We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food not customer friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nam Kee Chinatown

Nam Kee Chinatown
Zeedijk 111 - 113, 1012 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6243470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #919 of 2,522 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food not customer friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Dishes are very abundant and filling so I suggest to order one dish at the time. Prices are high to Chinese restaurant standards especially per quality of the service and ambiance. But the quality of the meat and fish used is really high for a Chinese restaurant.
The noodle soups are my favorite and that is already a very filling meal. Beware of the male waiting staff as they are totally brusque and uncommunicative.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    72
    23
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Scary staff but good food!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Recommeded to us by locals, almost left within minutes of sitting down. Asked the waitress about the menu and she told us to look at the pictures on menu, not at all helpful!! We ordered and must say the food was excellent. Beware of asking staff for help!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Oysters in Black Bean Sauce: Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I usually go down to Chinatown in N.Y.C. quite a bit considering that I live in Queens.
I have to say that Nam Kee in Amsterdam is one of the best restaurants I have evere been to.
Did not get a chance to try everything, but I am sure that everything else on the menu has to be top notch.
Will be back on my next trip and maybe try something else but the oysters in black bean sauce and the duck with pancake was off the charts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amsterdam institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great value for money and always popular. There was line when we went but I can see why. Simple interior but the servings were large and enough to take home for a re-fry the day later.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not So Great Food for a Good Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I dropped by for lunch just walking past China Town. The grilled meat display pulled me in. First thing you notice is that the restaurant gives a damp feel and has the stink of rotting food. The place was packed despite the nasty feel and so I thought that the food must be special. Sitting in a dirty table I asked for the complimentary hot tea (they don't offer this automatically to foreigners for some odd reason !!). I ordered a combination of grilled meat (bacon, red roast pork and duck). The jasmine tea was fantastic and balanced for aroma, color and flavor. The meat dish soon arrived and while the bacon was fantastic, I wouldn't say the same for the red roast pork and duck - they were very average, low on flavor and freshness. It cost me 11.50 Euros and so that is the only reason why I am not rating this as a poor experience - very reasonable price.

And I was observing some other dishes that were taken to other customers. No waiter has a smile. All of the dishes appeared brown and this usually means they have an overpowering effect of sauce which probably justifies other reviews which state that all the dishes taste the same. Chinese food must in fact be the exact opposite with very little sauce and lots of fresh ingredients - the best of Chinese food rely on flavors from freshness of ingredients.

To sum it up, if you have a keen sense of taste you might not like this place. If you are the type of person who is not so sensitive and can tolerate the poor ambiance and service, this might be worth 80% of what you end up paying. But you will not walk out smiling, you'll have to go elsewhere for that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam Kee Chinatown also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nam Kee Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nam Kee Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.