We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is one of the best hotel breaks I have had. The staff were friendly and more than willing to go out of the way to help. The rooms were well furnished and modern, and the jacuzzi bath was perfect after a cold days walk around Amsterdam. The is a tram stop 2 minutes walk away around the corner from the hotel which offers easy access to the city centre, but the local area is also well worth a visit for those little bakeries and cake shops that make a holiday special.
There was a wide selection of breakfast foods available, all of which were most satisfying.
I checked Trip Advisor before booking my stay and found the majority of these reviews to be accurate. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    261
    99
    31
    20
See reviews for
61
274
30
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The hotel is a little bit far away from the center (Dam Square). It's about 5 minutes walk to the nearest Tram station. We've got this hotel from bidding in the priceline, so we feel the hotel is rather nice to the value.

The room is clean and relatively spacious compared to the European standard. The staff is friendly and quick during the check in / out process. But compared to other "5 star" hotels, this hotel is really a plain 5 star.

The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood and just beside the Hilton. Because it is the first time we went to Amsterdam, it's quite difficult for us to find a restaurant beside. It took about 20 minutes to walk to the Museum and fashion quarter where you can find a lot of shops and restaurants. Also, the Tram can easily take you to Dam Square.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

It is not worth paying the money for the extra star as we could not work out how this could be a 5 star hotel. From the outside it looked like an NCP carpark. The staff were friendly and helpfull, the room was small with an old box tv.
The same cigarette stubbs were on the floor in the smoking area out side the hotel from Thursday when we arrived to Sunday afternoon when we left, there were many other small details that were not worth complaining about, but overall led to a poor experience.
Eating out we found Moerdijk, Aan de Poel and de Knipe all to be excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel is a little out of the way however we came to appreciate this very quickly as it gave us the chance to explore the city in full and not just the immediate area to Dam Square. We had booked ballet tickets for Swan Lake on Christmas Day at the Europaplein and found that the hotel was just a mere 5 minute walk away.
The trams were every 5 minutes - even on Christmas day they were operational every 12 mins.
Check-in was done swiftly and with good customer service. They did give us the wrong room however this was rectified promptly and the front desk staff apologised profusely.
Our room had a whirlpool bath, which was one of the reasons we booked it, and it was put to use every night to warm us up after our day of snow filled sight seeing.
I was disappointed that although the hotel is a 5 star it didn't have any leisure facilities although you could use the facilities at their 4 star sister hotel.
My only gripe was the maid service insisted on knocking on our door every morning to make up our room. I even hung the "do not disturb" sign from our door and guess what they still knocked! No rest for the wicked then!
Overall opinion, i would stay in this hotel again but i may bring my own pillow!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijlen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

This hotel has a superb location in Amsterdam. Really close to the shopping areas and museums. Outstanding relation price / quality. The restaurant De kersentuin located in the hotel is a must do! Great service and fine food!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My young adult daughter and I spent a long weekend at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel. We could not have been happier! Great location in a quiet neighborhood, tram just around the corner, tram tickets available at reception desk. Very courteous and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Turn down service with fresh fruit each night. Parking on site in a covered carport for a nominal fee (much higher in the city center). Definitely recommend and will return again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This is the third Christmas we've used Bilderberg Garden Hotel as our base to visit family and as on previous visits, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel offers excellent value and great five star service, particularly when compared with other smaller, more impersonal hotels in the center of Amsterdam. The rooms are spacious - in our experience more so than others, particularly the executive rooms. The breakfast was varied, plentiful & delicious.

The hotel is not located right in the center of Amsterdam, however, it is only a very short tram ride away from all the main attractions. In our opinion, the hotel's location is a benefit since it means we have a 5 star hotel, with spacious rooms, at a very affordable price.

We were particularly impressed with the hotel this time round as a result of the flexibility they offered when our flight to Amsterdam was canceled due to the snow at Heathrow. We'd pre paid our hotel reservation via Expedia back in Oct and booked at a rate which prohibited changes or cancellation. When our flight was canceled the hotel could have simply refused to help & we'd have been stuck having to pay for another reservation. However, they were very reasonable and helped us as much as possible. As a result, we were able to re-book with no penalty and thus, we were extremely grateful for their help, professionalism and flexibility in difficult circumstances.

This is a really great hotel & we'll definitely be back in 2011.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.