We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From arrival to departure...wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Receive a Dutch treat!
Ranked #106 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leek
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“From arrival to departure...wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A special 50th birthday trip was enhanced by our 3 nights in the Bilderberg. First night noise issues, sorted immediately. After that, nothing was too much of a problem for the wonderful staff.
Far enough out for the peace and quiet, near enough to the city for a pleasant stroll every morning through Vondel Park.
My only regret was not eating in the restaurant as we had our evenings planned. Next time.....

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room away from the kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    309
    134
    36
    25
See reviews for
68
339
35
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed for a couple of days for business.
The impression was very bright. Room was comfortable, spacious with cosy bed. Bathroom was nice with scented oatsoaps.
It is not too close to the city centre but it takes 2 minutes to get Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum by bicycle ('m sure this is the best way to go sightseeing in Amsterdam). Bicycles could be rent right in the hotel.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. I also liked that they had a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for a Conference and we were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the location of the Hotel. It is in a very quiet and nice neighbourhood, which makes it convenient and pleasant. From there it is a short walk to RAI. Also there are two main tramway lines and the train station is not too far away. Overall good stay.
However, be aware of the city tax that they are going to charge on top of the overall rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for a week in bilderberg hotel , I choose to have breakfast in the hotel and paid extra for that. Room was very comfortable with attached cozy bathroom.it is very close to the city centre. But not walking. It is close to the train station ( no 5 and 24 takes 10-15 minutes to reach central station. Bar and bar attendant was excellent . Great service , friendly and helpful staff. I bought my train tickets from the hotel reception.
I wasn't quite happy with the breakfast as they served same menu with very limited choice menu.Absolutely fix menu daily. Oh god I couldn't eat same breakfast every day. Finally I decided to withdraw from breakfast though I paid in advance but they adjusted balance whilst checkout in my final bill.
Wifi was not free .perhaps you will have to pay for wifi in most of the hotels in amsterdam.

Overall it was very comfortable stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying here you can find few very nice shops for great breakfast at reasonable price. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

plus:
- just outside the city centre, valet parking.
- comfortable room, minibar, safe, good bed, airco, bathrobes
- perfect breakfast/lunch/dinner
- meeting rooms, bar
- nice staff
minus:
- garden?? there is nothing more than a terrace next to the entrance
- my room had a combined bathtub/shower, not ideal if you have knee/hip problems
plus or minus:
- not in the heart of the city, but in a quiet part of Amsterdam
- not a hotel for small children

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I can only think that the negative comments were written by people who stayed at another hotel.

The Bilderberg Garden is a lovely hotel: our exec room was precisely that; it did not purport to be a suite, it was not overly large, but it was extremely comfortable, the jacuzzi was a perfect facility after a long day's sightseeing, huge fluffy bath sheets, crisp bed linen, all changed daily.

The staff could not have been more welcoming, more attentive or more helpful. It is difficult to single out individuals when this ethic pervades the hotel from management down, but Frank (bar manager, comedian, tour guide, politician, all-round star) is, perhaps, the jewel in the crown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in Bilderberg Garden for one night after moving on from another hotel.
First of all the location is great, relatively close to the city centre while situated in a calm, higher class area with wonderfully cozy cafes nearby.

The room is modern and clean, comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. Bathrobes and apples in the room were a nice addition.

The service however was what ruined the experience entirely.
The room was paid for in advance, yet the reception rudely requested 50€ deposit (which was neither mentioned anywhere beforehand nor was it explained nor did I notice anybody else paying this).
Every other employee simply ignored us and offered their help to the customers in front and behind us instead.
We were appropriately dressed and not in any way negatively attracting attention apart from being younger than the average customers, so I find this behaviour absolutely inacceptable.

The next day however we were woken up three times starting at 7am by employees entering our room just to leave again.
Upon checking out of the hotel, I had to demand the 50€ deposit as the receptionist seemed to know nothing about it.


The price paid did not justify the room, but considering the many incidents we had with the employees it was an absolute waste of money and I would not recommend anybody to book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.