We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #117 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in Bilderberg Garden for one night after moving on from another hotel.
First of all the location is great, relatively close to the city centre while situated in a calm, higher class area with wonderfully cozy cafes nearby.

The room is modern and clean, comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. Bathrobes and apples in the room were a nice addition.

The service however was what ruined the experience entirely.
The room was paid for in advance, yet the reception rudely requested 50€ deposit (which was neither mentioned anywhere beforehand nor was it explained nor did I notice anybody else paying this).
Every other employee simply ignored us and offered their help to the customers in front and behind us instead.
We were appropriately dressed and not in any way negatively attracting attention apart from being younger than the average customers, so I find this behaviour absolutely inacceptable.

The next day however we were woken up three times starting at 7am by employees entering our room just to leave again.
Upon checking out of the hotel, I had to demand the 50€ deposit as the receptionist seemed to know nothing about it.


The price paid did not justify the room, but considering the many incidents we had with the employees it was an absolute waste of money and I would not recommend anybody to book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    354
    159
    47
    27
See reviews for
82
415
39
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, Co Down
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel promised much but delivered disappointment. A stratospheric price to match the 5 star rating but in reality no better than a 3 star. To charge such prices without providing free wifi is way behind the times, especially given the business clientele targeted. The executive suite had a whirlpool and this was eagerly anticipated after a tough day yet had to be switched off as soon as it went on because the motor was so noisy my partner likened it to a helicopter landing nearby. The air con matched it for disturbance so was a choice of noise against a too warm room. Location was perfect since it was a short walk to the office. I certainly would have been able to find better for less had it been up to me to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here, considering this is supposed to be a first class hotel I thought it poor that you are asked to pay €10 per day to use your IPad .
Surely it's time that hotels matched small/cheap cafes and offered this free.
Next time I go to Amsterdam I will look for an hotel with free wifi

Room Tip: They are pretty much the same, stayed here several times and possibly the last
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What to say about the Bilderberg Hotel experience in Amsterdam ?
It was . . . (wait or it) . . . MAGNIFICENT !
We've been there couple of time the last 3 years with my fiancee and we're planning to go there in July.
The room, the breakfast, the bartender, everything was perfect.
The bartender also gave us all his recipe and we're using them since then.
The hotel is close to the center (10 min walking) and the walk is charming.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who want to have a great time.
Really good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you do not want to stay in the busy city centre then this hotel is ideally situated.
It is far enough away from the hustle and bustle but just a short tram journey away from it all, and the hotel is just 3 or 4 minutes walk from the tram stop itself.

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful; however, I do not feel the hotel deserves a 5 star rating.
The room was very basic. In my opinion a 5 star hotel should be excellent - this hotel is good but not excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although a bit off the beaten path, excellant public transportation more than compensates for this. Located in a quiet, upsacal residential area close to aforementioned transportation and an easy walk to the Rijksmuseum, the hotel is very neat and clean with very helpful staff. Rooms were well appointed anthough our room seemed to be split off from a suite with foldout and rollaway beds yet still quite comfortable. Would absolutely not hesitate to reccommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked an executive room, which is really small with a very small bathroom.
Such room has more than the normal ones but these should be standard in all rooms, like umbrella, coffee machine, desk. The CD-player (a very old one with audIo tapes) did not work.
On TV there was Radio 4 (classical) which was great but Classic FM was not although in the list and no film channels.
Jacuzzi in bath but you dont get to feel very much,
Reception staff is friendly but that is all I can say about this very disappointing hotel.
I now understand why it it is the cheapest 5 star in Amsterdam. Because it is actually just a 4 star hotel. They dont even have a pool. A big mystery how this got 5 stars, a huge mistake..
The room manual with info contains a lot of errors in English and even a big one in Dutch so they are pretty careless.
Easy to reach, tram 5 from Amsterdam RAI or Central .

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, not for a 5 star hotel at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#56 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#69 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Wyndham Apollo
#114 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.