We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We've spent 2 nights in Bilderberg Garden for a weekend in the beginning of March 2014. Hotel is really far from the center. Of course it depends on what you mean "center". I consider it as Dam Square and Red Lights District. So by walk it takes at least 25 min, if you don't run 30 km/h when you are on vacation :)
Tram station is 200 m far from hotel entrance, trams go every 10 min, there is a schedule which they follow strictly.
Around the hotel there is quite area with private houses and green park.
But we didn't find good place to eat, everywhere cafés offer only sandwiches/burgers or organic food. We like meat, so we used to eat in China Town in the center of city.
Deluxe Room was clean and cosy, not very big, bed was comfortable. Interior needs to be renewed. Special word for a balcony: amazing! 2 cheers, 2 tables, green plants - it makes nice atmosphere to sit in the morning with cap of coffee.
I will barely choose this hotel again for a weekend, but because of great balcony and perfect bed I can advise Bilderberg Garden for people who likes to sleep very well and drink morning coffee outside.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe room with balcony, especially in the summer it is nice to end the day with a cold drink on your balcony. You mentioned the lack of good restaurants in the neighbourhood. Our reception and doormen can always help you to find a cosy and good restaurant. Closeby there are several nice areas to have dinner. In case you are coming back to Amsterdam I can recommand the Beethovenstraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat and de Pijp, wich are all nearby.
We are located in the Museum District and are also in walking distance of the famous Leidseplein and highend shopping street P.C. Hooftstraat. If you like to see the famous market in Amsterdam, the Albert Cuyp market is only 10 minutes away from us.

We hope to welcome you again and let you discover the nice area around our hotel.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed. W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    303
    130
    34
    25
See reviews for
67
332
34
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We've just returned from a 2 night break in Amsterdam, and we couldn't have been happier with the Bilderberg Garden Hotel - we're quite bemused by some negative reviews we've read here. The location is great - in a lovely, peaceful area, but with a couple of minutes' walk in either direction to catch a tram into the centre. We walked to the Rijksmuseum from the hotel, which was a very pleasant 10 minute walk. As for the hotel itself - we booked an all-in-one break with flights, so we chose one of the cheaper hotels on offer, to keep the overall cost down. Therefore we were very pleased with the quality of the accommodation we were found at the Bilderberg. We had a very nice room, with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in a hotel, and it had all the usual little touches of luxury, like the bathrobes and slippers, and the organic toiletries. I'm not sure what some people expect for the money - we're not talking The Savoy here, but it's a very comfortable, very warm and, we think, very well situated hotel, which we will definitely be recommending to anyone who's interested.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the best service as posible and appreciate that you have noticed our good location and the litte touches of luxury. Did you know that we also have Executive rooms for even more comfort. These rooms include free Wi-Fi, Nespesso machine, extra large bath towels and a Jacuzzi.
We higly appreciate your positive review and are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm regards,

Ed W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The staff were like something from the Gestapo, we had booked a apartment,that was cancelled the day we landed. So this was a last minute booking, we initially enquired about a 3 night stay booked for 1 night over the phone, but upon arriving decided this wasn't our kind of hotel. No facilities, other hotels offered much more for less and a lot closer to the centre. ( this hotel is almost in Belgium)

We informed the receptionist that we would only be staying for 1 night at which point she informed us we HAD TO STAY or PAY FOR THE 3 nights. When we went outside to discuss our options we was followed by the door man, and watched.

We argued the point that we had only confirmed the booking for one evening and was under no obligation to stay or pay for 3 nights. Luckily my partner had read the card number wrong and so payment could not have been taken or they would have taken for all 3 nights.

We explained that we would be looking at another hotel that evening and would let them knwo the next day if we was leaving. This we was told was not acceptable to them and we had to let them know before that receptionist left that day (11pm ). We took the phone number checked out the other hotel and then called to confirm we would be leaving next day.

