We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went to Amsterdam for a 2 day break to see the christmas market and lights. Lovely hotel, very clean and in a quiet location. Rooms were spacious with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in in a hotel. We used the trams to get about, there is a tram stop 5 minutes from the hotel and it takes just minutes by tram to the museums and 10 minutes to the centre of the city. Get your 48hour tram ticket from reception. We never used the hotel restaurant for breakfast as quite expensive but loads of places to eat in the city. You can hire bikes from the hotel but we didn't have time maybe next visit. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    281
    112
    33
    20
See reviews for
61
291
30
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

..the first room had a broken A/C. The staff had us switch rooms without hassle, which was very nice of them. The service is great and staff is friendly. The room was pretty big and had everything you needed and the housekeeping was discreet and great. They even gave us apples, yum!

But, something that has been bothering me for a while now is how the big hotels, the luxurious ones, are the most greedy ones as well. 1-3 star hotels always provides free wifi (and believe me, I've stayed at my share of low-star hotels), 4+ never does. Bilderberg charge €3 for 60 mins and have plans for 12 and 24 hour as well. This charge is per device.

Wifi should be included, it is such a low-cost thing and means so much for tourists. We went to a local café instead, which brings me to my second point:

Low-star hotels almost always provides a free breakfast. It might not be fancy or diverse, but at least they show some effort. Bilderberg charge ~€21 per person for breakfast. It's way too expensive.

Overall: staff and service was great and friendly, but I was disappointed when I noticed we wouldn't have any internet without paying A LOT for it.

Breakfast isn't a big deal, there are some nice cafés very close to the hotel we went to instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just got back from a lovely stay in Amsterdam. We stayed for three nights at the Bilderberg Garden for a work trip that we extended through the weekend. We didn't pick the location, as it is a bit away from the city center, but I actually loved it. You can still walk to the museums in about 15 minutes, plus it's very easy to take the tram, and you get to experience the beautiful quite more local streets. There are some wonderful restaurants just up the street (Willems, Oud Zuid, & Verhulst Eten en Drinken).
Room was very clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable but I think the sheets were a polyester blend which isn't my favorite. The breakfast was fine but if it had not been included in our package, I would have gone up the street to a cafe.
All in all if you are looking for a nice clean modern hotel and don't mind/want to be in a quieter but good location, Bilderberg Garden fits the bill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

That's what you get. Overall the standard is OK, everything worked smoothly and the staff was very friendly, helping us out with all kinds of different problems.

Cons:
- Very expensive Internet. And, to be honest, it did not work that well. Wifi signal was bad everywhere.
- Expensive bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle, Gävleborgs Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is expensive as it is so this is just ridiculous! Avoid this hotel if you can! Talked the Reception about the Internet fee and got no response whatsoever! Some mumbojumbo about a decision that not all people use Internet. Hey WAKE UP this is 2013, Wifi connection is a standard service that should be included (and even if included in the room charge, it is noooo way €18 for a night).

Avoid this hotel if you if you don't want to be ripped off!

Room Tip: Far away from lift but within wifi range
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Second stay for me, third for my husband at this very comfortable hotel. Located in a great location just South East of the main part of the city but fully walkable into the city - the museum area - Van Gogh and Rijks maybe a 10 minute walk. Large comfortable room with spacious bathroom, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary water and kettle. Every night they have a turndown service and make sure all the bathroom supplies are replenished and bring you an apple - nice touch. We didn't eat in the hotel but did have a drink at the bar. Staff were helpful and friendly.

It's a quiet upmarket residential area and there are a couple of great streets nearby for restaurants shops supermarket off licence if you want to stay local in the evening. Beethovenstraat and Cornelis Schuytstraat.

From the airport take a train to Zuid - 1 stop for 3 euro, come out of the station and take the tram no 5 approx 4-5 stops getting off at Beethovenstraat or the next stop on the bridge over the canal, don't go to Central Station in Amsterdam as this will take you way longer. Tram 5 but also tram 24 takes you in and out of the city - the hotel will give you a map. But we mostly walked it taking different routes including through the Vondelpark.

After spending our days walking around the city it was great that we didn't feel we had to haul back in in the evening, we ate at Fidelio on Beethoven - full menu but specials for different price brackets between 12 and 20 euros - I had a fab venison steak for 18.50. We also visited an Italian on Cornelius on the corner, and had breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien same street.

Try the local Amstel Boch beer - lovely amber beer while you are there.

Great visit once again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quieter residential street rather than the main road - not that it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Where should I start... I got there on Friday night, they didn't find my reservation for 1 hr (though it WAS there).
Room was ok not much more... location is good.
Than I checked out forgetting some items in my room - They were not found (probably were thrown to the garbage) sorry. This is NOT what I would expect as a client.

I will NOT be there again!

Room Tip: You can find better places
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.