We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* at best!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“3* at best!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'm not sure i can think of one positive thing to say about this hotel, except for the politeness of the staff. It is not 4* let alone 5. It resembles an old-peoples home (and the elevator smells as such). The rooms are ok, but of 3* standard. There is a 17€ charge for internet access, but the icing on the cake is the 17€50 charge for access to the fitness centre 'over the road'. I've never stayed in a 5* star hotel that charges for such facilities!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    263
    101
    31
    20
See reviews for
61
277
30
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schilde, België
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located in the nicer part of Amsterdam, near the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museum. The entrance is ok and looks nice and modern. The staff is friendly as well. For a five star hotel I miss a lot of extra's: no pool, no fitness (available across the street for eur 17,50, far toonhigh a price), a small and too dark bar and lobby. The room itself was a bit outdated but nicely refurbished with a good bed (type boxspring). What struck me as odd for a five star hotel is the fact that my matras had a plastic cover, that is really very uncomfortable and warm. The bathroom is ok, but not all the plastwork was neatly done and I had to shower in the tub. Wifi was available in the room and roomservice was friendly and fast. I had the caesar salad which was good. If you can choose between this hotel or the Hilton next door, choose the latter!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Bilderberg Garden. It's convenient during the IBC expo and a decent enough hotel. However during this stay I checked in normally and authorised a payment on my credit card for 50 EUROs per night and left my credit card on file as normal in most hotels worldwide. On our second night at the hotel, a colleague of mine had a complaint about pre-paying his full stay at the hotel after receiving a cryptic message to his room in the morning. Something that is unheard of in any hotel and so I went with him to the front desk. The concierge had no good explanation for this and got more and more rude trying to explain an unexplainable situation at which point we walked away trying to wait for a more convenient time to talk to hotel staff that could actually help. Minutes later my credit card was charged a no-show fee for the full stay at the hotel. A totally unauthorised charge and ridiculous considering I'm still staying at the hotel. Obviously a snap reaction and bad judgement by the concierge. But asking for the manager yielded no one and just even more rude reactions by the concierge for having been caught charging a no-show fee for now reason (He probably didn't realise I'd get immediate notification by my bank). This kind of behaviour is unacceptable in any hotel and totally insane. I do hope the hotel can fix this before I check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

All hotels are outrageously expensive in Amsterdam, but at least this one makes you feel you are getting (almost) value. The service is good, wifi works perfectly, the location is excellent for getting from Schiphol (just one stop to Amsterdam Zuid then a 15 min easy walk), and exploring Amsterdam (20 min easy walk to the Rijksmuseum), and this is a VERY clean hotel. All in all, I would rate this higher than the Hilton across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Proper hotel, 30 min walk to the city center. Good breakfast. I didn't have a dinner there myself, but my colleagues did and really liked it. But overall I would never give five star to it as it supposed to be, 4 max. The bed was really comfortable thought, which was surprising to me, because normally all hotels beds are kind of same, but in this one I had a really good sleep :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was a base for our romantic wedding anniversary weekend break. The location was good for us as close enough to tram which takes you everywhere you need to get to. It is in a quiet street away from all the noise. We didn't experience the food as we found some nice restaurants, cheaper in city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful Friendly staff- Nice accomodations. We loved the location of this property- in more of a residential area, close to Museum Quarter and Vondel Park- Very safe- beautiful area. Close to restaurants and high end shops. Spacious guest room- enjoyed the daily brunch-

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.