Upon arriving back at the hotel, we was informed we needed to pay a extra £90 deposit on the room, my partner went to the toilet and I was left in reception to sort this issue out. Here where it got really not nice, I was discussing ( with 2 receptionists) why they suddenly needed to take an extra £90 when a 3rd member of staff decided it was a good idea to stand behind me.

I found this to be

1 Very intimidating
2 Very aggravating



Overall all attitude of the staff

I found to be very very snobby and quiet rude as though they were talking down to lesser people than themselves.

Overall hotel

Poor it looks more like a council block of flats than a 5 star hotel, things I would expect from a 5 star hotel, car park, pool some kind of gym leisure facilities. This has none infact the rooms are pretty standard. The hotel is miles away from the centre, 18 euros in a taxi ( don't ask reception to order unless you want to pay a tip)


We switched to a much nicer, less expensive hotel that had a pool and a car park and friendly helpful staff. AVOID UNLESS you are in your 50s and looking for a very quiet stay in Amsterdam.

Only plus point is the sculpture walk located next door, great for a late night walk, however this is even cancelled out by the looks of suspicion that the staff give you when returning.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for this review and feedback on the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.
We are trying to strive to make our guests feel comfortable as much as possible during their stay, so we really do appreciate your feedback.
We regret to hear that the service you received by the staff did not meet your expectations.
Our service often get compliments on how friendly and helpful we are so we apologize that the same quality service was not extended to you during your stay.
Concerning the location we are only a 10 minute walk away from the Museum Square. Furthermore the tram lines are 4 minutes walking away from us which take you directly to the Leidse Square in 5 stops. Next to that we do offer valet parking and we have private parking spaces as well. Gym facilities can be used across the street. We are sorry for the insufficient information provided regarding our facilities.

We want to assure you that the incident mentioned by you does not reflect fairly our usual high levels of service; your comments have been taken into serious consideration by the management.

In case you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us directly.

Kind regards,


Ed W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I booked this weekend break through Secret Escapes at a very reasonable price for an Executive room at the Bilderberg, as a birthday treat for my partner. The room was excellent and very comfortable, the staff attentive and polite and very helpful with information on getting into the city centre. They also booked a taxi for us when we left, to pick up a friend from another hotel, then us, then to the airport, with no hassles. We used the No. 24 tram mostly but also the No. 5, both of which have you in the main area within 10-15 minutes. It is walking distance but the weather wasn't brilliant while we were there. We will most definitely be recommending the hotel to some Australian friends who will be in Holland in May. The only gripe is the price of the food in the restaurant - 22 euros each for breakfast is astronomically expensive - needless to say we only did that once. Brilliant weekend, brilliant hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We paid for an Executive room - top floor with private lift - spacious, light and airy - well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icmeler, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a very good stay at Bildenberg Garden. First of all, hotel is nicely located, in a quiet area but can reach to local transportation in less than 5 minutes. We used no.16 tram to go to the centre; Dam or Rembrandt square; which takes only 10 minutes or less by tram and also only 2 minutes to Museumplein which has very good museums such as Rijks and Van Gogh. You can also walk there in 15 minutes.
Hotel room was just perfect. Very nice linens were used. Bathroom fantastic and also the room is modern and nicely decorated. Good TV channels.
CHeck in and out was very easy and quick. Staff helpful.Onlu downside is the wifi rate. If they reduce the rate or completely avoid it, will attract more guests.
Overall we had a very good stay and will go back if we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room on the corner was just awesome; which we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is within 15 minutes walking distance from Van Gogh and Rijks Museums, so it is in a quiet area. The room I stayed in was spacious, and really clean, with big bathroom. Hotel staff were cleaning the room 3 times a day. All the hotel staff were helpful and professional.The restaurant is primarily orientated to French cousine, which I am not really a fan of.
The only negative thing about this hotel is that you have to additionally pay for wi-fi (15 euros for 48 hours).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay! Close walk to city and tram. We were so pleasantly suprised by the restaurant, the food was incredible and staff were so nice. Turn down service was such a nice compliment. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.