We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, walkable into City but quiet residential area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, walkable into City but quiet residential area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Second stay for me, third for my husband at this very comfortable hotel. Located in a great location just South East of the main part of the city but fully walkable into the city - the museum area - Van Gogh and Rijks maybe a 10 minute walk. Large comfortable room with spacious bathroom, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary water and kettle. Every night they have a turndown service and make sure all the bathroom supplies are replenished and bring you an apple - nice touch. We didn't eat in the hotel but did have a drink at the bar. Staff were helpful and friendly.

It's a quiet upmarket residential area and there are a couple of great streets nearby for restaurants shops supermarket off licence if you want to stay local in the evening. Beethovenstraat and Cornelis Schuytstraat.

From the airport take a train to Zuid - 1 stop for 3 euro, come out of the station and take the tram no 5 approx 4-5 stops getting off at Beethovenstraat or the next stop on the bridge over the canal, don't go to Central Station in Amsterdam as this will take you way longer. Tram 5 but also tram 24 takes you in and out of the city - the hotel will give you a map. But we mostly walked it taking different routes including through the Vondelpark.

After spending our days walking around the city it was great that we didn't feel we had to haul back in in the evening, we ate at Fidelio on Beethoven - full menu but specials for different price brackets between 12 and 20 euros - I had a fab venison steak for 18.50. We also visited an Italian on Cornelius on the corner, and had breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien same street.

Try the local Amstel Boch beer - lovely amber beer while you are there.

Great visit once again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quieter residential street rather than the main road - not that it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    257
    107
    31
    20
See reviews for
56
258
30
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Where should I start... I got there on Friday night, they didn't find my reservation for 1 hr (though it WAS there).
Room was ok not much more... location is good.
Than I checked out forgetting some items in my room - They were not found (probably were thrown to the garbage) sorry. This is NOT what I would expect as a client.

I will NOT be there again!

Room Tip: You can find better places
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

They greeted me with Champagne during check in which was cool. Everyone was extremely pleasant to deal with. Very nice atmosphere in the lobby. The room was very large for a EU hotel, excellent decor and everything appeared to be updated or new. Also very clean.

No views and I was only here for a night so I do not know about the amenities.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights whilst my partner was running the Amsterdam marathon. Stayed in an executive room which was spacious and had nice touches of whirlpool bath robe and slippers and coffee machine. Breakfast in hotel is expensive but is a lovely cafe on the main road a short walk away. Tram stop at the end of the road with trams every ten minutes.Staff at hotel very friendly....we sat in lounge and someone came and lit the log fire for us. Drinks in the bar reasonably priced. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A really comfortable hotel in a nice quiet area of the city. It's expensive for our budget but we got a good deal and so could enjoy a lovely hotel without too much worry. The staff looked after us well and the room was extremely clean and comfortable with plenty of space. We didn't have the breakfast because it seemed excessively expensive (on any budget, for a breakfast!) but there are some nice local cafes instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having spent our last two trips to Amsterdam in the Centrum area, we took the advice of friends who recommended the Bilderberg Garden. It turned out to be a beautiful hotel 10 minutes walk to Museumplein and a short walk later to Leidesplein. The hotel is nestled in amongst some of the most expensive homes in Amsterdam. The biggest complaint we had was when we arrived from the airport at 1030A they made us wait 3.5 hours to check in when I had notified them of my expected arrival time. In the executive room the shower setup was rather bizarre-causing the floor to flood by the overspray and lack of water barrier. The restaurant-De Kersentuin was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely area of Amsterdam and most importantly, it is quiet and comfortable. It is also within walking distance of the Vondelpark (perfect for a Sunday stroll!) and the main museums. We enjoyed our stay in an executive room which was spacious and nicely furnished. The bathroom is starting to look a little tired but is perfectly adequate. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel - we felt 22 euros a head for continental breakfast was bordering on the ridiculous but we found a lovely bakery/café a short distance away. We did have drinks in the bar when we arrived which were reasonably priced. Although it may not merit the 5 star rating when compared with the newer hotels in the same class, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.