We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jaca, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Nice clean hotel with helpful staff. Modern with a nice bar and great bartender. Close to tram stop. If you are going to the Van Gogh Museum, buy your ticket at the desk and save a long wait in line. We also bought our tram tickets in the hotel. Parking is free on Sundays and half the cost on weekdays from trying to park downtown. Quiet neighborhood. One hour free wifi when purchasing a drink at the bar. This hotel is a good value for Amsterdam. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.
We are always eager to make each guest stay enjoyable and I am delighted that you find us a nice hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Warm regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    302
    130
    34
    25
See reviews for
67
332
34
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Don't normally write reviews for hotels and haven't even left yet (last of two nights here) but the service here has been AMAZING.

didn't give the hotel 5 stars on everything solely because the room sizes are slightly small compared to North American standards and we are traveling with an 11 month old baby. Also there was an old receipt on the floor between a stool and the desk from a previous guest so housekeeping gets a slight minus for that. Also one phone in the room was broken and didn't get fixed but no biggie. If these are your only problems then really there's no problem!

But - front desk staff super helpful, super friendly and patient with all my numerous questions/requests.

Bar staff - frank was the best. Took a husband and baby free break in the bar after baby fell asleep both nights and frank made me very welcome. Super friendly And wonderful service.

If we come back to Amsterdam will definitely try to stay here again.

We stayed in an executive room - not sure if it's worth the extra as I didn't see a regular room. But figured it might be nicer with a baby. They have very nice cribs with cute duvets for the babies and toddlers. The room is a little small if you do have a baby but definitely manageable.

Otherwise the room is very well appointed and comfortable. They even leave the lights on and some music playing for you for when you return to the room.

Tram was very easy to catch. Less than 5 min walk to the stop with about 15-20 min to dam square.

Overall one of the most memorable hotels I've stayed at based on the service alone. I'm known as very picky usually so that's saying something. :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,


How wonderful to hear your stay in our hotel was so memorable for you in a postive way.
We always strive to provide the best service as possible and I will give your compliments to the front desk and Frank. I regret that I did not have the chance to read this review earlier to thank you personally during your stay. We will pass on the two notes about the cleanliness and phone to our managers of Housekeeping and Maintenance. Thank you for noticing our turndown service. By providing our turndown service we make sure you have a goodnight sleep.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

Warm regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable in this out of town location, not far from Zuid. The breakfast buffet is very disappointing but the evening bar service is very good - sadly there are very few bars nearby.

The staff are very helpful and attentive, speaking perfect English.

Sadly there is no free Wi-Fi, but a paid service is available.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Wilson,


Thank for you taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate that you have taken the effort to inform us about your stay. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. Because we want to make our foreign guests feel as welcome as possible we make sure that all our staff members speak good English. Please be informed that Wi-Fi in our luxurious Executive rooms is included. I am sorry to hear that you are dissapointed about our breakfast buffet, if you have any further suggestions about our breakfast please contact us directly.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iola, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the bilderberg on accident. We got to amsterdam a day early and had no hotel. OBama was in town for the g7 and we were nervous about finding a hotel as we heard many press were on the area filling up hotels. We found this on priceline. It was beautiful and quiet. Not in the center of town, but a quick tram ride to leidesplein. It was spacious and clean. Linens were could quality and bed was comfortable. Our reservation couldn't be found when we arrived. They offered us free beverage and internet usage while we waited. They sorted it out and we enjoyed the rest of our stay. Biggest pitfall by far was No FREE Wifi?! It cost 17 euros per 24 hour period, which I thought was ridiculous. The location has a very pleasantville atmosphere. Other than wifi, no complaints.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Thommy,


Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased hearing that you enjoyed our hotel, service and location. Please be advised that our Executive rooms do have free Wi-Fi and are even more spacious.
We hope to welcome you again in the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked this through secret escapes so at first I wasn't sure about the location but it's actually a really lovely base with some great cafes and restaurants just minutes away. It's also in walking distance to some attractions but if you don''t fancy the walk there is also the tram in close proximity and you can buy tickets from the hotel. We were also given a good map of the area for free which came with a mobile app.

The staff are excellent, really informative and friendly but professional at the same time.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the executive rooms and found it very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


How nice to start the day reading your review. I will pass on your positive comments to our entire staff. We give all our guests a free city map and a brochure with touristic information.
Our front desk and doormen are always willing to help you find the hotspots in Amsterdam.
For the best and personal service please make reservations directly with us.
We hope to welcome you again.


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our three day stay in an executive room at the hotel, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend the hotel for sight seeing in Amsterdam using the nearby tram to get to the museums, centre and canal boat trips. The hotel sells 48 and 72 hour tram tickets which are good value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Peter,


Thank you so much for recommending the Bilderberg Garden Hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services. We do indeed sell public transport tickets, next to that we also sell entrance tickets for the famous Rijks and Van Gogh Museum.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

At first I was disappointed that the hotel wasn't right in the center. But it's a quick enough walk away, and I was very thankful for the quiet nights of sleep! What I did NOT like was the fact that Internet is not included in the cost of the room. In this day and age, with the room rates as high as they are, I find this very unfriendly of any hotels. Also, the service, while friendly, was not perfect: I ordered room service, but apparently the girl who took the order forgot to write down my room number, so the food was only sent up after I called an hour later to ask what happened. The upside was that the room was clean and comfortable. The biggest surprise was the restaurant downstairs with their amazing food! Yes, you do pay for the high quality, but frankly when you travel for work, all you want is a good night's sleep and great food, and for this reason I give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,


We appreciate the time you have taken to write this postive review. As you mentioned our hotel is located in a quiet area (Museum Disctrict). However we are still in walking distance from the city center and nearby public transportation. In our more luxurious Executive rooms Wi-Fi is included. I do appologize about the miscommunication regarding your roomservice order, and will discuss this with our roomservice staff. Furthermore I will pass on your complimenst to our housekeeping and restaurant employees for your note about the cleanliness of the room and high quality of the food. Hopefully we may welcome you again.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.