We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Bilderberg Garden Hotel is located in a quiet, upscale neighbourhood about 15 minutes from the City centre. It is near Museumplein ( about 15 minutes walk) with the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Stedelijk Museum.
The P C Hooftstraat is also nearby with the usual top market brands ( Vuitton, Armani etca.).
The hotel is modern, elegant with good size rooms. Service is friendly and professional ( asking for a later check-out we were charged 10 euros per hour). The restaurant was closed during our stay. The breakfast buffet was average with a somewhat confused serving staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    274
    105
    33
    20
See reviews for
61
285
30
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a lovely four night stay in this hotel, located in the museum quarter of Amsterdam in a peaceful upscale neighborhood. This was after a one week Holland America cruise on the Eurodam to different cities and fjords of Norway. The front desk staff, concierge, housekeeping and restaurant staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with excellent suggestions. Nice fresh green apples were put out for us each day, which was a delight. The restaurant food for lunch and dinner was very good and moderately priced. Frank was our awesome server several times and really made us feel welcome in a relaxing atmosphere. The Bilderburger was very tasty, cooked to my specifications. The pizza royale with salami was very good too. We enjoyed the onion soup. Try the delicious smelling and tasting warm apple pie for dessert with whipped cream and ice cream. Daniel provided us with great directions and suggestions for our stay. Other staff members, sorry I forgot all your names were great as well, which really makes a difference in the quality of our stay. All hotels should train their staff as well as this hotel does. This is a smaller boutique type upscale nonsmoking hotel. Our room had a very comfortable large bed and pillows. Each of the four nights it was very quiet, except on the morning after our first night we were awoken by loud construction noises near the hotel which went on for three hours on and off starting at 7am. This only happened on the first morning and was not the fault of the hotel. There was a mini bar, which we did not use except to keep some medications and fruit refrigerated. The bath amenities were great. There is a complimentary shoe shine available. Room was very clean each day with turndown service in the evenings. We had climate control on the maximum and temperature averaged between 70-74 degrees Fahrenheit. One day it was a little warm and they brought us a fan up to our room which helped. Wifi was expensive so we did not use it. I would suggest that the hotel provide free wifi access in the future as I noticed that many other hotels do. We were able to get free wifi access various places around the city. If you eat at a certain restaurant in the city or go to some attractions, see if they have a free wifi access code that they can give you. The hotel was only a few blocks away from the numbers 5 and 16 tram lines which brought us all over the city of Amsterdam. Waits for the trams were never longer than 10 minutes. We bought a three day 72 hour pass from the hotel which was only 33 euros total for the both of us. One day we booked a tour through the concierge of the hotel of the Holland countryside featuring windmills, a cheese factory, Dutch shoe factory, a boat ride, and fishing village with times to shop and have lunch. We also took a canal cruise which was very nice but had to wait almost a hour in line for boat after we had bought the tickets. The Heineken experience was fun and we only had to wait in line about 15 minutes to buy tickets and get in. We spent slightly more and had the rooftop burger with an extra drink, which was good for lunch after the tour. It was fun shopping at the flower market and the Albert Cuyp Market too. If you want to visit Anne Frank museum, go online to their website several weeks beforehand you pre-purchase reservation tickets so you do not have to wait in line for three hours. Breakfast in this hotel was disappointing, costing 17.5 euros per person if booked in advance at the front desk, otherwise it was 5 euros per person more. The middle aged woman at the breakfast with the dark hair seemed annoyed that we mentioned the discount and I had to be very insistent in order for her to honor it. The orange juice tasted like a disgusting watered down concoction and should be better real orange juice for this price. Twice we went up and there was no bacon replaced within close to an hours time, which was unacceptable. Breakfast selections could have been better quality. That is why we only had the breakfast once. Lunch and dinner were much better with friendlier service. You can eat lunch or dinner inside or outside. There is an electronic combination safe in the room for your valuables. This is a pet friendly hotel as we saw several people with dogs. I am not sure if only certain rooms are reserved for people with pets but thankfully it didn't bother our allergies. Upon checkin, they took a 200 euro hold on my credit card and I asked to have it released upon checkout. We had ordered a taxi from the hotel staff the night before our early morning flight which arrived promptly. It was 46 euros for the two of us to the AMS airport. Taxis are expensive in this city so better to do public transportation most of the time. We would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time we visit Amsterdam. Thank you for making us feel comfortable and welcome at our home away from home. We also got a very good deal on Priceline, which is how I discovered this gem of a hotel. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in August 2013. Lovely hotel, staff really pleasant and nothing was a problem.

