We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Receive a Dutch treat!
Ranked #106 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent base for city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked this through secret escapes so at first I wasn't sure about the location but it's actually a really lovely base with some great cafes and restaurants just minutes away. It's also in walking distance to some attractions but if you don''t fancy the walk there is also the tram in close proximity and you can buy tickets from the hotel. We were also given a good map of the area for free which came with a mobile app.

The staff are excellent, really informative and friendly but professional at the same time.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the executive rooms and found it very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


How nice to start the day reading your review. I will pass on your positive comments to our entire staff. We give all our guests a free city map and a brochure with touristic information.
Our front desk and doormen are always willing to help you find the hotspots in Amsterdam.
For the best and personal service please make reservations directly with us.
We hope to welcome you again.


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    311
    134
    37
    25
See reviews for
68
339
36
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our three day stay in an executive room at the hotel, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend the hotel for sight seeing in Amsterdam using the nearby tram to get to the museums, centre and canal boat trips. The hotel sells 48 and 72 hour tram tickets which are good value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Peter,


Thank you so much for recommending the Bilderberg Garden Hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services. We do indeed sell public transport tickets, next to that we also sell entrance tickets for the famous Rijks and Van Gogh Museum.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

At first I was disappointed that the hotel wasn't right in the center. But it's a quick enough walk away, and I was very thankful for the quiet nights of sleep! What I did NOT like was the fact that Internet is not included in the cost of the room. In this day and age, with the room rates as high as they are, I find this very unfriendly of any hotels. Also, the service, while friendly, was not perfect: I ordered room service, but apparently the girl who took the order forgot to write down my room number, so the food was only sent up after I called an hour later to ask what happened. The upside was that the room was clean and comfortable. The biggest surprise was the restaurant downstairs with their amazing food! Yes, you do pay for the high quality, but frankly when you travel for work, all you want is a good night's sleep and great food, and for this reason I give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,


We appreciate the time you have taken to write this postive review. As you mentioned our hotel is located in a quiet area (Museum Disctrict). However we are still in walking distance from the city center and nearby public transportation. In our more luxurious Executive rooms Wi-Fi is included. I do appologize about the miscommunication regarding your roomservice order, and will discuss this with our roomservice staff. Furthermore I will pass on your complimenst to our housekeeping and restaurant employees for your note about the cleanliness of the room and high quality of the food. Hopefully we may welcome you again.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We've spent 2 nights in Bilderberg Garden for a weekend in the beginning of March 2014. Hotel is really far from the center. Of course it depends on what you mean "center". I consider it as Dam Square and Red Lights District. So by walk it takes at least 25 min, if you don't run 30 km/h when you are on vacation :)
Tram station is 200 m far from hotel entrance, trams go every 10 min, there is a schedule which they follow strictly.
Around the hotel there is quite area with private houses and green park.
But we didn't find good place to eat, everywhere cafés offer only sandwiches/burgers or organic food. We like meat, so we used to eat in China Town in the center of city.
Deluxe Room was clean and cosy, not very big, bed was comfortable. Interior needs to be renewed. Special word for a balcony: amazing! 2 cheers, 2 tables, green plants - it makes nice atmosphere to sit in the morning with cap of coffee.
I will barely choose this hotel again for a weekend, but because of great balcony and perfect bed I can advise Bilderberg Garden for people who likes to sleep very well and drink morning coffee outside.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe room with balcony, especially in the summer it is nice to end the day with a cold drink on your balcony. You mentioned the lack of good restaurants in the neighbourhood. Our reception and doormen can always help you to find a cosy and good restaurant. Closeby there are several nice areas to have dinner. In case you are coming back to Amsterdam I can recommand the Beethovenstraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat and de Pijp, wich are all nearby.
We are located in the Museum District and are also in walking distance of the famous Leidseplein and highend shopping street P.C. Hooftstraat. If you like to see the famous market in Amsterdam, the Albert Cuyp market is only 10 minutes away from us.

