We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel is really nice, rooms very spacious and big bed (we were originally a twin room but got changed to double) reason why I'm giving a 4 is because of the mice running around the bar! Maybe someone should start buyin mouse traps or get a cat!

To get here cheaper than a taxi, get train to zuid station, and from there you can get a tram to Central (tram no 5) and get stop at apollolaan (4th stop) get of tram an there is a street to right (when ur facin the way you came!!) walk down it an the hotel is at end of it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ashley,


Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms.
Please be advised that we took direct action concerning the issue in the bar. We work together with an external pest control service who prevents our hotel on a regular base. The situation during your stay was an incident, I do appologize for this.

I really hope we may welcome you next time you will visit Amsterdam.


Warm regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    288
    123
    33
    21
See reviews for
64
310
31
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Based on the outskirts of the ciity in a residential area but with excellent tram links nearby the Bilderberg is a quality hotel with outstanding service. Huge room with a fantasic (really wide!) bed, mini bar, and all the usual facilities from a 4 star hotel. Staff all speak excellent English, were always helpful and courteous and provided a free of charge service to hold our luggage after checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Pat,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff, location and all hotel facilities.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Don't believe previous negative reviews. Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July. Reception staff were efficient and spoke good English when checking in. Deposit of €50 per night is a bit over the top to cover minibar and breakfasts. Room was comfortable and nice. The bathroom is spacious and well stocked with toiletries. Room had a minivan and large flat screen tv with plenty of tv channels. Never used internet as WiFi was way to expensive. Restaurant was closed when we were there so can't comment. The hotel was very convenient for the trams as it was only a 5 minute saunter away. The bar was very quiet but nice. We had breakfast at a small cafe at the next tram stop after Apollolaanl called The Pain Quotoidien, organic good and reasonable price. Ordered a taxi for the return journey to the airport, we were quoted €38 but charged €45 but must have been Michael Schumachers brother driving as we were there in 10 minutes. All in all a good and convenient hotel for transport.

Room Tip: All rooms are A+++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ray,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us following your stay in July and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Please be assure that your review will be shared with the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Holland.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Have just spent three nights at the Bilderberg as part of a hotel/flight package, with friends, celebrating a wedding anniversary. The Executive room was excellent, totally quiet, really comfortable beds, a/c, mini-bar, English T/V cannels, brilliant bathroom with spa-bath. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Did not dine in as restaurant temporarily out of use but used excellent restaurants within walking distance, recommended by hotel staff. Also breakfasted in a nearbye café. Hotel looks nothing special due to its exterior design but is very good. Situated in a pleasant, quiet residential area, 10min tram ride from centre, with tram stop nearbye. Hotel arranged taxi for return to airport, which was 12 euros cheaper than I had paid on arrival. Another plus. This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Room Tip: I only have experience of an Executive room, which was excellent in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Patrick,


Congratulations on your wedding anniversary. I am glad to read you enjoyed our luxurious Executive rooms. I also take this opportunity to thank you for recommending us to others.

Hopefully we may welcome you back on your next anniversary.


Best regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just came back from the Netherlands after a weekend birthday break with my wife and I would like to say the Bilderberg Hotel is a very nice hotel however here are the Pro and Cons

Pros :

Very nice, posh quiet location
Friendly and helpful staff (especially Rianne she is amazing and very helpful and always ready to help. The same goes for the rest of the staff, I cannot fault them at all)
Nice restaurant and bar area
Good transport links, you can get a train direct from the Airport and drop off in walking distance of the hotel
Shops and restaurants nearby
Ample Car Parking space
Very comfortable beds and clean bathrooms
Plenty of TV channels (English that is)
Very close to the museums (Van Gogh/Diamond)

Cons:

WiFi is not free (17Euros per day)
Not really city central location but this is a very minor issue

Room Tip: Get one of the Exec rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,


How nice that you have celebrated your birthday with us! I would like to thank you for writing this review and hope to welcome you back another time.

Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed for a night at this hotel with family when I visited Amsterdam last week. I travel a lot as part of my job and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed so far. Staff is super friendly and helpful and the hotel room is kept very clean with nice comfy beds. The locality around the hotel is so beautiful as well and has good access to tram service. Our family really enjoyed the stay here and I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
Pramod

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Pramod,


Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the location itself to the staff. It is rewarding to hear that you received customer service throughout your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the beautiful city Amsterdam.

Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked a combined flight and hotel deal and this hotel was cheapest 5 star on offer. Dosnt look much from the outside and not as central as other hotels but nice place for the price. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Van Gough museum and similar for Vondelpark. Plenty of tram options 5 mins away if you want to get into town. We upgraded to an Executive room and aside from a better room you get free wifi too. Nice breakfast, big bed, air con that worked and a decent bath room. Nice part of town too and gets you looking at different stuff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room if the price is right
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sir,


Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our Executive rooms and our breakfast.

It will be my honour to welcome you back at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel next time!

Warm regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.