We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Staff were very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and me spent 3 nights here having booked a short break through Secret Escapes. The hotel room was large and very clean and well decorated. It had a well stocked mini bar and comfy bed. The staff were excellent all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of the city but the tram is near and very convenient. The restaurant is expensive and has a limited menu but bar snacks are reasonable. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review via Tripadvisor.
We are honoured that you have chosen us as your Amsterdam city break Hotel.
We appreciate that you mention our high level of service and cleanlines of our hotel rooms.
Next to our fine restaurant de Kersentuin and the bar we also offer 24 hour roomservice.

Hopefully on your next visit to Amsterdam we may welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    288
    123
    33
    21
See reviews for
64
310
31
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is a modern building in the quiet museum quarter of Amsterdam a good 20 minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum - trams and buses are available. We stayed for two nights in an executive room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly, very helpful and all had a good command of English. I do not understand a previous review that complained about the breakfast buffet because we found it to be pretty good with a couple of hot dishes and the usual cereals, fruit, breads etc. We did not use the restaurant for other meals or the bar - the menu displayed seemed limited. We chose to use a small Itailian restaurant (Restaurant Sardegna) in Cornelis Schuytstraat (about a five minute walk towards the museums) which we found to be very good with lovely, attentive staff and good food. We had to leave quite early on our last morning and would have missed our breakfast, but the staff put together a take away breakfast for us when we asked if this were possible. Altogether this is a good quality hotel and my only real criticism would be that it lacked character.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Madam,

How nice to read your positve review about the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel as well as the well appointed and spacious Executive rooms. I will pass on your compliments to all our staffmembers and certainly to our breakfast chef.
I really do hope we may welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

When I see the appearance of the hotel at first sight, I am so surprised that it looks like a lovely wooden house. When we check in, the front desk staff is nice to explain our questions. One of them is so kind and sweet willing to take a picture with me. Moreover, the breakfast is good and the waiter is nice. The memory of staying in bilderberg garden hotel is wonderful. We are willing to come again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Miss,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review.
I was dlighted to read that you loved our hotel including our nice breakfast and our personal service.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaca, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Nice clean hotel with helpful staff. Modern with a nice bar and great bartender. Close to tram stop. If you are going to the Van Gogh Museum, buy your ticket at the desk and save a long wait in line. We also bought our tram tickets in the hotel. Parking is free on Sundays and half the cost on weekdays from trying to park downtown. Quiet neighborhood. One hour free wifi when purchasing a drink at the bar. This hotel is a good value for Amsterdam. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.
We are always eager to make each guest stay enjoyable and I am delighted that you find us a nice hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Warm regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Don't normally write reviews for hotels and haven't even left yet (last of two nights here) but the service here has been AMAZING.

didn't give the hotel 5 stars on everything solely because the room sizes are slightly small compared to North American standards and we are traveling with an 11 month old baby. Also there was an old receipt on the floor between a stool and the desk from a previous guest so housekeeping gets a slight minus for that. Also one phone in the room was broken and didn't get fixed but no biggie. If these are your only problems then really there's no problem!

But - front desk staff super helpful, super friendly and patient with all my numerous questions/requests.

Bar staff - frank was the best. Took a husband and baby free break in the bar after baby fell asleep both nights and frank made me very welcome. Super friendly And wonderful service.

If we come back to Amsterdam will definitely try to stay here again.

We stayed in an executive room - not sure if it's worth the extra as I didn't see a regular room. But figured it might be nicer with a baby. They have very nice cribs with cute duvets for the babies and toddlers. The room is a little small if you do have a baby but definitely manageable.

Otherwise the room is very well appointed and comfortable. They even leave the lights on and some music playing for you for when you return to the room.

Tram was very easy to catch. Less than 5 min walk to the stop with about 15-20 min to dam square.

Overall one of the most memorable hotels I've stayed at based on the service alone. I'm known as very picky usually so that's saying something. :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,


How wonderful to hear your stay in our hotel was so memorable for you in a postive way.
We always strive to provide the best service as possible and I will give your compliments to the front desk and Frank. I regret that I did not have the chance to read this review earlier to thank you personally during your stay. We will pass on the two notes about the cleanliness and phone to our managers of Housekeeping and Maintenance. Thank you for noticing our turndown service. By providing our turndown service we make sure you have a goodnight sleep.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

Warm regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable in this out of town location, not far from Zuid. The breakfast buffet is very disappointing but the evening bar service is very good - sadly there are very few bars nearby.

The staff are very helpful and attentive, speaking perfect English.

Sadly there is no free Wi-Fi, but a paid service is available.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Wilson,


Thank for you taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate that you have taken the effort to inform us about your stay. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. Because we want to make our foreign guests feel as welcome as possible we make sure that all our staff members speak good English. Please be informed that Wi-Fi in our luxurious Executive rooms is included. I am sorry to hear that you are dissapointed about our breakfast buffet, if you have any further suggestions about our breakfast please contact us directly.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iola, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the bilderberg on accident. We got to amsterdam a day early and had no hotel. OBama was in town for the g7 and we were nervous about finding a hotel as we heard many press were on the area filling up hotels. We found this on priceline. It was beautiful and quiet. Not in the center of town, but a quick tram ride to leidesplein. It was spacious and clean. Linens were could quality and bed was comfortable. Our reservation couldn't be found when we arrived. They offered us free beverage and internet usage while we waited. They sorted it out and we enjoyed the rest of our stay. Biggest pitfall by far was No FREE Wifi?! It cost 17 euros per 24 hour period, which I thought was ridiculous. The location has a very pleasantville atmosphere. Other than wifi, no complaints.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Thommy,


Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased hearing that you enjoyed our hotel, service and location. Please be advised that our Executive rooms do have free Wi-Fi and are even more spacious.
We hope to welcome you again in the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.