We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, Amsterdam 1077 BJ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“perfect business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

plus:
- just outside the city centre, valet parking.
- comfortable room, minibar, safe, good bed, airco, bathrobes
- perfect breakfast/lunch/dinner
- meeting rooms, bar
- nice staff
minus:
- garden?? there is nothing more than a terrace next to the entrance
- my room had a combined bathtub/shower, not ideal if you have knee/hip problems
plus or minus:
- not in the heart of the city, but in a quiet part of Amsterdam
- not a hotel for small children

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    254
    104
    31
    18
See reviews for
56
253
30
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I can only think that the negative comments were written by people who stayed at another hotel.

The Bilderberg Garden is a lovely hotel: our exec room was precisely that; it did not purport to be a suite, it was not overly large, but it was extremely comfortable, the jacuzzi was a perfect facility after a long day's sightseeing, huge fluffy bath sheets, crisp bed linen, all changed daily.

The staff could not have been more welcoming, more attentive or more helpful. It is difficult to single out individuals when this ethic pervades the hotel from management down, but Frank (bar manager, comedian, tour guide, politician, all-round star) is, perhaps, the jewel in the crown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in Bilderberg Garden for one night after moving on from another hotel.
First of all the location is great, relatively close to the city centre while situated in a calm, higher class area with wonderfully cozy cafes nearby.

The room is modern and clean, comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. Bathrobes and apples in the room were a nice addition.

The service however was what ruined the experience entirely.
The room was paid for in advance, yet the reception rudely requested 50€ deposit (which was neither mentioned anywhere beforehand nor was it explained nor did I notice anybody else paying this).
Every other employee simply ignored us and offered their help to the customers in front and behind us instead.
We were appropriately dressed and not in any way negatively attracting attention apart from being younger than the average customers, so I find this behaviour absolutely inacceptable.

The next day however we were woken up three times starting at 7am by employees entering our room just to leave again.
Upon checking out of the hotel, I had to demand the 50€ deposit as the receptionist seemed to know nothing about it.


The price paid did not justify the room, but considering the many incidents we had with the employees it was an absolute waste of money and I would not recommend anybody to book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Co Down
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel promised much but delivered disappointment. A stratospheric price to match the 5 star rating but in reality no better than a 3 star. To charge such prices without providing free wifi is way behind the times, especially given the business clientele targeted. The executive suite had a whirlpool and this was eagerly anticipated after a tough day yet had to be switched off as soon as it went on because the motor was so noisy my partner likened it to a helicopter landing nearby. The air con matched it for disturbance so was a choice of noise against a too warm room. Location was perfect since it was a short walk to the office. I certainly would have been able to find better for less had it been up to me to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here, considering this is supposed to be a first class hotel I thought it poor that you are asked to pay €10 per day to use your IPad .
Surely it's time that hotels matched small/cheap cafes and offered this free.
Next time I go to Amsterdam I will look for an hotel with free wifi

Room Tip: They are pretty much the same, stayed here several times and possibly the last
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What to say about the Bilderberg Hotel experience in Amsterdam ?
It was . . . (wait or it) . . . MAGNIFICENT !
We've been there couple of time the last 3 years with my fiancee and we're planning to go there in July.
The room, the breakfast, the bartender, everything was perfect.
The bartender also gave us all his recipe and we're using them since then.
The hotel is close to the center (10 min walking) and the walk is charming.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who want to have a great time.
Really good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you do not want to stay in the busy city centre then this hotel is ideally situated.
It is far enough away from the hustle and bustle but just a short tram journey away from it all, and the hotel is just 3 or 4 minutes walk from the tram stop itself.

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful; however, I do not feel the hotel deserves a 5 star rating.
The room was very basic. In my opinion a 5 star hotel should be excellent - this hotel is good but not excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, Amsterdam 1077 BJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.