We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary staff but good food!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nam Kee Chinatown

Nam Kee Chinatown
Zeedijk 111 - 113, 1012 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6243470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,088 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Scary staff but good food!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Recommeded to us by locals, almost left within minutes of sitting down. Asked the waitress about the menu and she told us to look at the pictures on menu, not at all helpful!! We ordered and must say the food was excellent. Beware of asking staff for help!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    79
    25
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway Park, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Oysters in Black Bean Sauce: Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I usually go down to Chinatown in N.Y.C. quite a bit considering that I live in Queens.
I have to say that Nam Kee in Amsterdam is one of the best restaurants I have evere been to.
Did not get a chance to try everything, but I am sure that everything else on the menu has to be top notch.
Will be back on my next trip and maybe try something else but the oysters in black bean sauce and the duck with pancake was off the charts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amsterdam institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great value for money and always popular. There was line when we went but I can see why. Simple interior but the servings were large and enough to take home for a re-fry the day later.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not So Great Food for a Good Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I dropped by for lunch just walking past China Town. The grilled meat display pulled me in. First thing you notice is that the restaurant gives a damp feel and has the stink of rotting food. The place was packed despite the nasty feel and so I thought that the food must be special. Sitting in a dirty table I asked for the complimentary hot tea (they don't offer this automatically to foreigners for some odd reason !!). I ordered a combination of grilled meat (bacon, red roast pork and duck). The jasmine tea was fantastic and balanced for aroma, color and flavor. The meat dish soon arrived and while the bacon was fantastic, I wouldn't say the same for the red roast pork and duck - they were very average, low on flavor and freshness. It cost me 11.50 Euros and so that is the only reason why I am not rating this as a poor experience - very reasonable price.

And I was observing some other dishes that were taken to other customers. No waiter has a smile. All of the dishes appeared brown and this usually means they have an overpowering effect of sauce which probably justifies other reviews which state that all the dishes taste the same. Chinese food must in fact be the exact opposite with very little sauce and lots of fresh ingredients - the best of Chinese food rely on flavors from freshness of ingredients.

To sum it up, if you have a keen sense of taste you might not like this place. If you are the type of person who is not so sensitive and can tolerate the poor ambiance and service, this might be worth 80% of what you end up paying. But you will not walk out smiling, you'll have to go elsewhere for that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Truely enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Not accepting reservations is really good marketing. The restaurant is not that big. I think about 30 to 40 seats. So yes, we also had to wait in line, arriving around 18pm. After a 20 minute wait (4 tables waiting ahead of us, so about 5 minute per table wait) we were directed to our table.
They don't offer a classic rice table but you can make your choices and share as most people do. As we were 4 we had ample choice. We took the fantastic (and served very hot) oysters with black bean sauce with kroepoek as starter. Loved it. Than we took sweet and sour squid, chop suey with chicken, peking duck and babi panang. Topped it up with bami and nasi goring. Everything was fantastic. The duck could have done with some accompanying sauce and somewhat warmer.
For what concerns the service. We really liked the fact that it's fast and smooth and friendly. We where afraid about the interior after reading reviews but it's ok. The Chinese touch is in the food and the staff. The biggest surprice was the bill knowing how good and how much we ate for just under 75 euros for our family of four.
We would certainly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam Kee Chinatown also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nam Kee Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nam Kee Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.