We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but not 5*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice room, but not 5*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg after getting a deal though Late bookings. Saw 5* rating so assumed a great hotel.
We stayed in a delux room and the room itself was very good. Good bed and spacious room. However the whirlpool bath was very noisy, We had bottled water with screw tops so could not open, and the coffee machine and bedside alarm clock were a nightmare to work.
The biggest dissapointment was the outside of the hotel. It looked like a 1970's housing estate. Also we were asked on arrival for a £50 deposit which was not mentioned wehn booking as well as a city tax of 10 euro for 2 nites.

It was however very quiet and the staff were great and it was in a really nice neighbourhood close to trams and Vondel park. Not worthy of 5* rating more a good solid 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Not a 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    245
    97
    30
    20
See reviews for
57
259
30
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg Hotel for 3 nights at the start of July. We arrived early in the morning and we faced a rather unpleasant surprise: we were told that we had to pre-pay for our entire stay AND pay a sum of 50 euros/night as an "insurance deposit" for the mini-bar and bike rentals. Mind you, we hadn't rented any bikes and I doubt there are 50 euros worth of things in the mini-bar. The staff insisted that this is "standard in Amsterdam". I had been to the city 3 times before, and was never asked for any kind of "insurance deposit". As we didn't have a credit card with us, we were left with no cash and we had to use our overdraft. That helped set the tone for our stay.

The hotel is not bad per se. The rooms are big and comfortable, the airco worked in the room, the apple every every evening was a nice touch. Still the carpets and the room doors felt dates and in need of refurbishment. The area is a posh, residential Amsterdam suburb - but since Amsterdam is really a small place, it's just 7 minutes by tram (station is 3 minutes on foot) to Leidseplein and the canals.

The price was ok - but I wonder why hotels (including this one) keep on having this absurd charges like e.g. 17euros per day for wi-fi or even a small charge to use the business centre? Really makes no sense nowadays.

A pleasant experience but the deposit issue did cast a shadow...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. After reading some 'negative' comments, I was pleased to notice the most of the comments are not too realistic.

+++: The hotel has a very helpfull staff, large room with airco (good to have in that hot weather), great location just away of 2 minute walking distance for the tram=> located in the residential area ( no noise @ night!)

- - -: maybe the prices for drinks @ hotelbar, it's cheaper to go for a drink in the city.

It's a 5 star-hotel? yes and no, the hotel feels very modern and has no high luxury equipment. But the details made your stay comfortable (every night turndown-service, coffee-tea on the room, great breakfast, bellboy,..)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Because my 89 year old mother needs a "walk in shower" we were advised to book an executive room, about $35 more per night than a regular room. I had also asked for 2 seperate beds. When we arrived, there were no seperate beds, we were told there are no rooms with shower and sperate beds, different from what I was told on the phone!!! They solved the problem by giving me my own room, which was a nice gesture. My mom could never use the shower, it was a huge step to get in and no support what so ever, waste of extra $ 35 per night, and how uncomfortable since her "climate control" also didn't work, a problem that other guests had too, we found out! We asked for the $35 per night back but they told us we already received an extra room ( we didn't ask for..., their solution). Apparently there are no facilites for handicapped or older people! My advise is, go next door to The Hilton, especially when you're used to airco. There were some other problems with the reservation, my sister reserved the hotel restaurant "Kersentuin" for Monday night, and received a nice email back, welcoming us, only to receive another email 3 days later, telling us the restaurant was closed. Turns out the restaurant is always closed during the peak of summer, so they knew when we made the reservation, pretty serious oversight! My sister and brother in law had booked a regular room and it was about the same size as the more expensive executive suite, the only difference.... no jaccuzi ,but...... it was nice and cool! The hotel has an gloomy outdoor area overlooking a parking lot, go across the street to The Hilton and you'll find one of the most beautiful terraces in Amsterdam, overlooking the water. I would not have written this review if they had just given us the $70 back. (not about the money, a question of princpal and service) I'm sure I'll get a "we had already given you an extra room, free of charge, very unusual" reaction. That did not make up for not being able to shower when temperatures inside and outside your room reach close to 90 degrees!!! On the postive side, all personnel was extremely friendly and helpful!
We have stayed in Bilderberg hotels many times but will not return to this one!

Room Tip: Definitely don't spend your money on an executive suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel for 2 nights as we visiting Amsterdam with some friends to celebrate a 30th. I managed to bag a good deal through Secret Escapes for this hotel and secured an executive room.
The hotel was a 20 minute trip on the bus from Schiphol and easy to locate after exiting from the Museumplein. I had emailed the hotel the day before to see if we could gain early access to our room and despite not getting a certain yes in my reply, when we checked in 2 out of the 3 rooms in our group managed to check in around 11 am.
The room itself was lovey, a big comfortable bed with a Samsung TV in the end with an array of channels. Good size bathroom with a jacuzzi bath (which we didn't actually use) and all the amenities one should require. A few nice touches including fresh bottles of water delivered to the room everyday as well as apples made for a nice treat. We didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to explore eateries in the city, but it was busy everyday - even if it did look to be a bit on the expensive side.
The hotel staff were very friendly, handing out maps when requested and explaining all we needed to know about the local area. The hotel is located in a lovely part of Amsterdam, 20 minutes away from the hub of the city center (Dam Square, red light district etc) on the tram. Although a nice walk through Vondelpark towards the Jordaan area makes a nice change to using public transport.
Overall, a fantastic stay and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: I managed to get a good deal through Secret Escapes for an executive room, but my friend stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A special 50th birthday trip was enhanced by our 3 nights in the Bilderberg. First night noise issues, sorted immediately. After that, nothing was too much of a problem for the wonderful staff.
Far enough out for the peace and quiet, near enough to the city for a pleasant stroll every morning through Vondel Park.
My only regret was not eating in the restaurant as we had our evenings planned. Next time.....

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room away from the kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed for a couple of days for business.
The impression was very bright. Room was comfortable, spacious with cosy bed. Bathroom was nice with scented oatsoaps.
It is not too close to the city centre but it takes 2 minutes to get Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum by bicycle ('m sure this is the best way to go sightseeing in Amsterdam). Bicycles could be rent right in the hotel.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. I also liked that they had a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.