We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #109 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, solid hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had 3 nights here late July / early August. We had 2 rooms, 1 twin on the ground floor, and 1 executive double on (surprise surprise) the executive floor. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were reasonably quiet, and the Nespresso machine in the executive room was a nice touch, as were the apples given out in every room. Oddly, the executive floor was the only floor requiring a room card to enter, meaning we kept having to allow half of the party to enter the floor at the top of the stairs. Only other thing about the rooms I would say to the hotel, if they come round to refurbishing at some point, ditch the brown / beige colour scheme. It really doesn't do much for the otherwise lovely rooms.

The staff here were all great. When we arrived our car was parked for us by a friendly chauffeur, after what was a very hassle free drive, the hotel is very easy to access by car! The receptionist was really helpful throughout the stay, and the hotel provides almost every service possible from a front desk. The guy manning the bar whilst we were there was just fantastic, he had a great sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Also, as a last and unexpected (by me) point, everyone here spoke great English, which made the stay easier.

Room Tip: Had a room on the ground floor and on the executive floor, both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,



Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your three night stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff. For your next visit, please ask our reception to activate your key to access the Executive floor as well.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    327
    138
    40
    26
See reviews for
72
362
36
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a short holiday. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful in providing directions, letting us store our luggage, and being ready to answer any questions we had. Good value for an expensive city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Ellen,


How nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with your daughter in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor.

I really hope to welcome you another time.


Best regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed a good 10 nights here. Conclusion: If you are looking for a luxury hotel, skip this one. Every thing is extremely dated and worn off. The room service breakfast (about EUR 47 for room service, 2 pers) is very inconsistent. One day you get nicely presented scrambled eggs and fruit. The next day you get no eggs (even when requested!) and just some things tossed in bowls. The worst is the service, my friend - who is English speaking - called the reception to book one extra night, she was told to check on Booking.com herself and if available book it. I had to call back in Dutch to arrange it. But the extra booked night was not added to our room, even when reception told it was arranged, obviously leaving us locked out our room friday night. The restaurant has been closed down. There is no gym, no spa, no swimming pool (all 5 star standards) making me wonder how this 80's relic ever obtained its star rating. The bar: a small selection of single malts and standard liquors. Ordered a Mojito. All members of the bar staff clearly do not know how to make this simple cocktail. They just put some ice cubes in a small lemonade glass, some mint and soda and rum and a quarter of a lime on the edge. The wine is terrible, no difference in white wine or red wine glasses, sticky bar stools, rinses the cloth lounge chairs with the same cloth as he did the beer drenched draught system... this all indicates the staff is not trained. The worst is they just walk off and dissapear and come to leave the bar again after 15 min. Never seen management on the floor. It goes on and on: If you have English plugs and need an adaptor, dont expect the reception to have a converter. Roomservice: When you work behind your laptop naked to check some late morning emails, expect the room service to just walk in (very rude). Transport: the hotel has no affiliation with any transport service and has no own drivers. Greeting: Expect no help to offload your luggage, in fact no one stands outside here, no one sees that you arrive until you dragged everything to the check in desk. After a robotic smile, they make you sign immediately and pay extra deposits (EUR 50 a night!). Internet and entertainment: pay tv or movie channels are simply not there (!?). very limited channels. The internet is available for EUR 17.40 for 24hr. if your friend wants to use the wifi too for his or hers device or phone, expect to pay another EUR 17.50 to connect an extra device. I am a experienced traveler and this all has been the worst 2K I spend on any hotel by far.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sir,


Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your detailed feedback.

I am really sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with our hotel and services.
Please be assured that these issues already have been discussed in our management team.

Last week I have sent you an email. Please contact me at your earliest convenience by phone: +31 20 5705600 or email: ejongen@bilderberg.nl
I would highly appreciate to get in contact with you to solve this matter of inconvenience.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Arrived here on the Friday morning to a lovely friendly greeting from staff. They took our luggage to put in a locked room whilst we spent the day in amsterdam. Check in was smooth and easy. We went out for dinner and returned to a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch! Everyday our room was tidied and bed made. They even came in the evening to see if we needed anything. We booked for breakfast when booking our room which was 44 pounds for two for the four days. Breakfast was a lovely buffet of local food it was delicious! Again staff was friendly and cleared away plates quickly! We had a room service breakfast on our last full day and it was amazing even bringing me sparkling water! I cannot recommend this hotel enough it's in a beautiful area but with good connections to the centre and airport. I can't wait to come back and would like to thank all the staff that made our stay amazing!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Madam,


Thank you for taking time to share your comments with other travelers in this forum.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had such a memorable experience.

Especially your comment about the nice, helpful staff and the excellent overall standard of service makes us extremely proud. It is indeed a pleasure to share your nice words with our entire team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward very much to welcome you back when you are returning to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel is really nice, rooms very spacious and big bed (we were originally a twin room but got changed to double) reason why I'm giving a 4 is because of the mice running around the bar! Maybe someone should start buyin mouse traps or get a cat!

To get here cheaper than a taxi, get train to zuid station, and from there you can get a tram to Central (tram no 5) and get stop at apollolaan (4th stop) get of tram an there is a street to right (when ur facin the way you came!!) walk down it an the hotel is at end of it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ashley,


Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms.
Please be advised that we took direct action concerning the issue in the bar. We work together with an external pest control service who prevents our hotel on a regular base. The situation during your stay was an incident, I do appologize for this.

I really hope we may welcome you next time you will visit Amsterdam.


Warm regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Based on the outskirts of the ciity in a residential area but with excellent tram links nearby the Bilderberg is a quality hotel with outstanding service. Huge room with a fantasic (really wide!) bed, mini bar, and all the usual facilities from a 4 star hotel. Staff all speak excellent English, were always helpful and courteous and provided a free of charge service to hold our luggage after checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Pat,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff, location and all hotel facilities.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Don't believe previous negative reviews. Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July. Reception staff were efficient and spoke good English when checking in. Deposit of €50 per night is a bit over the top to cover minibar and breakfasts. Room was comfortable and nice. The bathroom is spacious and well stocked with toiletries. Room had a minivan and large flat screen tv with plenty of tv channels. Never used internet as WiFi was way to expensive. Restaurant was closed when we were there so can't comment. The hotel was very convenient for the trams as it was only a 5 minute saunter away. The bar was very quiet but nice. We had breakfast at a small cafe at the next tram stop after Apollolaanl called The Pain Quotoidien, organic good and reasonable price. Ordered a taxi for the return journey to the airport, we were quoted €38 but charged €45 but must have been Michael Schumachers brother driving as we were there in 10 minutes. All in all a good and convenient hotel for transport.

Room Tip: All rooms are A+++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ray,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us following your stay in July and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Please be assure that your review will be shared with the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Holland.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.