We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Concierge Charges No Show During Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, Amsterdam 1077 BJ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude Concierge Charges No Show During Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Bilderberg Garden. It's convenient during the IBC expo and a decent enough hotel. However during this stay I checked in normally and authorised a payment on my credit card for 50 EUROs per night and left my credit card on file as normal in most hotels worldwide. On our second night at the hotel, a colleague of mine had a complaint about pre-paying his full stay at the hotel after receiving a cryptic message to his room in the morning. Something that is unheard of in any hotel and so I went with him to the front desk. The concierge had no good explanation for this and got more and more rude trying to explain an unexplainable situation at which point we walked away trying to wait for a more convenient time to talk to hotel staff that could actually help. Minutes later my credit card was charged a no-show fee for the full stay at the hotel. A totally unauthorised charge and ridiculous considering I'm still staying at the hotel. Obviously a snap reaction and bad judgement by the concierge. But asking for the manager yielded no one and just even more rude reactions by the concierge for having been caught charging a no-show fee for now reason (He probably didn't realise I'd get immediate notification by my bank). This kind of behaviour is unacceptable in any hotel and totally insane. I do hope the hotel can fix this before I check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    235
    102
    30
    18
See reviews for
50
236
29
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

All hotels are outrageously expensive in Amsterdam, but at least this one makes you feel you are getting (almost) value. The service is good, wifi works perfectly, the location is excellent for getting from Schiphol (just one stop to Amsterdam Zuid then a 15 min easy walk), and exploring Amsterdam (20 min easy walk to the Rijksmuseum), and this is a VERY clean hotel. All in all, I would rate this higher than the Hilton across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Proper hotel, 30 min walk to the city center. Good breakfast. I didn't have a dinner there myself, but my colleagues did and really liked it. But overall I would never give five star to it as it supposed to be, 4 max. The bed was really comfortable thought, which was surprising to me, because normally all hotels beds are kind of same, but in this one I had a really good sleep :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was a base for our romantic wedding anniversary weekend break. The location was good for us as close enough to tram which takes you everywhere you need to get to. It is in a quiet street away from all the noise. We didn't experience the food as we found some nice restaurants, cheaper in city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful Friendly staff- Nice accomodations. We loved the location of this property- in more of a residential area, close to Museum Quarter and Vondel Park- Very safe- beautiful area. Close to restaurants and high end shops. Spacious guest room- enjoyed the daily brunch-

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Situated in a quiet leafy area of Amsterdam the hotel is perfectly located for a pleasant walk into the city passing lovely cafes, restaurants, shops and canals. Our room was perfect - spacious and very clean. Food and drink was very good. The highlight of our stay was barman Frank who was exceptionally friendly and great fun. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you want the closeness of the city whilst enjoying the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view overlooking the quiet tree-lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is dated. Common areas such as reception look great but rooms and in particular the bathrooms need modern reburbishment. We were upgraded to an executive room, if we had paid full price there would have been a serious complaint as these are overpriced by European city standards. Marketed as a 'boutique hotel' in central Amsterdam the hotel is in an expensive residential district on the outskirts of the city,adding the cost of tram rides into the city each day.
Our room was noisy as traffic form the main road below and the constant 'beeping' of the crossing was clearly heard all night. Room facilities included a Nespresso coffee machine which is great but only one tea bag for two people in an executive room! Hardly five star expectations... The bathroom door did not shut, when using the toilet the door hit you! Eating out locally is expensive, it compares to St John's Wood in London for style and expense and the local houses suggest wealth rather than tourism. This hotel is clearly aimed at business/conference users rather than tourists.

Room Tip: Stay else where and save holiday time and a lot of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden
Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, Amsterdam 1077 BJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.