We hope to welcome you again and let you discover the nice area around our hotel.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed. W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We've just returned from a 2 night break in Amsterdam, and we couldn't have been happier with the Bilderberg Garden Hotel - we're quite bemused by some negative reviews we've read here. The location is great - in a lovely, peaceful area, but with a couple of minutes' walk in either direction to catch a tram into the centre. We walked to the Rijksmuseum from the hotel, which was a very pleasant 10 minute walk. As for the hotel itself - we booked an all-in-one break with flights, so we chose one of the cheaper hotels on offer, to keep the overall cost down. Therefore we were very pleased with the quality of the accommodation we were found at the Bilderberg. We had a very nice room, with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in a hotel, and it had all the usual little touches of luxury, like the bathrobes and slippers, and the organic toiletries. I'm not sure what some people expect for the money - we're not talking The Savoy here, but it's a very comfortable, very warm and, we think, very well situated hotel, which we will definitely be recommending to anyone who's interested.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the best service as posible and appreciate that you have noticed our good location and the litte touches of luxury. Did you know that we also have Executive rooms for even more comfort. These rooms include free Wi-Fi, Nespesso machine, extra large bath towels and a Jacuzzi.
We higly appreciate your positive review and are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm regards,

Ed W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The staff were like something from the Gestapo, we had booked a apartment,that was cancelled the day we landed. So this was a last minute booking, we initially enquired about a 3 night stay booked for 1 night over the phone, but upon arriving decided this wasn't our kind of hotel. No facilities, other hotels offered much more for less and a lot closer to the centre. ( this hotel is almost in Belgium)

We informed the receptionist that we would only be staying for 1 night at which point she informed us we HAD TO STAY or PAY FOR THE 3 nights. When we went outside to discuss our options we was followed by the door man, and watched.

We argued the point that we had only confirmed the booking for one evening and was under no obligation to stay or pay for 3 nights. Luckily my partner had read the card number wrong and so payment could not have been taken or they would have taken for all 3 nights.

We explained that we would be looking at another hotel that evening and would let them knwo the next day if we was leaving. This we was told was not acceptable to them and we had to let them know before that receptionist left that day (11pm ). We took the phone number checked out the other hotel and then called to confirm we would be leaving next day.

Upon arriving back at the hotel, we was informed we needed to pay a extra £90 deposit on the room, my partner went to the toilet and I was left in reception to sort this issue out. Here where it got really not nice, I was discussing ( with 2 receptionists) why they suddenly needed to take an extra £90 when a 3rd member of staff decided it was a good idea to stand behind me.

I found this to be

1 Very intimidating
2 Very aggravating



Overall all attitude of the staff

I found to be very very snobby and quiet rude as though they were talking down to lesser people than themselves.

Overall hotel

Poor it looks more like a council block of flats than a 5 star hotel, things I would expect from a 5 star hotel, car park, pool some kind of gym leisure facilities. This has none infact the rooms are pretty standard. The hotel is miles away from the centre, 18 euros in a taxi ( don't ask reception to order unless you want to pay a tip)


We switched to a much nicer, less expensive hotel that had a pool and a car park and friendly helpful staff. AVOID UNLESS you are in your 50s and looking for a very quiet stay in Amsterdam.

Only plus point is the sculpture walk located next door, great for a late night walk, however this is even cancelled out by the looks of suspicion that the staff give you when returning.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for this review and feedback on the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.
We are trying to strive to make our guests feel comfortable as much as possible during their stay, so we really do appreciate your feedback.
We regret to hear that the service you received by the staff did not meet your expectations.
Our service often get compliments on how friendly and helpful we are so we apologize that the same quality service was not extended to you during your stay.
Concerning the location we are only a 10 minute walk away from the Museum Square. Furthermore the tram lines are 4 minutes walking away from us which take you directly to the Leidse Square in 5 stops. Next to that we do offer valet parking and we have private parking spaces as well. Gym facilities can be used across the street. We are sorry for the insufficient information provided regarding our facilities.

We want to assure you that the incident mentioned by you does not reflect fairly our usual high levels of service; your comments have been taken into serious consideration by the management.

In case you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us directly.

Kind regards,


Ed W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I booked this weekend break through Secret Escapes at a very reasonable price for an Executive room at the Bilderberg, as a birthday treat for my partner. The room was excellent and very comfortable, the staff attentive and polite and very helpful with information on getting into the city centre. They also booked a taxi for us when we left, to pick up a friend from another hotel, then us, then to the airport, with no hassles. We used the No. 24 tram mostly but also the No. 5, both of which have you in the main area within 10-15 minutes. It is walking distance but the weather wasn't brilliant while we were there. We will most definitely be recommending the hotel to some Australian friends who will be in Holland in May. The only gripe is the price of the food in the restaurant - 22 euros each for breakfast is astronomically expensive - needless to say we only did that once. Brilliant weekend, brilliant hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We paid for an Executive room - top floor with private lift - spacious, light and airy - well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.