We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent room - but not close enough to the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent room - but not close enough to the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

i stayed in the bilderberg hotel for 4 days, for a vacation. the hotel was charming - located in a wide ,green and beautiful avenue, and the neighborhood looked like a small rich village. near by there is a street with a bit cafes (we ate breakfast everyday at starbucks) and little shops. we didnt notice any supermarket - a drawback for me.
LOCATION: there are couple of lines of the "tram" (the main transportation), so we could get to city center for about 20 minutes. due to the expensive price of the tram (at least for me 2.8 euros per hour and 12 euros for 48 hours are expensive price), i would prefer a hotel that located in the center next time. amsterdam is an amazing city for nightlife and it's much nicer when you can walk back to your hotel and not walking a lot for the central station which is the only station for the night buses (which are expensive - 5 euros per ride), or taking an expensive taxi (about 20 euros from dam square to the hotel) there are no nightlife in the vicinity of the hotel at all.
concerning to the hotel itself - i really like it. we had the most simple room that have no coffee machine (from the booking.com site i somehow understood that we are going to get a nespresso machine, but the staff told us that is just on the superior rooms, which was a bit dissapointing).
THE ROOM: the room was clean, tidy and new. it was quite big for a room in europe - but quite small for a 5 star hotel. it was very comfortable but not as luxury as i expected for the level of the hotel. the beds were very soft and i slept great, and it was also nice to get 2 fresh apples everyday.
some little cons - the pot was really ancient and it took ages till the water got boiled. the hairdryer was terrible and not useful at all. the room is a bit dark.
the most disappointing thing was the EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE WIFI! 17 EUROS PER 24 HOURS! as a tourist, i am in need of wifi - to contact my family, to check weather, to find out what i want to do tomorrow and ect. i expect that every hotel, and defently a 5 star hotel, will provide a free wifi, or at least a reasonably price.
HOTEL STAFF: the staff was AMAZING. they helped us in every question, and explain about everything with great recommendation - and always with a smile. it was very nice experience every time.
FODD IN THE HOTEL - we didn't eat breakfast - altough it looked excellent, the price was too high (i dont remember the exact price). the hotel bar was very nice and luxury but the prices was ridiculous. 7 euros for an irish coffee? about 15 euros for a salad? and again, although it was well decorated, i have seen much fancier 5 star hotels.

to conclude: it was very nice to come back at the end of the day to the clean and comfy room, and to take a shower in the clean and wide bathroom, but it looked like a 4 star hotel and not 5 star. the prices of wifi and food in the hotel were upsetting, but the staff was excellent.
it's a good hotel if you are not care of travelling a lot with the tram and the vicinity is very nice and calm, but if you want something with a walk-distant to the attraction or to the nightlife - take a hotel in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our neighboorhood and staff we will pass on your compliments to all our employees. Please be advised that we offer free Wi-FI for one hour in our Lounge and on all our Executive rooms. We really hope to welcome you back another time.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    276
    105
    33
    20
See reviews for
61
285
30
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Bilderberg is a bit out of town which people will either like or dislike for that very reason. It is in a beautiful neighbourhood surrounded by stunning houses. The staff were terrific- very professional at reception, bar staff were great- friendly but not overly so. Rooms were nice- nothing over the top, basic and clean. Hotel restaurant was expensive so did not eat there but there is a nice area near where you catch the tram, a five minute walk, which has plenty of good spots. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will pass on your compliments to the entire staff. How nice that you noticed our nice neighbourhood, which is quiet but still close to the main attractions in Amsterdam.
Dear Patrick, we hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have to say to start I was not impressed by the rooms or hotel. This is not a 5 star hotel by USA standards. It is a 3 star hotel based on rooms But after a day I loved it. The location is great there is many great small neighborhoods for great food. We rented bikes from the hotel and it is the best way to see the city ( other them them costing 25 euro for two hours which is silly). Forget the touristy area go where the locals go. I plan on another trip but with the family. I would stay here just for the location and decent price. I did not eat lunch or breakfast so I can't comment on food. Room was clean and service was good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your comments with us and other travelers regarding your stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our clean rooms, location and service.

We really hope to welcome you next time you will visit Amsterdam.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is well positioned in a quiet upper class neighborhood only a few minute walk from a Tram station that takes you to the center of Amsterdam in just a few stops. The room was clean and had all the amenities needed and expected from a four star hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us.

It is by such lovely reviews that motivates us to work even harder to deliver high level guest service throughout the hotel.


Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed for two nights in April and really enjoyed Amsterdam. This hotel is perfect if you want to get away from the hustle bustle of the city at night. It is a pleasant half an hour walk into the city canal area or the tram is just a few minutes up the road, which will take you into the main centre. The hotel is smart, with friendly staff. It is in a peaceful leafy district......peaceful after a busy day in the city. I did not eat in the restaurant but it looked great, very nicely laid out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us following your stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff and location. I have passed on your kind words to the entire the team.

Best regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Been living 10 years in Amsterdam the hotel is good for city trip if you do not want to spent too much time in hotel, rooms are nice on a quiet place of Amsterdam. I personally like the location more quiet green around and not too much tourist around and close by all big musea and nice dinner, lunch places. If you have a good rate for sure good to go here. I was surprised internet we needed to pay for, and our room window could now open 1201, further was all ok. For sure could come back

Room Tip: Higher floor 1201 was corner room so ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Jeffrey,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for three nights in late May 2014. The location of the hotel is good – reasonably close to Vondel park and the Concertgebouw. a 10 minute walk through the Vondel park gets you into the western part of the canal district not far from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gough museum. The beds were comfortable and the washing facilities reasonably good. There were very few drawers in the room. We were woken every morning before 7am by activity in the loading bay which seemed to be immediately below our room 1123. On our last day there was very noisy and prolonged activity by a dust cart which started at about 6am.That really spoiled the experience. For the price we would have hoped for breakfast. Breakfast was expensive (Euro 22.50 or Euro17.50 if pre booked) and we were able to find excellent breakfasts just down the street in Brasserie Van Dam and Pain Quotidien at half the price of the hotel option. These are located on Cornelis Schuystraat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms abopve the loading bay if you want to sleep beyond 6am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Head,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

My sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay.
I will discuss this matter with all our suppliers.

Hopefully we can welcome you another time in the nearest future to make you stay even better than your previous visit.


Best regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.