We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star, a few niggles but overall a nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star, a few niggles but overall a nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Got a very good deal for what seemed like a classy hotel. If we had paid top price then I would be slating this hotel. Location was great, a few minutes walk from the tram stop served by the 5 and 24 services. Staff were pleasant and helpful, but switched checkin desks several times for some reason. Restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner and was very expensive if it had been open, but bar meals and room service were available. Room was spacious and bed very wide and comfortable. When we were here it was very hot so air con was neede, but despite an impressive lot of fan noise very little cooled air was issued. After spending a full day in the city we were tired and hot from a fantastic time, so looking forward to a refreshing shower and cuppa. Walked to room but swipe card key didn't work so had togoback to reception to get it reactivated. Got in to room to find that tea and coffee had not been replenished!!!! To be fair a call to reception and supplies were delivered but for a hotel that considers itself to be 5 star I feel these things should be attended to.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    285
    121
    33
    20
See reviews for
63
304
31
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was surprised that this hotel's official rating is 5 stars, I found it more to be in the 3-star range in terms of service and room quality. I stayed here 1 night. I arrived 9 am in the morning, and there already was a room available for me, which was nice.
When I got settled in the room and went to use the bathroom, I found that it had not been cleaned entirely (the toilet had been forgotten). I didn't think it was a big deal, called reception and was told someone from housekeeping would be up to clean it. So far so good.
I was tired having come in that morning on a red-eye flight from Canada and was eager to get to sleep, but had to wait an hour and a half before a maid showed up to clean the toilet. One of the chairs in the room had light brown stains on the seat.
I think the waiting for the maid and dirty chair is not okay for a 5-star hotel.
Apart from the above, my stay was okay. The room was on the small side but well appointed. Reception staff and doormen were friendly and helpful. Location is good, close to public transport and in walking distance from some major museums.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was a friendly hotel with very helpful staff..The restaurant was of a very high standard and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Really liked this smart, comfortable hotel which is about a 15 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh musem. We had an "executive" room, which was very comfortable and nicely decorated with a huge bed, white marble bathroom and regularly replenished fresh fruit. It's a shame you have to pay extra for wifi but other than that we really loved it. The staff were extremely helpful and the bar was very nice and cosy downstairs. There are heaps of great restaurants a few minutes' walk away (near the museums) and the hotel itself is easy to reach - just a few minutes' walk from the tram stop. The area is very quiet and residential with a pretty, peaceful canal nearby - a welcome break from the heaving streets in the city centre :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, NM
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in late June / early July for a conference at the RAI conference facilities. The hotel is an easy tram ride away from the central station and a slightly less convenient (~0.5km walking) tram or bus ride from the conference facilities. The area is quiet (little noise for sleeping, few restaurants). In retrospect I think it would have been better to either be nearer the conference center or in a more active area of town.

The hotel room was quite comfortable, although the carpet was a bit worn and the furniture pretty obvious pressboard with laminate. The internet was not included in my package (75 Euro/week). The staff was friendly and helpful. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant (breakfast not included in my package, and expensive as an add-on).

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet location and you get get it for a good rate. I was fully satisfied with this hotel - neither enthusiastic nor unhappy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel is located in a residential area which was lovely and peaceful and a break from the buzz of the centre. Rooms were clen and functional - nothing glamourous if that is what you are expecting for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was 5 star + prices but nothing worth it, in fact when we arrived the bacon and sausages were well over cooked and shrivelled up! Didn't stay for breakfast the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.