We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars? More like a Motel 6” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #117 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
mvny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 stars? More like a Motel 6”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights after staying at the wonderful Hotel Okura just a short distance away. If I had known that the Bilderberg was so dilapidated, I would have splurged and stayed at Okura the extra two nights. The reception desk is nice and helpful, but once you go inside, the entire place smells like mold or feces or both. Bilderberg is in a great location: 10-15 min walk to the museums and near a bunch of great tram lines that will take you anywhere besides the smell of your hotel. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean. AC was so so.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    353
    159
    47
    27
See reviews for
82
414
39
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'll give my review on the room and location...
First of all, we enjoyed the location. We enjoyed the beautiful neighborhood with the better restaurants! It was not far from the museums either!
2nd, the room was fine, a little small. The beds were wonderful and comfortable with nice linens. There was a lot of amenities for a smaller room. However the bathroom layout was very weird. Did not feel safe climbing in and out of the tub for the shower.
The shower was parallel to the end of the European shower door. Causing you to have to shower in a weird position.....I don't know if all the bathrooms are like this.
The air conditioner that many complained about was not an issue for us. Weather was fairly cool at night. But when we had the air on in the day, I didn't think it was so bad.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a room with a bigger bathroom?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice staff very friendly very clean but not 5 star the menu is more business orientated than family we asked to eat in restaurant got told do we realise portions are very small better if we have pizza or burger in outside garden area we were very surprised as we dressed as tourists not business clientele this hotel is primarily a business user friendly NOT Family / tourists friendly hotel unless your trip is business only related don't waste your money plenty more better options available

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned an had a fantastic time! Staff was amazing although we only ate there once as we found the food was an acquired taste! This Hotel seems more business orientated not family! The food was the likes of sweetbreads, king prawn special curry, oysters. We paid 15€ for there burger it was very nice but had to eat it in the outside lounge! It's close to Vondel Park and the Museum Square. We did find it a long walk to the centre and it cost 20€ to get back! But all in all we enjoyed it but would stay nearer to the centre next time. I do recommend the Hop on Hop off bus!

Room Tip: Apparently level 1 floor has jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very clean and the staff were mainly friendly. HOWEVER, we were appalled at how much money they tried to get out of us on arrival and at check-out. On arrival we were charged a deposit which we had not been informed about before-hand. The breakfast was advertised as 12 euros and we were charged 22 euros- each! On checkout we were given an invoice for 398 euros! This was incorrect as we had already paid for the room and breakfast. When I questioned this, the girl at reception re-issued the bill without apology. I have never heard of being charged for "atmosphere" or "environment tax" and when i questioned this, it was also removed from the bill (obviously wasn't compulsory). There was noise from work being done so how can they charge DAILY for atmosphere??

Bear in mind there are 2 bilderberg hotels- taxi driver took us to the wrong hotel!
Overall, clean and nice touches here and there but not 5*

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a quiet, affluent neighborhood. It is within walking distance of the museum district. And it is an easy tram ride into downtown. Our room was nice, it included free internet and breakfast. Both were of good quality. We would stay here again - it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this supposedly 5 star hotel through lastminute.com as a secret hotel deal. Big mistake. Not worth the extra expense and inconvenience for a marginal improvement in room quality. The hotel is a long way from visitor attractions and convenient tram stops - more than 10 mins walking.

Didn't notice the small print - breakfast not included. So it cost us an extra €45 for a breakfast that was in many ways poorer than most of the 3 star hotels we stayed in in different cities/towns in Holland over the past 8 nights. Eg little fruit salad, bacon burnt to a crisp, and scrambled eggs dry, as if made with powdered eggs. Hot chocolate when asked for arrived tepid to cold; we were told the machine was broken.

There is a gym, but turns out it is not in the same building but somewhere across the road. €5 for ice, when in most hotels it is free. No gowns or slippers in the room, as the hotel info claimed. The wardrobe door was broken and there was no free wifi in the bedrooms and that available in the lobby was the most difficult to access I've experienced recently. The foyer looks as if it is undergoing construction.

The area is pleasant enough (no garden at this hotel) and the room was larger and better furnished - but only twin beds rather than a double bed as requested.

Staff were helpful, though we were disappointed our bags were still in the storeroom when we returned to complete check in after spending the day in Amsterdam centre (having initially arrived at 1pm we were not allowed to check in then). Our clothes also smelt of cigarette smoke when we unpacked. I don't know if the staff use the storeroom for smoking but that's what it smelt like.

Overall, whilst it no doubt was once elegant, it's now a little shabby, with rooms that need updating and the corridors are as bleak as a housing project apartment building and drably decorated.

We would definitely not recommend this hotel, or come here again. It is certainly not worth the extra €85 it cost us over and above better hotels were enjoyed this week. This was supposed to be the final overnight highlight of our vacation. We left disappointed.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#56 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#69 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Wyndham Apollo
#114 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.