We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights found the staff to be very nice and our room was a good size and clean. We did find the room warm at night which made sleeping a little tough. Located 15 minutes from the museum area so a short walk and your right in middle of a great area of Amsterdam. Not much for cafés right by the hotel so we didn't find a close place for breakfast and we won't pay 25 euros for the hotel breakfast. Did get charged 6 euros for a phone call so didn't like that but they never billed me for 3 days of Wifi so it worked out OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    291
    124
    33
    21
See reviews for
64
313
31
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights between July 11 and 13. It's a nice, clean and quiet place located in the upscale neighborhood, close to the tram line which brings you to the center of the city. I haven't had my breakfast at the hotel, however there plenty of small hotel and bakeries in the area, so someone can have a breakfast a bit less expensive than in the hotel.

There is also a beautiful park called Vondelpark in about 5 minutes walk from the hotel and I highly recommend to visit it during the warmer months. I think I will try to stay at the same place the next time I am in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I guess any room is pretty good, it has decent square footage and normal size bathroom ( like we use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July 2014. It was quickly apparent that it was not a 5 star hotel, as marketed. I found mice in my room! I expected the staff to be shocked, however they advised that they had known for a few weeks, and they "all hotels in Amsterdam have mice". The staff did not apologize, allow for any refund on the room or accommodate me at all. Overall was very unhappy with the service of this hotel. On a side note - it's also the only place that charges for wifi in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,
First of all I would like to apologize that you have had an unfortunate experience with the staff during your stay. The remark of the staff member on the incident was inappropriate as well as the fact that you were not informed that we feature free wifi in our lobby/lounge and on the executive floor. I would like to discuss and solve this unfortunate matter directly with you and would appreciate if you could mail me your contact numbers/email address. Please contact me directly at ejongen@bilderberg.nl
Thank you for taking the time to do so.
Kind regards, Ed Jongen General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend recently stayed in this hotel, we were impressed at how clean and nicely decorated the establishment was. Although, the €50 per night 'deposit' charge disappointed us slightly as I have never experienced that before and felt it was slightly unnecessary.
The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.
We did not feel that the food supplied in the hotel lounge was worth the money we paid for it. There was only ever one bar tender who worked on the bar, who often disappeared leaving us waiting for assistance.
Overall pleasant stay but would most likely not return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We enjoyed a short break in Amsterdam. Bilderberg Garden Hotel is a nice hotel in very nice surroundings and convenient tram connection to city center (or 30 minutes nice walk). But hotels have to wake up to the information age and offer free and fast wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here at the end of February with my parter and 10 other friends. The hotel is fantastically operated, nice smart decor, great lobby bar etc.

It is out of the way if you're looking for a busier short stay, but central amsterdam is only a few tram stops away.

It's more of a business/conference hotel, however there is a good vibe, cleaners do a great job and overall experience is great. Would recommend if you're looking for a quiet hotel out of the way.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. The hotel itself is lovely, with spacious and comfortable rooms. The one complaint I have is the location. It's a bit isolated, relative to the city centre.
The staff are lovely, and the food was fine, based on my experience with room service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.