We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Good but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Good place to sleep, this hotel a basic 3 stars if you refer to the french or english chart.
Poor service , in the room an executive you cant open window and the AC is really inefficient.
Make efforts to deserve your rate !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    261
    101
    31
    20
See reviews for
61
275
30
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All in all a very nice hotel to stay in. The location isn't really that far away from the city centre, catch the 24 tram from a station a short walk from the hotel and about 20 minutes later your in the centre.
The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard each day, clothes were folded and sorted most days! Throughout out stay staff were friendly and helped us with most of the things we needed.
The beds are very comfortable and the TV has BBC 1 & 2.
It might suprise you this was for a boys holiday and we didn't feel out of place at all. They helped us with luggage and transfers and also recommend some local bars!

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped with most of the extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For our trip to Amsterdam my fiancee and I wanted somewhere that would be close enough to central Amsterdam but also meant that we weren't going to be amidst the chaos for the whole duration of our stay. Bilderberger met this request perfectly. Situated a few stops away from the main attractions of Amsterdam the hotel is close enough so that you don't have to trek for a long time but also far enough away that you can appreciate a quieter part of Amsterdam that may not typically be seen by tourists.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were somewhat discouraged by the outside of the hotel (we approached it from behind) as it looked like an old folks home, however, our fears were completely allayed as we seen the main entrance to the hotel, which was very professional. On checking in we were greeted by a lady named Rianne who could not have been more helpful. She spent 15 minutes with us as she gave us a map and outlined some of the must see aspects of the city including some of, what she viewed, as her own personal must-dos in the city. Extremely helpful.

The rooms were excellent, clean, spacious and filled with all the nice touches that one comes to expect from a four star European hotel; classical music greeting you when you returned from your excursions, well-stocked mini-bar and for some reason fresh apples every day! Air-conditioning and TV were both perfect and the view wasn't too shabby either.

A few slight issues with Bilderberg were; 17 Euro a day for WIFI. I literally cannot comprehend how a hotel in any country in the world that is allegedly four star does not provide the guests with complimentary WIFI. It's mind-blowing.

Another, perhaps more striking issue, was being greeted with two unexpected bills (one of them only being temporary). After checking in we were told that we needed to pay a 50 Euro a night (!) guarantee deposit incase we damaged anything or used items from the mini-bar. This meant that we were charged a temporary 150 Euro until we checked out- this would have been a serious issue if we hadn't budgeted properly and I have literally never heard of anything like this in any hotel I have every stayed it. On top of this we were made to pay a small 'city tax' for using the trams and roads in the city. Upon asking many friends who had stayed in the city I discovered that none of them had ever been met with this tax of 49 Euro. These two monetary issues really took the shine off what was, otherwise, a really enjoyable relaxing stay. Customers, especially those booking through third party sites, should be made wholly aware of any charges they may be facing.

All in all, a lovely hotel and if you've read up on it and are totally aware of any hidden extras I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If possible avoid any rooms that are above the loading bay. It can get loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel. Rooms were cleaned each day for the duration of our stay and clean towels provided.
A very comfortable bed.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Helped us a lot with our excursions plan and were always pleased to answer all our questions.
The bar/lounge was a great place to relax and have a snack,
As a bonus we had apples in the room which was great!!
Great location: the hotel is located in a really nice and quiet neighborhood. . Close to museums, the pubs and clubs and tram station is a 5 min walk away.
However, I was very surprised to find the WiFi wasn't free: in a 5 star hotel I would expect WiFi to be available to all guests without charge.
Otherwise our stay was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying between 80-90 nights annually in hotels on Business Trips I cannot understand why the hotel should have 5*. The dark furniture in the quite small rooms is from the Eighties lacking any charme & personality. If your neighbor is having a shower and listening to TV @ night you will hear it.
When I checked out the next morning I got the following answers from a mega-non interested receptionist to my curious questions:
1) "we only have slippers and bathrobes in Winter - why would you need it in August?" (It was raining outside with 12 Celsius outside...)
2) "it might be that in other hotels guests with Corporate rates are getting a warm welcome note or a bottle of mineral water or a newspaper - we don't do that!" -
Why there was an empty plate with a knife @ nightstand couldn't be solved... perhaps bring your own apple as bedtime sweets?
3) when I informed them about a massively dirty heating and shades - both full of dark red sticky stains, probably from spilled/exploded Coke or red wine from guests before - making it somehow ugly to work @ the desk, the only reaction was "we will inform housekeeping"...
Net net: max. 3,5 stars.


Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very comfortable hotel. Delux double room is spacious with bright bathroom, kettle, modern TV, etc. Helpful staff. Pleasant quiet neighbourhood and easy access to trams. But don't expect a garden, more like a wide dual carriageway with grass and trees in the centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was great! Staff very helpful. A little out of the downtown but easily reached by tram. Clean room but a little surprised when we saw a mouse running around lounge at bar-the another one-staff did not seem over reactive.Breakfast was over priced-need more choices then just a buffet at a high price-breakfast choices can be more reasonable. We liked the location and all-maybe be mindful of your four legged guest!!

Room Tip: Comfortable rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.