We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“RUN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

From outside, it looks like a motel. To make a matter worse, it is located in an area far far away from the attractions. Do not have a bit of luxury feeling stay inside. Have absolutely no idea how it gets five stars. Any recommendation? one word: RUN.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    274
    105
    33
    20
See reviews for
61
285
30
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our introduction to this quiet, attractive hotel in a lovely area of Amsterdam epitomized our entire stay there. The concierge and desk staff were friendly and attentive, making us feel immediately at home. The breakfast was sumptuous - we especially enjoyed the thick crusted brown bread that was often warm, and local cheeses - and the room was very comfortable and had a lovely view of brick houses out of a Dutch genre painting. Our contacts with the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. We were able to walk to the museums, and the tram stop to the center was close by. After a busy day we enjoyed drinks by a fire in the lounge. Because it was our anniversary, my husband asked the concierge where he might buy flowers; later, we were surprised to find a bottle of champagne chilling in a bucket in our room. We were sorry to leave and vowed to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went to Amsterdam for a 2 day break to see the christmas market and lights. Lovely hotel, very clean and in a quiet location. Rooms were spacious with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in in a hotel. We used the trams to get about, there is a tram stop 5 minutes from the hotel and it takes just minutes by tram to the museums and 10 minutes to the centre of the city. Get your 48hour tram ticket from reception. We never used the hotel restaurant for breakfast as quite expensive but loads of places to eat in the city. You can hire bikes from the hotel but we didn't have time maybe next visit. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

..the first room had a broken A/C. The staff had us switch rooms without hassle, which was very nice of them. The service is great and staff is friendly. The room was pretty big and had everything you needed and the housekeeping was discreet and great. They even gave us apples, yum!

But, something that has been bothering me for a while now is how the big hotels, the luxurious ones, are the most greedy ones as well. 1-3 star hotels always provides free wifi (and believe me, I've stayed at my share of low-star hotels), 4+ never does. Bilderberg charge €3 for 60 mins and have plans for 12 and 24 hour as well. This charge is per device.

Wifi should be included, it is such a low-cost thing and means so much for tourists. We went to a local café instead, which brings me to my second point:

Low-star hotels almost always provides a free breakfast. It might not be fancy or diverse, but at least they show some effort. Bilderberg charge ~€21 per person for breakfast. It's way too expensive.

Overall: staff and service was great and friendly, but I was disappointed when I noticed we wouldn't have any internet without paying A LOT for it.

Breakfast isn't a big deal, there are some nice cafés very close to the hotel we went to instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just got back from a lovely stay in Amsterdam. We stayed for three nights at the Bilderberg Garden for a work trip that we extended through the weekend. We didn't pick the location, as it is a bit away from the city center, but I actually loved it. You can still walk to the museums in about 15 minutes, plus it's very easy to take the tram, and you get to experience the beautiful quite more local streets. There are some wonderful restaurants just up the street (Willems, Oud Zuid, & Verhulst Eten en Drinken).
Room was very clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable but I think the sheets were a polyester blend which isn't my favorite. The breakfast was fine but if it had not been included in our package, I would have gone up the street to a cafe.
All in all if you are looking for a nice clean modern hotel and don't mind/want to be in a quieter but good location, Bilderberg Garden fits the bill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

That's what you get. Overall the standard is OK, everything worked smoothly and the staff was very friendly, helping us out with all kinds of different problems.

Cons:
- Very expensive Internet. And, to be honest, it did not work that well. Wifi signal was bad everywhere.
- Expensive bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle, Gävleborgs Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is expensive as it is so this is just ridiculous! Avoid this hotel if you can! Talked the Reception about the Internet fee and got no response whatsoever! Some mumbojumbo about a decision that not all people use Internet. Hey WAKE UP this is 2013, Wifi connection is a standard service that should be included (and even if included in the room charge, it is noooo way €18 for a night).

Avoid this hotel if you if you don't want to be ripped off!

Room Tip: Far away from lift but within wifi range
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.