It was our wedding anniversary when we stayed and there was a half bottle of champagne in the room as will as them upgrading us to an executive room which was very nicely decorated.

Would highly recommend this hotel and definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg after getting a deal though Late bookings. Saw 5* rating so assumed a great hotel.
We stayed in a delux room and the room itself was very good. Good bed and spacious room. However the whirlpool bath was very noisy, We had bottled water with screw tops so could not open, and the coffee machine and bedside alarm clock were a nightmare to work.
The biggest dissapointment was the outside of the hotel. It looked like a 1970's housing estate. Also we were asked on arrival for a £50 deposit which was not mentioned wehn booking as well as a city tax of 10 euro for 2 nites.

It was however very quiet and the staff were great and it was in a really nice neighbourhood close to trams and Vondel park. Not worthy of 5* rating more a good solid 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Not a 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg Hotel for 3 nights at the start of July. We arrived early in the morning and we faced a rather unpleasant surprise: we were told that we had to pre-pay for our entire stay AND pay a sum of 50 euros/night as an "insurance deposit" for the mini-bar and bike rentals. Mind you, we hadn't rented any bikes and I doubt there are 50 euros worth of things in the mini-bar. The staff insisted that this is "standard in Amsterdam". I had been to the city 3 times before, and was never asked for any kind of "insurance deposit". As we didn't have a credit card with us, we were left with no cash and we had to use our overdraft. That helped set the tone for our stay.

The hotel is not bad per se. The rooms are big and comfortable, the airco worked in the room, the apple every every evening was a nice touch. Still the carpets and the room doors felt dates and in need of refurbishment. The area is a posh, residential Amsterdam suburb - but since Amsterdam is really a small place, it's just 7 minutes by tram (station is 3 minutes on foot) to Leidseplein and the canals.

The price was ok - but I wonder why hotels (including this one) keep on having this absurd charges like e.g. 17euros per day for wi-fi or even a small charge to use the business centre? Really makes no sense nowadays.

A pleasant experience but the deposit issue did cast a shadow...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. After reading some 'negative' comments, I was pleased to notice the most of the comments are not too realistic.

+++: The hotel has a very helpfull staff, large room with airco (good to have in that hot weather), great location just away of 2 minute walking distance for the tram=> located in the residential area ( no noise @ night!)

- - -: maybe the prices for drinks @ hotelbar, it's cheaper to go for a drink in the city.

It's a 5 star-hotel? yes and no, the hotel feels very modern and has no high luxury equipment. But the details made your stay comfortable (every night turndown-service, coffee-tea on the room, great breakfast, bellboy,..)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Because my 89 year old mother needs a "walk in shower" we were advised to book an executive room, about $35 more per night than a regular room. I had also asked for 2 seperate beds. When we arrived, there were no seperate beds, we were told there are no rooms with shower and sperate beds, different from what I was told on the phone!!! They solved the problem by giving me my own room, which was a nice gesture. My mom could never use the shower, it was a huge step to get in and no support what so ever, waste of extra $ 35 per night, and how uncomfortable since her "climate control" also didn't work, a problem that other guests had too, we found out! We asked for the $35 per night back but they told us we already received an extra room ( we didn't ask for..., their solution). Apparently there are no facilites for handicapped or older people! My advise is, go next door to The Hilton, especially when you're used to airco. There were some other problems with the reservation, my sister reserved the hotel restaurant "Kersentuin" for Monday night, and received a nice email back, welcoming us, only to receive another email 3 days later, telling us the restaurant was closed. Turns out the restaurant is always closed during the peak of summer, so they knew when we made the reservation, pretty serious oversight! My sister and brother in law had booked a regular room and it was about the same size as the more expensive executive suite, the only difference.... no jaccuzi ,but...... it was nice and cool! The hotel has an gloomy outdoor area overlooking a parking lot, go across the street to The Hilton and you'll find one of the most beautiful terraces in Amsterdam, overlooking the water. I would not have written this review if they had just given us the $70 back. (not about the money, a question of princpal and service) I'm sure I'll get a "we had already given you an extra room, free of charge, very unusual" reaction. That did not make up for not being able to shower when temperatures inside and outside your room reach close to 90 degrees!!! On the postive side, all personnel was extremely friendly and helpful!
We have stayed in Bilderberg hotels many times but will not return to this one!

Room Tip: Definitely don't spend your money on an executive suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.