in Chinese Restaurant, never expect excellent service :) But the food is fresh and served very quick! Prices are good too!

If you love ha cheung fan (rice dough with shrimp in it), come before 4pm to make sure they still have it. Their ha cheung fan is one of the best so far in Holland :) (After Kee Lun in Den Haag).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Way to celebrate Chinese new year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

For dimsum lunch on Sunday afternoon, this is simply the best in downlown Amsterdam. We tend to take the things that we know already but try to get something new as well and we are rarely disappointed. We particularly like the fried calimari (281) and the shrimp and meat dumpling (Siu mai, 234). Fried rice sticks with beef is standard for us. Dim sum is available untill five pm but around 2 pm is better because everything is superfresh and served fast. No need to reserve, we have never been turned away so far. The dining room on the front is cosier, but also try the large room in the back as this is where the chinese people eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in China-town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

When a Chinese restaurant is full of Chinese people you know it's going to be good... and we weren't dissapointed. It's a no frills, original style restaurant with a huge menu and Tsingtao beer... how can you go wrong?! (the only flaw I could find is that they didn't have Crispy Duck with the pancakes that you make yourself...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting place, OK dim sum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had passed by this place many times put off each time by the sign outside proclaiming it to be the chinese restaurant where the chinese eat (but displaying a menu - and prices - that were typical of everywhere else in China Town).

On the recommendation of a colleague, I went and, to be fair, there were many Chinese diners eating there but we, as non Chinese, were offered the standard tourist menu that was pricey and not very exciting.

Looking for something more authentic, we asked for Dim Sum instead and were brought a selection of OK dishes (nothing really stood out) that were certainly filling and none were bad (many were appeared to be bought from the local Chinese supermarket though).

Service was really excellent and friendly, the decor (apparantly done up recently) is fitting and not over the top and the desserts (which were made on the premises) the best part of the meal.

Overall then not bad but not great either and not the institution that it proclaims itself to be.

This is not meant to be a negative review but I think my expectations had been raised above what Hoi Tin really is which is an average Chinese restaurant with friendly staff and excellent service.

One thing I would guess about is that the many Chinese diners there were not paying the same menu prices that we were presented with which are average to high for Amsterdam (and overpriced compared to other European capitals).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi Tin also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hoi Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi Tin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.