We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Situated in a quiet leafy area of Amsterdam the hotel is perfectly located for a pleasant walk into the city passing lovely cafes, restaurants, shops and canals. Our room was perfect - spacious and very clean. Food and drink was very good. The highlight of our stay was barman Frank who was exceptionally friendly and great fun. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you want the closeness of the city whilst enjoying the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view overlooking the quiet tree-lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    281
    112
    33
    20
See reviews for
61
291
30
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is dated. Common areas such as reception look great but rooms and in particular the bathrooms need modern reburbishment. We were upgraded to an executive room, if we had paid full price there would have been a serious complaint as these are overpriced by European city standards. Marketed as a 'boutique hotel' in central Amsterdam the hotel is in an expensive residential district on the outskirts of the city,adding the cost of tram rides into the city each day.
Our room was noisy as traffic form the main road below and the constant 'beeping' of the crossing was clearly heard all night. Room facilities included a Nespresso coffee machine which is great but only one tea bag for two people in an executive room! Hardly five star expectations... The bathroom door did not shut, when using the toilet the door hit you! Eating out locally is expensive, it compares to St John's Wood in London for style and expense and the local houses suggest wealth rather than tourism. This hotel is clearly aimed at business/conference users rather than tourists.

Room Tip: Stay else where and save holiday time and a lot of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel overall was very pleasant, but the front desk staff was the most accommodating and friendly staff we have encountered in a very long time. They are to be commended!! We so enjoyed the area and peace of the surrounding parks, etc....would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location. Easy to cycle to city centre. The restaurant is excellent. Staff are very friendly and very helpful. Only minor let down for me is no gym but in saying that it is only 5 mins walk to a lovely park where you can run walk and cycle to your hearts content.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years when visiting Amsterdam. I have never had a bad experience here, in fact I continue to be impressed with every visit. The accomadation is excellent and the staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Although some way from the city centre the immediate surroundings and atmosphere of the Bilderberg Garden hotel are a breath of fresh air from the hustle and bustle of the city.

A very well appointed executive room was a welcome respite from a weekend of walking various routes from the hotel to the centre (try the walk via Vondelpark on a Sunday morning if you can). A great bed guaranteed a good nights sleep, respectful housekeeping were mindful of our desire for peace and quiet. Front desk and catering staff were also great with no request too much.

All in all no complaints whatsoever, the Bilderberg Garden is highly recommended as far as I am concerned and will be on my short-list when returning to the Dam.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet, upper class neighborhood, and is a short walk to public transportation. The staff is awesome! They were all friendly and extremely helpful. The bar/restaurant in the main lobby has a great "Bilderburger", pasta, and pizza. Eat and drink inside or outside, and say hello to Frank. He's a world traveler and aside from conversation, he is very knowledgeable about the area if you need some suggestions. There are also several neighborhood bars and restaurants within a 15 minute walk, including Italian, Tapas, Moroccan, and Japanese.

There are several criteria I look for in a hotel: quiet, comfortable, and clean. This hotel was all 3, and more. The check-in process was quick and easy. The room was ready, clean and quiet. I like the swipe cards for keys; I didn't even have to take the key out of my wallet; just swiped the wallet on the door plate and the door unlocked. The green apples in the room and outside the elevator were a nice and welcome extra. Every request was met with a smile and acknowledgement. It was obvious that the staff had training on how to treat guests, and they do it well. We ate several times in their bar/restaurant, and bought tour excursion tickets and public transportation cards from the front desk. The staff was always helpful in taking out a map and showing where the hotel is in relation to other attractions. There is a mini bar in the room, and you can rearrange the contents to use it as a refrigerator without being automatically charged (some hotels have sensors that detect product removal and automatically charge). Although the hotel has a traditional, historic look on the outside, the rooms were fairly modern. Housekeeping does its job in keeping the room clean. Every day upon returning to the Bilderberg Garden, we sat outside and gave a comfortable sigh in the peace and quiet of this nice neighborhood.

What else can I say? Staff can make or break a business, and the staff here certainly makes it a hotel I would return to without hesitation. When you want to get away from the noise and hustle & bustle of the center of the city, this is a great choice, even though it's less than a 15 minute tram/bus ride to Central Station. Well done Bilderberg Garden!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.