We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, quality food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Excellent service, quality food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 5 nights on business trip. Hotel staff were nice and friendly. Ate at the hotel's restaurant for 3 nights. Quality food and good service but I felt like the restaurant's staff were always trying to push for the more expensive wine and once even 'inadvertently' brought us the more expensive bottle and went ahead to open the bottle before us realising it! Wifi was fine but had to log I'm each time. Breakfast was adequate. Disappointed that it didn't have a gym.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    291
    124
    33
    21
See reviews for
64
313
31
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 6 night stay in the executive suite of this Hotel. This is my 2nd visit to the hotel and I will always stay here for future trips to Amsterdam. The staff are lovely and very helpful. I'd like to thank Frank at the bar for his excellent service on Friday when I ordered a bottle of wine.The rooms are very clean, spacious, well kept and the maids do a wonderful job.
Breakfast is lovely, the dinner in the restaurant is well presented also. The taxi service from the hotel is 1st class and drivers are always punctual.
There are gym facilities next door that can be used by guests. It's an excellent gym.
Hotel is only a ten minute walk from Museum Quarter. We also walked into Damrak / Centre everyday. It's a lovely walk with lots to see on the way. It only takes about 40mins. Take a tram / taxi if you are not the walking type.

Thank you again Bilderberg.

Robert and Mishaim.

Room Tip: Executive Suite recommended and the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Robert and Mishaim,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I will pass on your compliments to the staff and especially to Frank and our housekeepingmaids. We are all very glad that your experience was top notch.
We look forward to welcome you back next time you visit Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Ed W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for a few days break and stayed in an executive room which was very nice and spacious. Included a free mini bar which was nice and apples laid by the bed every night which was a nice touch. Friendly and helpful staff. Only had breakfast which was very nice. Good location too which seemed to be in an affluent area. Would recommend and be glad to return.

Room Tip: We had an executive room as we booked with Secret Escapes so got a very good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Linda,


First of all thank you for writing this review. It is nice to read to that you noticed the advantages of our spacious Executive rooms, like the complimentary minibar. Our healthy Bilderberg breakfast is always a good start of a new day to explore Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you next time again.

Yours sincerely,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here some years back, was a very nice hotel, friendly staff & good service. A little on the pricey side but you got what you paid for. Comfy beds, jacuzzi bath & at the time let us smoke dutch tobacco in our room (this was 2005 though so may have changed by now)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dave,


It is very nice to read that even after 10 years, you have good memories about the Bilderberg Garden Hotel. At this moment the entire hotel is non smoking, however we do have two Deluxe Balcony rooms which can be reserverd on our website.

Hopefully our friendly staff may welcome you soon again!

Best regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed for four nights over valentines week.
Hotel is a half an hour walk to the centre, 10 mins to the Van Gogh museum and others and 15-20 minutes from the lovely long city park - vondelpark.
The tram is about ten mins walk away and there are two stops you can use near the hotel.
The room was reasonably sized with a big double bed, decent tv, minibar, complimentary water and apples every day. Tea and coffee making facilities, which were replenished every day.
Only gripe around the room is that it was too hot, even though it was freezing outside. Did fiddle with air con etc and turn radiators down, but still felt a bit too warm for us.
Service was friendly, polite and welcoming, used reception to print theatre tickets and borrow euro adapter and both times the receptionist was sweet, friendly and natural.
Didn't try the restaurant but the menu did look good although we did have a room service breakfast on one of the days which was on time, hot, substantial and tasty.
Not sure what the other recent reviewer is on about with their experience of the hotel as we found it to be very good. Only wish it was a bit closer to the centre. Would strongly recommend and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words.
We highly appreciate the feedback about our hotel.
Hopelfully you will visit the hotel again and try our high standard restaurant.

Warm regards,

E.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Took my family for a weekend visit to Amsterdam and had to find accommodation for six at short notice when our original apartment booking let us down. We booked three twin rooms and were very impressed by the hotel, its friendly and professional staff. The rooms were adjacent and very comfortable. They suited young and old. Would book this hotel again. Tram tickets for two days from reception made journeys in and around Amsterdam very accessible.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
Dear PaulnPat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments regarding you recent stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

It is rewarding to hear that you were happy with the service and I have passed your kind words to all the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Warm regards,

E.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Dated hotel, with not an amazing service in the lobby ( a smile could help).
Not useful Fancy coffee machine loosing water in the room ( unusefully spacious with a long corridor), and very cold room ( the heating was switched off). If you switch on the hot air it will be so noisy that you cannot sleep. Also outside noise ( probably water pipes do not help a good sleep). Parking expensive and not practical ( few places) .
NO tooth brush, empty vanity kit, toilet brush left inside the toilet.
Price too high for such a hotel (and do not try to ask for a late check out of a couple of hours: they will charge you every minute)

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear the way you have experienced our services and for this we deeply apologies.
Please be informed that we have 7 private parking spaces from the hotel. Next to that we offer free valet parking, our doorman can always assist you to find a parking space.
We are sorry that the temperature in the room was not sufficient for you. Besides the air controll system there is a radiator in your room as well.
All the rooms are equiped with amenities. If you require anything else/extra, for example a tooth brush or shaving kit, please contact our front desk.
Your comment concerning the housekeeping has been discussed with our Housekeeping Manager.

We place great value on your opinion and hope that, in spite of this experience, we may look forward to welcoming you with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

E.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.